值得庆祝的时刻!斗争仍在继续。

亲爱的 Ropnetters,

恭喜俄勒冈州农村!多年来,Human Dignity Groups 推动当地执法部门停止与移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 合作执行驱逐我们社区成员的使命。我们会见了治安官,举办社区论坛,在报纸上发表信件,做候选人问卷,甚至接受我们的信息——“不要驱逐出境,不再有!”上街!

然后在 4 月中旬,在克拉克马斯县的一名法官裁定尊重 ICE 保留请求违反了人民的第四修正案权利之后,在警长发表声明他们将不再尊重 ICE 保留后,作为治安官发生了多米诺骨牌效应。现在总共有 36 名治安官中的 30 名承诺不履行荣誉。

这场胜利由来已久,是属于我们所有人的胜利:城市律师和倡导者、农村人的尊严领袖、俄勒冈梦想激进主义青年、全国无证和无所畏惧的运动——我们都参与了这个里程碑,我们应该感到自豪。

但是,我们的工作还远远没有结束。我们的斗争必须继续,直到我们结束所有驱逐出境。

在宣布这一胜利后的几周内,我们看到 ICE 和当地执法部门采取了令人不安的新策略——绕过 ICE 扣押的过程并继续驱逐人员。移民在我们县的监狱中被拒绝保释,当地警察正在护送 ICE 直接到无证人士的家中,当移民从当地监狱获释时,ICE 官员正在法院外等候——这些策略令人恐惧。

我们的胜利并没有改变这样一个事实,即 ICE 有驱逐配额,或者私人监狱继续在移民身上看到美元符号,并要求他们的床位入住率达到 90%。对于在奥巴马政府期间被驱逐出境的 200 万移民,或继续被 ICE 与家人分开的社区成员,没有任何正义可言。

你能做些什么来建立势头?

1. 向当地报纸的编辑发送一篇专栏文章或信函。这提高了俄勒冈州农村移民的情况。例如:

几周前,克拉克马斯县的一名法官裁定,当当地执法机构尊重移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 的扣留请求时,这违反了移民第 4 修正案的权利,该权利保护我们所有人免受政府的无理搜查和扣押。在裁决之后,多米诺骨牌效应发生了,因为全州的治安官,包括我们的 [您的县] 县治安官,[您的治安官的名字],发表声明他们将不再尊重 ICE 的拘留。现在总共有 36 名治安官中的 30 名承诺不履行荣誉。

作为 [YOUR LOCAL HUMAN DINGITY GROUP] 的成员,我赞扬警长做正确的事情,拒绝与 ICE 合作执行他们将社区成员与家人分开的使命。我还想让您知道,我们社区将密切关注警长是否履行其承诺。我们希望这一步标志着当地执法部门开始与移民社区建立信任并试图修复多年来驱逐我们社区成员造成的一些损害的新时代。

2. 本地解决方案的一部分是在今年秋天通过司机卡措施——所有俄勒冈州居民的司机卡访问权限将在投票中,并且需要我们所有人投赞成票。请继续关注 ROPnet 以获取有关驾驶员卡的更新以及在您的社区中开启有关驾驶员卡访问的基于价值观的对话的策略

有关司机卡的背景,请参阅俄勒冈州的这篇文章。

3. 开始讨论如何在您的社区中大声、大胆地采取行动。聚集在核心小组举行驾驶证、仇恨和驱逐出境研讨会的团体讨论将 10 月定为维护人类尊严和反对驱逐出境的行动月。最近的一些可以从中汲取灵感的事件是:
上个月在林肯县,ROP 团体 Centro de Ayuda 和移民信息响应小组举行了一次示威,呼吁不再驱逐出境。
上周在华盛顿县,俄勒冈梦想活动家占领了警长办公室,分享被驱逐家庭成员的故事,并告诉警长,“我们不会原谅,我们不会忘记。”
在您所在的城镇加入或启动一个致力于解决此问题的人类尊严小组。 ROP 组织者可以帮助您与您所在城镇志同道合的人建立联系,以开始制定策略来阻止您所在县的驱逐出境。只需致电我们即可开始使用:503-543-8417。
通过 ROPnet 查找有关停止驱逐出境的更多更新,这将是忙碌的一年!

向大家致以最良好的祝愿,愿我们共同努力,迎接更美好的未来。
阿曼达

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

A moment to celebrate! And the struggle continues.‏

Dear Ropnetters,

Congratulations Rural Oregon! For years Human Dignity Groups pushed local law enforcement to stop collaborating with Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE) in their mission to deport our community members. We met with sheriffs, held community forums, published letters in the paper, did candidate questionnaires, even took our message – “No to Deportations, Not One More!” to the streets!

Then in mid-April, after a Clackamas County judge ruled that honoring ICE hold requests violates peoples’ 4th amendment rights, a domino effect took place as sheriff after sheriff issued statements that they would no longer be honoring ICE holds. The total is now 30 of 36 sheriffs that have committed to not honor holds.

This victory has been a long time coming, and is a victory that belongs to all of us: urban lawyers and advocates, rural human dignity leaders, Oregon DREAM Activist youth, the national undocumented and unafraid movement – we have all been a part of reaching this milestone and we should be proud.

But, our work is far from over. Our struggle must continue until we put at an end to all deportations.

In the few weeks since this victory was announced, we have seen disturbing new tactics on the part of ICE and local law enforcement – to get around the process of ICE holds and continue deporting people. Immigrants are being denied bail in our county jails, local police are escorting ICE directly to the homes of undocumented people, ICE officers are waiting outside of the courthouse as immigrants are released from local jails – the tactics are terrifying.

Our victory has not changed the fact that ICE has their deportation quotas, or that private prisons continue to see dollar signs on immigrants and demand a 90% occupancy rate for their beds. There is no justice for the 2 million immigrants who have been deported during the Obama administration, or for our community members who continue to be torn from their families by ICE.

What can you do to build the momentum?

1. Send an Op-Ed or Letter to the Editor to your local paper. This raises the profile of what is happening to immigrants in rural Oregon. For example:

Several weeks ago, a Clackamas County judge ruled that when local law enforcement agencies honor hold requests from Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), it violates immigrants 4th amendment rights, which protects us all from unreasonable search and seizure by the government. After the ruling, a domino effect took place as sheriffs all over the state, including our [YOUR COUNTY] County sheriff, [YOUR SHERIFF’S NAME], issued statements that they would no longer be honoring ICE holds. The total is now 30 of 36 sheriffs that have committed to not honor holds.

As a member of [YOUR LOCAL HUMAN DINGITY GROUP], I commend the Sheriff for doing the right thing, in refusing to collaborate with ICE in their mission to tear community members away from their families. I also want you to know that we in the community will be watching to see that the Sheriff follows through on his commitment. We hope that this step signals a new era of local law enforcement starting to build trust with the immigrant community, and trying to repair some of the damage that has been done by years of deportations of our community members.

2. One part of the solution locally is to pass the Driver Card measure this fall – Driver Card access for all Oregon residents will be on the ballot, and will need us all to vote YES. Stay tuned to ROPnet for updates on the Driver Card and strategies for opening values-based conversations about Driver Card access in your community

See this Oregonian article for background on the Driver Card.​

3. Start discussing how to take loud, bold, action in your community. Groups that gathered for a driver card, hate, and deportations workshop at the Caucus discussed making October a month of action FOR human dignity and AGAINST deportations. Some recent events to take inspiration from are:
Last month in Lincoln County, ROP groups Centro de Ayuda and the Immigration Information Response Team held a demonstration calling for no more deportations.
Last week in Washington County, Oregon Dream Activists occupied the sheriff’s office, sharing stories of deported family members and telling the sheriff, “We won’t forgive, we won’t forget.”
Join or start a human dignity group in your town that is working on this issue. An ROP organizer can help you connect with like-minded people in your town to start creating a strategy to push back on deportations in your county. Just call us to get started: 503-543-8417.
Look for more updates via ROPnet on stopping deportations, this is going to be a busy year!

Best wishes to you all, and may we work together towards better days ahead.
Amanda

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English