在俄勒冈州农村推进民主

2022 年对于俄勒冈州农村人和我们的民主来说又是具有里程碑意义的一年。在我们开始结束这一年之际,现在是回顾我们作为 70 多个人类尊严团体和成千上万俄勒冈州农村人共同取得的成就的好时机。对于 ROP,2022 年是我们的 30 岁生日,并且这是一次将俄勒冈州农村人聚集在一起,反思我们自 1992 年以来取得的所有胜利的机会! 查看下面的 2022 年年度报告,其中强调了当我们一起发出声音并组织起来时可能发生的事情 为了正义和民主,让我们知道:你对 2023 年有什么计划?

我们感谢人类尊严小组的领导人,他们是 在俄勒冈州建立强大而有弹性的农村社区您可以通过 rop.org/donate 在线捐款或邮寄至 PO Box 664, Cottage Grove, OR 97424 来支持我们今天为民主和人类尊严建设农村运动的工作!

农村组织项目

2022年度报告

赢得全州胜利

一群人围坐在桌子旁吃着东西,对着镜头微笑。

人类尊严团体通过与俄勒冈州立法者会面并保持对他们的压力,确定了俄勒冈州农村地区的优先事项。 今年,俄勒冈州立法机关通过了我们的几项优先事项,包括扩大对儿童保育、宽带互联网、农场工人加班、移民法律代表等方面的资助。

大选前, 每个县的团体都用英语和西班牙语就选票上的问题进行邻里对话 使用 STAND 选举指南. 50 多个人类尊严团体敲了数千扇门,打电话,组织了候选人论坛和投票活动。

STAND指南图片

6 月 25 日,在最高法院推翻 Roe 诉 Wade 案的第二天,超过 120 名俄勒冈州农村人在雷德蒙德召开了第 31 届年度农村核心小组和战略会议.我们一起反思了 COVID 期间过去三年的社区建设,培养了组织能力,并为来年做了计划。

我们庆祝人类尊严奖获奖者的工作: 彭德尔顿社区行动联盟、俄勒冈州中部维和人员、土著帮手、雷德蒙德集体行动和阿什兰高中的真相权力俱乐部. Redmond Collective Action 在俄勒冈州的农村地区领导了一次生殖正义示范,以实现负担得起且易于获得的医疗保健。第二天, 农村组织强化班培训了50多名农村干部 在社区组织和安全策略方面。

建设安全和友好的社区

从克鲁克县到库里县的人类尊严团体保护他们的图书馆和学校免受课程攻击和禁书企图. Redmond Collective Action 举办了 Let Freedom Read 活动,以分享免费书籍、食物和手工艺品,同时为当地图书馆筹集资金。克鲁克县领导人和 PFLAG Central Oregon 等团体 捍卫学生进入县图书馆和学校要求的历史和健康课程的权利 在双方都受到攻击之后。领导人与他们的邻居协调收集了 157 个请愿签名、写信并在学校董事会上发言。

写着让自由阅读的标志

贝克县的人类尊严领袖否决了一项决议 这将使该县承诺支付 $2,500 加入宪法治安官与治安官协会,这是一个边缘组织,鼓励执法部门选择他们遵守的联邦法律。贝克县领导人与县委员交谈,在会议上作证,并写信给编辑。该决议从未付诸表决。

地方行动,全州影响

在 Roe vs. Wade 被推翻后,40 多个农村社区采取了生殖自由的公共行动.从企业到奥福德港, 新的社区领袖出现领导游行并在医疗保健示威游行中发言,呼吁关注俄勒冈州农村地区对服务的迫切需求。

2人握手

超过 80 名林恩和本顿县社区成员 为保护民主而汇聚:由 Linn Benton NAACP 领导的公民巡回培训.社区一起从俄勒冈州司法部和选举官员等当地专家那里更多地了解了健康民主的核心要素,包括地方选举安全、维护公民权利以及民选官员的角色。

邻居为邻居现身

俄勒冈州农村的 40 多个团体领导他们的社区进行危机应对,从提供免费厨房到帮助邻居在暴风雨后重建。 8 月,瓦洛瓦 (Wallowa) 镇遭受了一场严重的冰雹风暴,房屋和汽车受损。 社区成员用木板封住破窗并调集资源,以确保邻居们有食物、用品和医疗服务.组织者与 Lostine Presbyterian Church 合作,为维修和运输筹款。

2个人打包食品盒

在 Cottage Grove,ROP 和数十个合作伙伴在我们的社区建设中心协调了一个繁忙的多语言中心,为数千名社区成员提供与文化相关的食物、疫苗获取和当地资源信息。 ROP 支持说马姆语的俄勒冈人与俄勒冈工人救济基金建立联系,该基金由俄勒冈州立法机构设立,旨在支持受 COVID 影响的移民工人。

弥合分歧,捍卫尊严

弥合分歧,捍卫尊严:自 1992 年以来,俄勒冈州农村人如何推动民主向前发展! 是 ROP 领导人创建的巡回双语展览,旨在突出 30 年来组织民主和人类尊严的经验教训和灵感。

八个英文展板并排的照片

该展览分享了从 1992 年开始的故事,当时农村人类尊严团体聚集在一起击败了第 9 号投票议案,该议案将为 2SLGBTQIA+ 人创造二等公民身份。这些团体创立了农村组织项目,从那以后我们一直在交换战略和资源来捍卫民主。

什么是农村组织项目?

ROP 的使命是加强地方自治人类尊严团体主要领导的技能、资源和愿景,目标是使这些团体成为公正民主的充满活力的源泉。

多于 70 个人类尊严团体和数千名社区领袖 共同努力在俄勒冈州的小镇和农村推进民主。

用星星定位人类尊严群体的俄勒冈地图
人类尊严小组
单击此处获取完整的组列表。

怀着2023年的希望,
Jess Campbell、Abelio Carrillo Chales、Sidra Pierson 和 Emma Ronai-Durning

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Advancing Democracy in Rural Oregon

2022 has been another monumental year for rural Oregonians and for our democracy. As we begin to wrap up the year, it’s a good time to reflect back on what we’ve been able to accomplish together as more than 70 human dignity groups and thousands of everyday rural Oregonians.For ROP, 2022 included our 30th birthday and with it the opportunity to bring together rural Oregonians to reflect on all of the victories we have been able to accomplish since 1992! Check out the 2022 Annual Report below that highlights what’s possible when we raise our voices together and organize for justice and democracy, and let us know: what are you planning for 2023?

We are grateful to human dignity group leaders who are building strong and resilient rural communities across OregonYou can support our work building the rural movement for democracy and human dignity today by making a donation online at rop.org/donate or by mail at PO Box 664, Cottage Grove, OR 97424!

Rural Organizing Project

2022 Annual Report

Winning Statewide Victories

Group of people sitting around a table eating and smiling at the camera.

Human dignity groups established rural Oregon’s priorities by meeting with and keeping the pressure on Oregon legislators. This year the Oregon Legislature passed several of our priorities, including expanded funding for child care, broadband internet, farmworker overtime, legal representation for immigrants, and much more.

Before the election, groups in every county had neighbor-to-neighbor conversations in English and Spanish about the issues on the ballot using the STAND Election Guide. More than 50 human dignity groups knocked on thousands of doors, made calls, and organized candidate forums and ballot parties.

picture of STAND guide

On June 25th, more than 120 rural Oregonians convened in Redmond for the 31st annual Rural Caucus & Strategy Session, the day after the Supreme Court overturned Roe vs. Wade. Together we reflected on the last three years of community building during COVID, built organizing skills, and planned for the year ahead.

We celebrated the work of Human Dignity Award winners: Pendleton Community Action Coalition, Central Oregon Peacekeepers, Indigenous Helpers, Redmond Collective Action, and the Truth to Power Club of Ashland High School. Redmond Collective Action led a reproductive justice demonstration for affordable and accessible healthcare in rural Oregon. The next day, the Rural Organizing Intensive trained more than 50 rural leaders in community organizing and safety and security strategies.

Building Safe & Welcoming Communities

Human dignity groups from Crook to Curry Counties have defended their libraries and schools from attacks on curriculum and attempts to ban books. Redmond Collective Action hosted Let Freedom Read to share free books, food, and crafts while raising funds for the local library. Crook County leaders and groups like PFLAG Central Oregon defended student access to the county library and state-required history and health lessons in schools after both came under attack. Leaders coordinated with their neighbors to gather 157 petition signatures, write letters, and speak before the school board.

sign that says Let Freedom Read

Human dignity leaders in Baker County defeated a resolution that would have committed the county to pay $2,500 to join the Constitutional Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association, a fringe organization that encourages law enforcement to choose which federal laws they follow. Baker County leaders spoke to the County Commissioners, testified in meetings, and wrote letters to the editor. The resolution was never brought to a vote.

Local Action, Statewide Impact

More than 40 rural communities took public action for reproductive freedom after Roe vs. Wade was overturned. From Enterprise to Port Orford, new community leaders emerged to lead marches and speak at demonstrations for healthcare, calling attention to the dire need for services here in rural Oregon.

2 people shaking hands

More than 80 Linn and Benton County community members converged for Protecting Democracy: Civics Circuit Training led by the Linn Benton NAACP. Together the community learned more about the core elements of a healthy democracy including local election security, maintaining civil rights, and the roles of elected officials from local experts such as the Oregon Department of Justice and election officers.

Neighbors Showing Up for Neighbors

More than 40 groups in rural Oregon led their communities in crisis response, from running free kitchens to helping neighbors rebuild after storms. In August, the town of Wallowa endured a severe hail storm that damaged homes and cars. Community members boarded up broken windows and rallied resources to make sure neighbors had food, supplies, and medical care. Organizers partnered with the Lostine Presbyterian Church to fundraise for repairs and transportation.

2 individuals packing food boxes

In Cottage Grove, ROP and dozens of partners coordinated a bustling multilingual hub in our Community Building Center that provided thousands of community members with culturally relevant food, vaccine access, and information about local resources. ROP supported Mam-speaking Oregonians to connect with the Oregon Worker Relief Fund, a fund set up by the Oregon Legislature to support migrant workers impacted by COVID.

Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity

Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity: How rural Oregonians have moved democracy forward since 1992! is a traveling bilingual exhibit created by ROP leaders to highlight lessons and inspiration from 30 years of organizing for democracy and human dignity.

Photo of the eight English exhibit panels side by side

The exhibit shares stories starting in 1992 when rural human dignity groups came together to defeat Ballot Measure 9, which would have created second-class citizenship for 2SLGBTQIA+ people. Those groups founded the Rural Organizing Project and we have been swapping strategies and resources to defend democracy ever since.

What is the Rural Organizing Project?

ROP’s mission is to strengthen the skills, resources, and vision of primary leadership in local autonomous human dignity groups with a goal of keeping such groups a vibrant source for a just democracy.

More than 70 human dignity groups and thousands of community leaders worked together to advance democracy in small-town and rural Oregon.

Map of oregon with stars locating human dignity groups
Human Dignity Group
Click here for a complete list of groups.

With hope for 2023,
Jess Campbell, Abelio Carrillo Chales, Sidra Pierson, and Emma Ronai-Durning

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English