玛西的问候

玛西·韦斯特林: 一个疯狂的社区组织者,致力于这样一种观念,即美国小镇充满了寻求正义的灵魂,他们值得支持,并有能力弥合我们时代的错误文化鸿沟。 1992 年农村组织项目的骄傲创始人。 2010 年春季因癌症四期而出轨。我相信其他人会继续推动农村包容性进步组织向前发展。

亲爱的 Ropnetters,

似乎是 Marcy 向您介绍 Marcy 的好时机; ) – 2010 年 6 月 10 日

2010 年 4 月 20 日下午 6 点,停在俄勒冈州高速公路的一侧,我得知自己患上了“晚期癌症”。 36 小时后,该诊断被细化为 IV 期卵巢癌。在前几周的诊断过山车中,我无休止地以物易物,未能取悦一位医生,但设法向自己保证,除了癌症,我可以接受任何诊断。充血性心力衰竭,当然。类风湿性关节炎,容易。绝对是具有 25% 死亡风险的真菌感染。但是在 2010 年 4 月 22 日,地球日,海湾喷涌的第 3 天,以及我心爱的死去的弟弟诞辰 43 周年,我被判处死刑。任何控制的表现都崩溃了。我在我的诊断包中抽出了最短的吸管。我构建它的生命走到了尽头。

在过去的 45 天里,我一直在努力接受我的短命。我已经努力获得足够的接受度来构建新的生活,无论多么短暂。我表现得明智、亲切、有趣和悲伤,但我从来没有像走出卵巢癌支持小组会议时那样真正悲伤。直到那时,我才觉得自己的死亡迫在眉睫。该死的。

感觉我的死是如此真实。思考我的死亡只是一种智力的锻炼——它被移除了,这是一个显而易见的事实,而且很容易做好。感觉它是如此令人难以置信的草率。当我走向一种非常不同的接受和悲伤时,慢慢地流下了眼泪。我没有什么可以允许的。它来找我了。它可能会很快到来。当我允许自己去感受它时,我的胃不停地倾斜,在寒冷的剧烈痉挛中散发出来。这是你睡觉时梦中坠落的无休止的重演——你的胃在你知道你会触底时倾斜。

我在这自由落体中重生。当您暂停思考并掌握真相时,这就是 IV 期卵巢癌诊断的感觉。

我重生到我的医疗团队的理事会——“你必须开始生活,好像接下来的三个月是你的最后三个月。当结束时你还活着,制定一个新的三个月计划。”这就是IV期卵巢癌。这是一个偷偷摸摸的诊断,让我看起来和感觉很好,因为癌症可以自己决定寿命。它将决定哪三个月是我的最后三个月。随着最后三个月的曙光,我们都会一起发现。

我认为我可以做到这一点。我可以学习以三个月为间隔的生活。我可以希望、梦想和建立更小的时间分配。但问题仍然是“我是在脑子里做还是在心里做?”在我的脑海里,这只是一个故事情节,我可以把它变得有趣、明智和抽象。在我的心中,当我一天或一个小时数次坠楼身亡时,我的胃不断地颤抖着。当我跌倒时,他们给我提供药物来消除焦虑,但是如果我失去优势,我会失去什么?

我现在秃了。在镜子里瞥一眼是刺耳的、令人沮丧的——为什么现在要公开羞辱?

我一直被禁止进入我的家,因为房子最近的霉菌诊断可能会杀死我,具有讽刺意味的是,在我生命的这个阶段,我尽量不去想。

我沦落为亲爱的朋友们慷慨借来的单人房,因为他们给我带来了爱、欢笑和关注。但是我的中产阶级美国生活的慷慨削减到可以装进几个垃圾箱的东西,用超然的教训嘲弄我。难道现在一切都在准备让我离开这个世界吗?

我感觉自己消失了,因为数百名同事和朋友的礼貌和恐惧仍然面临着截止日期的压倒性惯例,导致他们决定“不要让我脱离康复”,并提供有关我生活中所有正式生活的最新信息。我必须从当天的头条新闻中消失吗?没有其他人看到不让我分心康复的讽刺意味吗?在第四阶段有很多讽刺。

谢谢你让我分享我的真相。但还有更多的真相——你通过卡片、虚拟留言簿中的笔记、食物和书籍向我发送的爱。当我挣扎时,你也在挣扎。你总是爱和尊重我,我确实有这种感觉。当我自由落体时,你的善意包围了我,让我感到如此可怕的时刻也充满了光明和可能性。当我们每个人都努力在这部非常真实的戏剧中找到自己的最佳位置时,请不要害怕犯错。癌症是一个错误。你向我伸出手永远不会是一个错误。

我很孤独也很害怕。我是蓟花上的小人,大喊“我在这里,我在这里,我在这里”,就像霍顿听到一个人一样。感谢您聆听我的声音并爱我并帮助我尽可能完整地度过这最后一个阶段。不要急于我的消失。

爱,玛西

Marcy@rop.org

http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/marcywesterling/mystory

简体中文

A Hello From Marcy

Marcy Westerling: A kickass community organizer dedicated to the notion that small town Americana is filled with justice seeking souls that deserve support as well as have the power to bridge the false cultural divides of our times. Proud founder of Rural Organizing Project in 1992. Derailed by Stage IV Cancer in Spring of 2010. I trust others to continue moving rural inclusive progressive organizing forwards.

Dear Ropnetters,

It seems a good time for Marcy to Update you about Marcy ; ) – June 10th, 2010

April 20th, 2010 at 6 pm, parked on the side of an Oregon highway, I learned that I had “advanced cancer”. 36 hours later that diagnosis was refined to Stage IV Ovarian Cancer. In the diagnostic roller coaster of prior weeks I had bartered endlessly, failing to amuse a single doctor but managing to assure myself of how accepting I could be of any diagnosis but cancer. Congestive heart failure, sure. Rheumatoid arthritis, easy. A fungal infection with a 25% risk of death, absolutely. But April 22nd 2010, Earth Day, Day 3 of the Gulf gusher and the 43rd anniversary of my beloved dead little brother’s birth, I was given my death sentence. Any show of control collapsed. I had drawn the shortest straw in my diagnostic bundle. My life as I had constructed it came to a close.

Over the last 45 days I have worked to come to terms with my short straw. I have worked to have enough acceptance to construct a new life however brief. I have acted wise, gracious, funny and sad but I am never as genuinely sad as I feel when I walk out of my Ovarian Cancer Support Group sessions. It is only then that I feel in the pit of my stomach the very imminent potential of my death. God damn.

Feeling my death is so real. Thinking about my death is a mere exercise of intellect – it is removed, an obvious truth and easy to do well. Feeling it is so incredibly sloppy. Slow tears eke out as I move towards a very different type of acceptance and grief. There is nothing for me to give permission to here. It is coming for me. It could be coming fast. When I allow myself to feel it, my stomach lurches endlessly, radiating out in cold sharp spasms. It is an endless replay of the dream-fall when you sleep – your stomach lurches as you know you will hit the bottom.

I am re-born in this free fall. This is what a Stage IV Ovarian Cancer diagnosis feels like when you suspend thought and grasp truth.

I am re-born to the council of my medical team – “You must start living as if the next three months are your last. And when you are still alive at the close, make a new three month plan.” This is living with Stage IV Ovarian Cancer. It is a sneaky diagnosis that will allow me to look and feel great as the cancer makes its own decisions on longevity. It will decide which three months are my last. We will all find out together as the final three months dawns.

I think that I can do this. I can learn to live in three-month intervals. I can hope and dream and build in smaller allocations of time. But the question remains “Do I do it in my head or in my heart?” In my head it is a mere storyline that I can make amusing, wise and abstract. In my heart it is that constant tremor radiating from my stomach as I fall to my death several times a day or an hour. They offer me drugs to derail the anxiety as I fall but what do I lose if and as I take the edge off?

I am bald now. Catching a glance in a mirror is jarring, demoralizing – why this overt humiliation now?

I stay barred from entering my home because the house’s recent mold diagnosis could kill me, an irony I try not to dwell on at this phase of my life.

I am reduced to a single room generously loaned by dear friends as they shower me with love, laughter and attention. But the largesse of my middle class American life whittled down to what can fit in a few bins taunts me with the lesson of detachment. Must everything now be preparing me to leave this world?

I feel disappeared as the courtesies and fears of hundreds of colleagues and friends still facing the overwhelming routine of deadlines results in their deciding to ‘not derail me from healing’ with updates about everything that formally was my life. Must I even be disappeared from the headlines of the day? Does no one else see the irony of not distracting me from getting well? So many ironies at Stage IV.

Thanks for letting me share my truth. But there is so much more truth – the bundles of love you send my way through cards, notes in the virtual guestbook, food and books. While I struggle, you struggle. And always you love and respect me and I do so feel that. As I free fall, your kindnesses envelop me making such a scary moment also filled with light and possibilities. As we each struggle to find our best place in this very real drama please don’t fear making mistakes. Cancer is a mistake. You reaching out to me will never be a mistake.

I am lonely and scared. I am a little Who on a thistle screaming out “I am here, I am here, I am here,” as in Horton Hears a Who. Thanks for hearing me and loving me and helping me live this last phase as completely as possible. Don’t rush my disappearance.

Love, marcy

Marcy@rop.org

http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/marcywesterling/mystory

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English