宣布我们的农村核心小组主题演讲者!

今年农村核心小组与战略会议的主题是 谁为俄勒冈州农村代言? 我们将作为乡村组织者、活动家和社区领袖聚集在美丽的本德,以反思和制定战略,我们的组织如何能够提升我们为正义的集体声音。 点击这里注册!

我们很高兴地宣布,今年的主题演讲者将是来自肯塔基州的令人敬畏的长期运动领袖卡拉·华莱士 (Carla Wallace)!

Carla 从事社会正义组织已超过 30 年。她受到南方白人反种族主义者安妮布雷登和肯塔基州黑人解放运动积极分子的指导。卡拉是路易斯维尔公平运动的联合创始人,该运动将种族正义置于争取 LGBTQ 平等斗争的核心位置。她还帮助领导路易斯维尔出现种族正义和全国 SURJ 网络,该网络致力于扩大从事种族正义工作的白人基础。

Carla 于 1990 年代初来到俄勒冈州,帮助组织了 9 号竞选活动,该活动成功击败了第 9 号投票措施,该法案将把酷儿“反常和反常”写入俄勒冈州宪法。 ROP 是在 1992 年的阻力中产生的!

Carla 将与我们一起分享她作为全国运动战略家对这一政治时刻的反思,描述俄勒冈州和 ROP 的工作如何在全国范围内开展,并讲述全国各地的人们如何大胆而创造性地建设正义运动的故事。 Carla 将讨论她自己在肯塔基州建立一个多种族、跨阶级的群体为 LGBTQ 权利而战的经历,这些人无视刻板印象、打破分歧,以及 赢了!

Carla 是今年农村核心小组与战略会议上众多令人难以置信的演讲者之一。请继续关注本周的更多公告。 如果您还没有注册,请点击这里今天保存您的座位!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Announcing our Rural Caucus keynote speaker!

This year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session’s theme is Who Speaks for Rural Oregon? We will convene as rural organizers, activists, and community leaders in beautiful Bend to reflect and strategize around how our organizing can elevate our collective voice for justice. Click here to register!

We are thrilled to announce this year’s keynote speaker will be Carla Wallace, an awe-inspiring long-time movement leader from Kentucky!

Carla has been engaged in social justice organizing for over 30 years. She was mentored by white southern antiracist Anne Braden and activists in Kentucky’s Black Liberation Movement. Carla is a cofounder of the Fairness Campaign in Louisville which places racial justice central to the struggle for LGBTQ equality. She also helps lead Louisville Showing Up for Racial Justice and the national SURJ network which works to broaden the base of white people engaged in racial justice work.

Carla came to Oregon in the early 1990s to help organize with the No on 9 campaign that successfully defeated Ballot Measure 9, which would have written that queers are “abnormal and perverse” into the Oregon Constitution. ROP was borne from that resistance in 1992!

Carla will join us to share her reflections on this political moment as a national movement strategist, describe how Oregon and ROP’s work is being held up nationally, and tell stories about the ways folks across the country are boldly and creatively building the movement for justice. Carla will discuss her own experiences building up a multi-racial, cross-class base of folks in Kentucky fighting for LGBTQ rights that defies stereotypes, breaks down division, and WINS!

Carla is one of many incredible speakers lined up for this year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session. Stay tuned for more announcements this week. If you haven’t already registered, click here to save your seat today!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English