俄勒冈州中部和平与正义的故事

Ron Werner, Jr. 牧师在回顾最近一次穿越本德市中心的游行时说:“为什么一个以乡村为主的小镇看起来一点也不像弗格森、史泰登岛或克利夫兰?”

他继续分享:“本德本可以保持沉默,让最近几周的头条新闻慢慢消失。我们本可以假装我们的社区不存在种族主义,最近手无寸铁的非裔美国人的枪击事件只是大城市中心的问题。然而,在听取来自全国各地的黑人兄弟姐妹的意见后,我们知道白人特权是真实存在的,制度性的种族主义依然存在。”

Ron Werner 牧师是俄勒冈州中部数百名参加当地游行以声援 #blacklivesmatter 运动的人之一。

在过去的几年里,当地的人类尊严运动一直在该地区的所有三个县发展壮大。 Bend Youth Collective 以及神职人员之间以及信仰社区中各教会之间日益增长的关系为他们不断发展的人类尊严工作做出了贡献。正是这种在俄勒冈州中部持续进行的组织在 12 月 13 日星期六举办了一场盛大的活动,该活动引起了当地和国家媒体的关注。

请花几分钟时间查看照片、查看媒体报道并阅读下方 Ron Werner, Jr. 牧师的更多信息。

祝贺俄勒冈州中部的所有人类尊严领袖举办了如此令人难以置信的活动,并通过您即将举行的种族正义计划继续开展工作!

12 月 13 日星期六早上,300-350 人参加了团结游行,以确认俄勒冈州本德的 #blacklivesmatter。这个中型城市绝大多数是白人(86%),不到 1% 的人口是黑人。那么,当一个看起来不像弗格森、史坦顿岛或克利夫兰的小镇,为什么会出现并大声疾呼呢?

由于我们的集体特权,本德本可以保持沉默,让最近几周的头条新闻慢慢消失。我们本可以假装我们的社区不存在种族主义,最近手无寸铁的非裔美国人的枪击事件只是大城市中心的问题。然而,在听取来自全国各地的黑人兄弟姐妹的意见时,我们知道白人特权是真实的,制度性的种族主义仍然存在并且很好。

一群当地神职人员和有色人种领导了游行。它从第一长老会开始,进行反思、歌唱、祈祷和非暴力培训。大多数参与者以前从未参与过公开的司法行为。从那里,群众默默地步行(象征着特权人士需要倾听)一英里半到位于本德市中心的第一联合卫理公会教堂。一到教堂,聚集的人在 Aisea Taimani 的带领下唱起了灵歌,并听到了俄勒冈州立大学本德校区的非裔美国大学生 Jazzi Wright、来自雷德蒙德的非裔美国妇女 Linda Shaw、两个孩子的白人母亲 Kari Johnson 的故事收养了来自利比里亚的男孩,以及本德寺 Beth Tikvah 的负责人拉比约翰娜·赫森森。

虽然该活动计划在一周内完成,但会众之间的关系是通过他们与 Bend Youth Collective 的共同工作而建立的,Bend Youth Collective 是一个精神上进步和包容的青年事工。几位神职人员还共同撰写了一篇专栏文章,要求对第 88 号措施投赞成票。另外三名神职人员加入了第 88 号措施的签署者,在游行前一天在本德公报上发表了一篇关于特权和种族正义的专栏文章.

您可以在此处阅读专栏文章:

http://www.bendbulletin.com/opinion/lettertotheeditor/2674859-151/letter-religious-leaders-plan-Saturday-march-in-bend

除了确认黑人的生命很重要外,团结游行还邀请俄勒冈州中部的居民公开承诺废除特权制度和制度性种族主义。一月份,当地信仰团体和社会正义中心将推出一系列计划,邀请人们更深入地反思和行动。

您可以在此处阅读该活动的一些媒体报道:

http://www.bendbulletin.com/home/2684779-151/black-lives-matter-march-draws-roughly-200#.VI0GHmwDMAs.facebook

http://m.ktvz.com/news/hundreds-march-in-solidarity/30222494

http://www.bendsource.com/bend/far-from-ferguson/Content?oid=2410707

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2014/12/11/protesting-racial-injustice-while-white/

以下是活动的一些额外照片。

恭请提交,

小罗恩·沃纳

牧师团队,第一长老会和耶稣诞生路德教会和本德青年集体的协调员

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

A Story of Peace & Justice in Central Oregon

While reflecting on a recent march through downtown Bend, Rev. Ron Werner, Jr. remarked, “Why would a mostly rural town show up and speak out when it looks nothing like Ferguson, Staten Island, or Cleveland?”

He goes on to share: “Bend could have stood silent and allowed the headlines of recent weeks to slowly fade away. We could have pretended that racism doesn’t exist in our community and that the recent shootings of unarmed African-Americans are only problems in large urban centers. Yet, in listening to our black brothers and sisters from around the country, we know that white privilege is real and institutional racism is alive and well.”

Rev. Ron Werner was one of hundreds in Central Oregon that participated in a local march in solidarity with the #blacklivesmatter movement.

Over the last few years, the local human dignity movement has been growing and expanding across all three counties in the region. The Bend Youth Collective and the growing relationships among clergy and across congregations in the faith community contribute to their ever evolving human dignity work. It is this on-going organizing in Central Oregon that resulted in a powerful event on Saturday, December 13th, an event that gained both local and national media attention.

Take a few minutes to check out the photos, review the media reports and read more from Rev. Ron Werner, Jr. below.

Congratulations to all the human dignity leaders in Central Oregon for such an incredible event and for continuing the work through your upcoming racial justice programming!

On Saturday morning, December 13th, between 300-350 people participated in a Solidarity March to affirm that #blacklivesmatter in Bend, Oregon. This medium-sized city is overwhelmingly white (86%) and less than 1% of its population is black. So, why would a mostly rural town show up and speak out when it looks nothing like Ferguson, Staten Island, or Cleveland?

Because of our collective privilege, Bend could have stood silent and allowed the headlines of recent weeks to slowly fade away. We could have pretended that racism doesn’t exist in our community and that the recent shootings of unarmed African-Americans are only problems in large urban centers. Yet, in listening to our black brothers and sisters from around the country, we know that white privilege is real and institutional racism is alive and well.

A group of local clergy and persons of color led the March. It started at First Presbyterian Church for a time of reflection, singing, prayer, and training in nonviolence. Most of the participants had never before participated in a public act of justice. From there, the masses walked in silence (symbolic of the need for people of privilege to listen) for a mile and a half to First United Methodist Church in the heart of downtown Bend. Once at the church, the gathered sang spirituals led by Aisea Taimani and heard stories from Jazzi Wright, an African-American college student at OSU’s Bend campus, Linda Shaw, an African-American woman from Redmond, Kari Johnson, a white mother of two adopted boys from Liberia, and Rabbi Johanna Hershenson, leader of Temple Beth Tikvah in Bend.

While the event was planned in one week’s time, relationships between congregations had been forged through their common work with the Bend Youth Collective, a spiritually progressive and inclusive youth ministry. Several of the clergy had also worked together on an op-ed asking for a Yes vote on Measure 88. Three additional clergy joined the Measure 88 signatories for an op-ed about privilege and racial justice published the day before the march in the Bend Bulletin.

You can read the op-ed here:

http://www.bendbulletin.com/opinion/lettertotheeditor/2674859-151/letter-religious-leaders-plan-Saturday-march-in-bend

Along with affirming that black lives matter, the Solidarity March served as an invitation for residents of central Oregon to publicly commit to dismantling systems of privilege and institutional racism. In January, local faith groups and the Social Justice Center will launch a slate of programming inviting people to go deeper into reflection and action.

You can read some of the media coverage of the event here:

http://www.bendbulletin.com/home/2684779-151/black-lives-matter-march-draws-roughly-200#.VI0GHmwDMAs.facebook

http://m.ktvz.com/news/hundreds-march-in-solidarity/30222494

http://www.bendsource.com/bend/far-from-ferguson/Content?oid=2410707

http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2014/12/11/protesting-racial-injustice-while-white/

Below are some additional photos from the event.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ron Werner, Jr.

Pastoral Team, First Presbyterian and Nativity Lutheran Church and Coordinator of the Bend Youth Collective

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English