وداع حلو ومر

28 أكتوبر 2014

أعزائي ROPnetters:

في ربيع عام 2008 ، جلست أمام جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بي في سان سلفادور ، السلفادور ، وصب شغفي في طلب لأصبح منظمًا في مشروع التنظيم الريفي.

... أخبرني ضميري أنه عليّ أن أجد نموذجًا تنظيميًا مختلفًا ، يعتمد على المكاسب البطيئة على المدى الطويل وليس على فورية كل الحملات أو لا شيء. قررت مغادرة الولايات المتحدة للبحث عن عمل مع أفضل نموذج يحتذى به: عمي ، أرماندو ماركيز أوتشوا ، الذي يعمل مع المجتمعات الحضرية والريفية في السلفادور منذ أكثر من 20 عامًا ... بعد الانتهاء ، حان الوقت لحزم أدواتي الجديدة والعودة إلى كفاحي الخاص ومجتمعي.

التنظيم هو رسالتي ، وهذا ما سأفعله لبقية حياتي. لا أعتبر هذا مسارًا بسيطًا ، لأنه يتخطى النضالات ضد العنصرية والحرب والعنف الطبقي وقانون الهجرة اللاإنساني والسياسات التجارية ، ويتحرك نحو رؤية مجتمع منظم وإنساني وواعي اجتماعيًا. لكن على الرغم من حواجز التضليل والعزلة في بلدنا ، هناك انتصارات صغيرة كل يوم تستند إلى تحليل واضح وأهداف ووعي بإنسانية الآخرين. يأتي التغيير الحقيقي من إنشاء علاقات طويلة الأمد تستند أولاً إلى المجتمعات وثانيًا على الحملات. هذا هو التنظيم الذي أريد أن أكون جزءًا منه.

إن التفكير في سنواتي الستة ونصف الماضية في شرطة عمان السلطانية يجلب لك الكثير من الصور والذكريات الجميلة التي سأعتز بها. مشاركة غرف المعيشة والحافلات والمكتبات والشوارع مع الكثير منكم. التجمع الريفي وجلسة الإستراتيجية. المسيرات ، والمنتديات ، والطريقة التي زعمنا بها أن مجتمعاتنا ذات قيمة عميقة ، ادعت أن جيراننا يستحقون الكرامة والاحترام. كيف ناضلنا مع بعضنا البعض ، لإفساح المجال لجميع أصواتنا والاعتراف والتغلب على ميراثنا من العنصرية والتمييز على أساس الجنس ورهاب المثلية والطبقية.

لم يكن الأمر سهلا دائما. لكنها كانت دائما جديرة بالاهتمام. إن امتناني هائل لدرجة أنني لا أعرف من أين أبدأ.

شكراً لأولئك منكم الذين اعتنوا بي ، وشهدوا تحولي ونموي. شكرا لأولئك الذين سمحوا لي أن أحاول الاعتناء بك ، وخلق مساحة لك لتكون أفضل ما لديك. شكراً لأولئك الذين يأتون إلى هذا العمل وعينيك مفتوحتان على مصراعيهما وتمكنوا بطريقة ما من إبقاء قلبك مفتوحًا أيضًا. شكراً لأولئك الذين كانوا معلمي وأبطالي. شكراً لمن غفر أخطائي.

لقد كان مثل هذا الشرف.

الأسماء والوجوه تطفو في ذهني ، الكثير منكم! قلبي ينتفخ! أود بشكل خاص أن أشكر زملائي في العمل في السنوات الماضية ، كارا وجيس وكيلا وسارة وإيمي وكاري وروزا وسام. شكرًا أيضًا للقادة الأقوياء الذين أحاطت بهم: Yesenia ، Frank ، Jorge ، Dancer ، Greg ، Lionila ، Sally ، Mari ، Ramon ، Andrea ، Lorena. هذه القائمة يمكن أن تكون صفحات طويلة! لقد تعلمت الكثير منك ووجدت الكثير لأؤمن به في كل واحد منكم. شكرا لك على الطريقة التي يتألق بها كل واحد منكم كمنظمين وقادة. أشكركم على رفقةكم وصبركم معي وأنا أعمل على تقريب أطرافي الخشنة ، وتوسيع تفكيري ، وإيجاد نقاط قوتي. شكرا لكم على الاحتفالات والعمل الجاد والساعات الطويلة والرحلات البرية. لقد أحببت التعلم معك.

مارسي ، مؤسسنا ، أي شيء نجحنا فيه في شرطة عمان السلطانية كان "على أكتاف العمالقة" - أنت عملاقنا. نشكرك على رؤيتك القوية ، والتفكير الحاد ، ونمذجة كيفية التغلب على التعقيد ، وردود الفعل الصعبة والأبواب التي فتحتها. لن أكون على ما أنا عليه بدونك.

والسؤال الذي لا مفر منه ، ماذا سأفعل بعد ذلك؟ أنا متحمس لقبول منصب في Enlace International ، وهي منظمة تعمل مع العمال ذوي الأجور المنخفضة في الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك وأمريكا الوسطى. نعم ، سأستمر في التنظيم! سأقسم وقتي بين حملة سحب الاستثمارات من السجون الخاصة ، ومعهد Enlace Training Institute. صناعة السجون الخاصة التي تجني مليارات الدولارات من حبس أحبائنا هي جالوت علينا أن نذبح للحفاظ على مجتمعاتنا آمنة وعائلاتنا معًا. بصفتي خريجة معهد التدريب ، فأنا متحمس لأن أكون جزءًا من أخذ أدوات Enlace إلى مجموعات يمكنها استخدامها لبناء حركات أقوى وتحقيق انتصارات من أجل العدالة. آمل أن ألتقي مرة أخرى مع العديد منكم بينما أواصل الكفاح.

وفي الوقت الحالي ، كما أقول وداعًا لمكتب شرطة عمان السلطانية ، ولزملائي في العمل ، ولمجلس الإدارة ، المجلس الاستشاري اللاتيني ، 50 مجموعة من مجموعة كرامة الإنسان والمستشارين والحلفاء في جميع أنحاء الولاية ... أعلم أنه ليس وداعًا حقيقيًا ، ولكنه " أراك لاحقا." سنكون على اتصال.

أنا وابنتي إسبيرانزا في رحلة على الطريق لشرطة عمان السلطانية في وسط أوريغون (الصورة: جريج ديلجادو)

أماندا أغيلار شانك

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

A bittersweet farewell

October 28th, 2014

Dear ROPnetters:

In spring of 2008, I sat at my computer in San Salvador, El Salvador, and poured my passion into an application to become an organizer at the Rural Organizing Project.

… my conscience told me that I had to find a different organizing model, based on slow gains over the long term and not on the immediacy of all or nothing campaigns. I decided to leave the US to look for work with the best role model I have: my uncle, Armando Marquez Ochoa, who has been working with urban and rural base communities in El Salvador for over 20 years…Now as my commitment here draws to a close, the time has come for me to pack up my new tools and return to my own struggle, and to my own community.

Organizing is my calling, it is what I will be doing for the rest of my life. I don’t see this as a simple path, as it crosses struggles against racism, war, class violence, inhumane immigration law and trade policies, and moves towards the vision of an organized, humane and socially aware population. But despite the barriers in our country of misinformation and isolation, there are small victories every day that are based in clear analysis, goals, and in a consciousness of the humanity of others. Real change comes from creating long term relationships based first on communities and second on campaigns. This is the organizing that I want to be a part of.

Reflecting on my last 6 ½ years at ROP brings up so many images, sweet memories that I will cherish. Sharing living rooms, buses, libraries, and the streets with so many of you. The Rural Caucus and Strategy Session. The marches, the forums, the way we have claimed our communities as deeply valuable, claimed our neighbors as deserving dignity and respect. How we have struggled with each other, to make space for all of our voices and to acknowledge and overcome our inheritance of racism, sexism, homophobia, and classism.

It has not always been easy. But it has always been worthwhile. My gratitude is so enormous I hardly know where to begin.

Thank you to those of you who have taken care of me, and witnessed my own transformation and growth. Thank you to those who have let me try to take care of you, and create space for you to be your best self. Thank you to those who come to this work with your eyes wide open and somehow manage to keep your heart open as well. Thank you to those who have been my mentors and heroes. Thank you to those of you who have forgiven my mistakes.

It has been such an honor.

Names and faces float through my mind, so many of you! My heart swells! I especially want to thank my coworkers of the past years, Cara, Jess, Keyla, Sarah, Amy, Kari, Rosa and Sam. Also thank you to the powerful leaders I have been surrounded by: Yesenia, Frank, Jorge, Dancer, Greg, Lionila, Sally, Mari, Ramon, Andrea, Lorena. This list could be pages long! I have learned an enormous amount from you and find so much to believe in in each one of you. Thank you for the way each of you shine as organizers and leaders. Thank you for your companionship and patience with me as I work to round my rough edges, broaden my thinking, and find my strengths. Thank you for the celebrations, the hard work, the long hours, the road trips. I have loved learning with you.

Marcy, our founder, anything that we have succeeded at in ROP has been “on the shoulders of giants” – you are our giant. Thank you for your powerful vision, the sharp thinking, for modeling how to weather complexity, the tough feedback and for the doors you have opened. I would not be who I am without you.

And the inevitable question, what will I do next? I’m excited to have accepted a position at Enlace International, an organization that works with low-wage workers in the US, Mexico, and Central America. Yes, I will continue organizing! I will split my time between the Private Prison Divestment Campaign, and the Enlace Training Institute. The private prison industry that makes billions of dollars off of incarcerating our loved ones is the Goliath we have to slay to keep our communities safe and families together. As a graduate of the Training Institute, I’m excited to be part of taking the Enlace tools to groups that can use them to build stronger movements, and win victories, for justice. I hope to cross paths again with many of you as I continue in the struggle.

And for now, as I say farewell to the ROP office, to my coworkers, and to our board, Latino Advisory Board, 50 Human Dignity Groups and advisors and allies around the state… I know it’s not a true goodbye, but rather a “see you later.” We will be in touch.

Me & my daughter Esperanza on a ROP road trip in Central Oregon (Photo: Greg Delgado)

Amanda Aguilar Shank

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English