行动警报:学费公平和移民公平

人们决定待在家里,远离道路。许多人经历过抑郁症。目睹父亲被捕的孩子们受到了创伤,因为其中一位父母失踪了,而另一位则不断地哭泣和担忧。 . .青年失去希望并开始质疑在学校投入时间和精力是否明智。 . .根据现行的歧视性法律,那些想继续上学的人被拒绝以合理价格接受高等教育。

– 摘自《请求同情和常识》,本德移民家庭倡导者的一份报告记录了移民执法对当地社区的影响

对于大多数人来说,我们州对许多移民的不公正就像无形桶中的无声滴,还有多少直到溢出? 我们的法律禁止超过 160,000 名俄勒冈州居民合法驾驶、工作、自由旅行或上大学。 这些人中的许多人完全融入了我们的经济和文化结构,但没有途径获得使他们的身份合法化的文件。

那么我们该怎么办呢?随着移民因驱逐出境、缺乏执照和教育障碍而从我们的社区消失, 白人盟友的作用是什么? 移民本身或拉丁裔社区的作用是什么? 我们如何建立完成工作所需的跨种族联盟?

我们知道的一件事是,我们可以在重要的时候采取行动。现在它很重要。请响应CAUSA的这一紧急行动警报,并广泛转发!

上周,一项创建学费公平的法案通过了俄勒冈州参议院教育委员会,现在正在参议院等待投票!

该法案通过向已经进入俄勒冈大学并正在寻求公民身份但在他们小时候被带到这里时从未获得文件的长期俄勒冈高中毕业生提供州内学费来留住顶尖人才。

为确保我们获得所需的选票——我们需要所有选民尽快召集他们的参议员支持该法案。请立即致电您的州参议员!

要联系您的参议员,请访问 http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/ 或致电 1-800-332-2313 并按姓名询问他们。

告诉他们,
我支持参议院第 742 号学费公平法案,因为获得负担得起的高等教育对所有俄勒冈州学生的未来和俄勒冈州的经济都很重要。它利用俄勒冈州对 K-12 学生的投资,并要求学生追求公民身份。这将提高俄勒冈州劳动力的教育水平。出于这个原因,我希望你能支持 SB 742 并在投票时投“是”。

在您致电您的州参议员后,请致电下面列出的一位未决定的参议员,告诉他们他们的投票对俄勒冈州年轻人的未来和我们州的经济未来至关重要。

参议员蒙内斯·安德森(D-格雷沙姆)
温特斯参议员(R-Salem)
参议员 Verger (D-Coos Bay)
参议员博奎斯特(R-Dallas)
参议员吉罗德(R-Stayton)
约翰逊参议员(D-Scappose)
奥尔森参议员(R-奥尔巴尼)
参议员特尔弗(R-Bend)
参议员 Whitsett (R-Klamath Falls)

我们可以一起使俄勒冈州的学费公平成为现实!请在今天拨打您的电话!

但它并没有就此结束!

4 月 4 日星期一下午 4:30 至下午 5 点: ROP 将通过电话会议对学费公平法案和驾照准入法案进行实时更新,这是今年移民权利的两个首要任务。 我们将分享该法案的状态,并在俄勒冈州南部进行一项努力,以使用当地的组织策略来影响结果。 回复 cara@rop.org 以获取呼入信息。

感谢您所做的一切!
阿曼达。

PS 一年一度的 ROP Caucus(本德,5 月 7 日)将举行小组讨论和研讨会,以探讨 拉丁裔和白人盟友如何为移民建立安全和热情的社区。 立即注册 - 早鸟注册将于 4 月 7 日截止!! https://rop.org/2011-caucus-registration-form。

简体中文

Action Alert: Tuition Equity, and Immigrant Fairness

People decide to stay home and off the roads. Many experience depression. The children who witness their fathers being arrested are traumatized as one parent disappears and the other cries and worries constantly . . . Youth lose hope and begin to question the wisdom of investing time and energy in school . . . Those who would like to continue their schooling are denied reasonably-priced access to higher education under current discriminatory law.

– Excerpt from A Plea for Compassion and Common Sense, a report by the Immigrant Family Advocates in Bend documenting the impact of immigration enforcement on the local community

For the majority, the injustices against many immigrants in our state are like silent drops in an invisible bucket, how much more until it overflows? Our laws prevent over 160,000 Oregon residents from being able to legally drive, work, travel freely, or afford to go to college. Many of these people are fully integrated into the fabric of our economy & culture, but have no avenue to get documents to legalize their status.

So what do we do about it? As immigrants are disappeared from our communities through deportations, lack of licenses, and barriers to education, what is the role of a white ally? What is the role of immigrants themselves, or of Latino communities? How do we build the kinds of cross-race alliances we need to get things done?

One thing we know is that we can act when it counts. And right now it counts. Please respond to this urgent action alert from CAUSA, and forward it widely!

A bill to create Tuition Equity cleared the Oregon State Senate Education Committee last week, and is now on the Senate floor waiting for a vote!

The bill keeps top talent here by offering in-state tuition to long-time Oregonian high school graduates who’ve gotten into an Oregon college and are pursuing citizenship but who never got documentation when they were brought here as kids.

To make sure we get the votes we need — We need ALL constituents to call their senators ASAP to support the bill. Please call your State Senator TODAY!

To contact your Senator, go to http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/ or call 1-800-332-2313 and ask for them by name.

Tell them,
I support Senate Bill 742 Tuition Equity because access to affordable higher education is important for the future of ALL Oregon students and for Oregon’s economy. It capitalizes on Oregon’s investment in K-12 students, and requires students to pursue citizenship. This will boost the education level of Oregon’s Workforce. For this reason, I hope you will support SB 742 and vote "Yes" when it comes up for a vote.

After you call your State Senator, please call one of the undecided Senators listed below and tell them their vote matters for the future of Oregon’s young people and our state’s economic future.

Senator Monnes Anderson (D- Gresham)
Senator Winters (R-Salem)
Senator Verger (D-Coos Bay)
Senator Boquist (R-Dallas)
Senator Girod (R-Stayton)
Senator Johnson (D-Scappose)
Senator Olsen (R-Albany)
Senator Telfer (R-Bend)
Senator Whitsett (R-Klamath Falls)

We can make Tuition Equity in Oregon a reality TOGETHER! Please make your calls today!

But it doesn’t end there!

Monday, April 4th from 4:30 to 5pm: ROP will be hosting a live update via conference call on the Tuition Equity bill and the Driver’s License access bill, two top priorities for immigrants’ rights this year. We’ll share the status of the bill, and feature one effort in Southern Oregon to use local organizing strategies to impact the outcome. Respond to cara@rop.org to get the call-in information.

Thank you for all that you do!
Amanda.

P.S. The annual ROP Caucus, (Bend, May 7th) will feature a panel discussion and workshop to look the question of how can Latinos & white allies build safe & welcoming communities for immigrants. Register now – early bird registration closes on April 7th!! https://rop.org/2011-caucus-registration-form.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English