تنبيه العمل: المساواة في الرسوم الدراسية ، وعدالة المهاجرين

يقرر الناس البقاء في المنزل وبعيدًا عن الطرق. يعاني الكثير من الاكتئاب. الأطفال الذين يشهدون اعتقال آبائهم يعانون من الصدمة حيث يختفي أحد الوالدين ويبكي الآخر ويقلق باستمرار. . . يفقد الشباب الأمل ويبدأون في التساؤل عن حكمة استثمار الوقت والطاقة في المدرسة. . . أولئك الذين يرغبون في مواصلة تعليمهم يُحرمون من الحصول على التعليم العالي بأسعار معقولة بموجب القانون التمييزي الحالي.

- مقتطف من A Plea for Compassion and Joint Sense ، تقرير من قبل Immigrant Family Advocates in Bend يوثق تأثير إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة على المجتمع المحلي

بالنسبة للأغلبية ، فإن المظالم التي يتعرض لها العديد من المهاجرين في دولتنا مثل القطرات الصامتة في دلو غير مرئي ، فكم بالحري حتى يفيض؟ تمنع قوانيننا أكثر من 160.000 من سكان ولاية أوريغون من أن يكونوا قادرين على القيادة بشكل قانوني أو العمل أو السفر بحرية أو تحمل نفقات الالتحاق بالجامعة. يتم دمج العديد من هؤلاء الأشخاص بشكل كامل في نسيج اقتصادنا وثقافتنا ، ولكن ليس لديهم وسيلة للحصول على وثائق لإضفاء الشرعية على وضعهم.

لذا ماذا نفعل حيال ذلك؟ حيث يختفي المهاجرون من مجتمعاتنا من خلال عمليات الترحيل ونقص التراخيص وحواجز التعليم ، ما هو دور الحليف الابيض؟ ما هو دور المهاجرين أنفسهم أو المجتمعات اللاتينية؟ كيف نبني أنواع التحالفات بين الأعراق التي نحتاجها لإنجاز الأمور؟

شيء واحد نعرفه هو أنه يمكننا التصرف عندما يكون ذلك مهمًا. وهي مهمة الآن. يرجى الرد على هذا التنبيه بالإجراءات العاجلة من CAUSA ، وإرساله على نطاق واسع!

تمت الموافقة على مشروع قانون لإنشاء Tuition Equity أمام لجنة التعليم في مجلس الشيوخ بولاية أوريغون الأسبوع الماضي ، وهو الآن في قاعة مجلس الشيوخ في انتظار التصويت!

يحافظ مشروع القانون على أفضل المواهب هنا من خلال تقديم دروس في الدولة لخريجي المدارس الثانوية في ولاية أوريغون منذ فترة طويلة والذين التحقوا بكلية أوريغون ويسعون للحصول على الجنسية ولكنهم لم يحصلوا على وثائق عندما تم إحضارهم إلى هنا وهم أطفال.

للتأكد من حصولنا على الأصوات التي نحتاجها - نحتاج من جميع الناخبين إلى استدعاء أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ في أسرع وقت ممكن لدعم مشروع القانون. يرجى الاتصال بمجلس الشيوخ اليوم!

للاتصال بعضو مجلس الشيوخ ، انتقل إلى http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/ أو اتصل بالرقم 1-800-332-2313 واسأل عنهم بالاسم.

اخبرهم،
أنا أؤيد قانون مجلس الشيوخ للمساواة في الرسوم الدراسية 742 لأن الوصول إلى التعليم العالي الميسور التكلفة مهم لمستقبل جميع طلاب أوريغون ولاقتصاد أوريغون. وهي تستفيد من استثمار ولاية أوريغون في طلاب مرحلة رياض الأطفال حتى نهاية التعليم الثانوي ، وتتطلب من الطلاب السعي للحصول على الجنسية. سيؤدي هذا إلى تعزيز المستوى التعليمي للقوى العاملة في ولاية أوريغون. لهذا السبب ، آمل أن تدعم SB 742 وتصوت بـ "نعم" عندما يحين موعد التصويت.

بعد الاتصال بعضو مجلس الشيوخ عن الولاية ، يرجى الاتصال بأحد أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ المترددين المذكورين أدناه وإخبارهم أن تصويتهم مهم لمستقبل شباب ولاية أوريغون والمستقبل الاقتصادي لولايتنا.

السناتور مونيس أندرسون (د- جريشام)
السيناتور وينترز (جمهوري سالم)
Senator Verger (D-Coos Bay)
السيناتور بوكويست (جمهوري عن دالاس)
السيناتور جيرود (R- ستايتون)
السيناتور جونسون (د-سكابوز)
السيناتور أولسن (جمهوري من ألباني)
السيناتور تيلفر (R-Bend)
السيناتور ويتسيت (R-Klamath Falls)

يمكننا أن نجعل المساواة في الرسوم الدراسية في ولاية أوريغون حقيقة واقعة معًا! يرجى إجراء مكالماتك اليوم!

لكنها لا تنتهي عند هذا الحد!

الاثنين 4 أبريل من الساعة 4:30 حتى 5 مساءً: ستستضيف شرطة عمان السلطانية تحديثًا مباشرًا عبر مكالمة جماعية حول فاتورة المساواة في الرسوم الدراسية وقانون الوصول إلى رخصة القيادة ، وهما أولويتان رئيسيتان لحقوق المهاجرين هذا العام. سنشارك حالة الفاتورة ، ونعرض جهدًا واحدًا في جنوب أوريغون لاستخدام استراتيجيات التنظيم المحلية للتأثير على النتيجة. قم بالرد على cara@rop.org للحصول على معلومات الاتصال.

شكرا لك على كل ما تفعله!
أماندا.

ملاحظة: سيضم التجمع السنوي لشرطة عمان السلطانية (بيند ، 7 مايو) حلقة نقاش وورشة عمل للنظر في مسألة كيف يمكن للحلفاء اللاتينيين والبيض بناء مجتمعات آمنة ومرحبة للمهاجرين. سجل الآن - يغلق التسجيل المبكر للطيور في 7 أبريل !! https://rop.org/2011-caucus-registration-form.

العربية

Action Alert: Tuition Equity, and Immigrant Fairness

People decide to stay home and off the roads. Many experience depression. The children who witness their fathers being arrested are traumatized as one parent disappears and the other cries and worries constantly . . . Youth lose hope and begin to question the wisdom of investing time and energy in school . . . Those who would like to continue their schooling are denied reasonably-priced access to higher education under current discriminatory law.

– Excerpt from A Plea for Compassion and Common Sense, a report by the Immigrant Family Advocates in Bend documenting the impact of immigration enforcement on the local community

For the majority, the injustices against many immigrants in our state are like silent drops in an invisible bucket, how much more until it overflows? Our laws prevent over 160,000 Oregon residents from being able to legally drive, work, travel freely, or afford to go to college. Many of these people are fully integrated into the fabric of our economy & culture, but have no avenue to get documents to legalize their status.

So what do we do about it? As immigrants are disappeared from our communities through deportations, lack of licenses, and barriers to education, what is the role of a white ally? What is the role of immigrants themselves, or of Latino communities? How do we build the kinds of cross-race alliances we need to get things done?

One thing we know is that we can act when it counts. And right now it counts. Please respond to this urgent action alert from CAUSA, and forward it widely!

A bill to create Tuition Equity cleared the Oregon State Senate Education Committee last week, and is now on the Senate floor waiting for a vote!

The bill keeps top talent here by offering in-state tuition to long-time Oregonian high school graduates who’ve gotten into an Oregon college and are pursuing citizenship but who never got documentation when they were brought here as kids.

To make sure we get the votes we need — We need ALL constituents to call their senators ASAP to support the bill. Please call your State Senator TODAY!

To contact your Senator, go to http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/ or call 1-800-332-2313 and ask for them by name.

Tell them,
I support Senate Bill 742 Tuition Equity because access to affordable higher education is important for the future of ALL Oregon students and for Oregon’s economy. It capitalizes on Oregon’s investment in K-12 students, and requires students to pursue citizenship. This will boost the education level of Oregon’s Workforce. For this reason, I hope you will support SB 742 and vote "Yes" when it comes up for a vote.

After you call your State Senator, please call one of the undecided Senators listed below and tell them their vote matters for the future of Oregon’s young people and our state’s economic future.

Senator Monnes Anderson (D- Gresham)
Senator Winters (R-Salem)
Senator Verger (D-Coos Bay)
Senator Boquist (R-Dallas)
Senator Girod (R-Stayton)
Senator Johnson (D-Scappose)
Senator Olsen (R-Albany)
Senator Telfer (R-Bend)
Senator Whitsett (R-Klamath Falls)

We can make Tuition Equity in Oregon a reality TOGETHER! Please make your calls today!

But it doesn’t end there!

Monday, April 4th from 4:30 to 5pm: ROP will be hosting a live update via conference call on the Tuition Equity bill and the Driver’s License access bill, two top priorities for immigrants’ rights this year. We’ll share the status of the bill, and feature one effort in Southern Oregon to use local organizing strategies to impact the outcome. Respond to cara@rop.org to get the call-in information.

Thank you for all that you do!
Amanda.

P.S. The annual ROP Caucus, (Bend, May 7th) will feature a panel discussion and workshop to look the question of how can Latinos & white allies build safe & welcoming communities for immigrants. Register now – early bird registration closes on April 7th!! https://rop.org/2011-caucus-registration-form.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English