苦乐参半的告别

2014 年 10 月 28 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters:

2008 年春天,我坐在萨尔瓦多圣萨尔瓦多的电脑前,将我的热情倾注于申请成为农村组织项目的组织者。

……我的良心告诉我,我必须找到一种不同的组织模式,基于长期缓慢的收益,而不是基于全有或全无运动的即时性。我决定离开美国去寻找我拥有的最佳榜样的工作:我的叔叔阿曼多·马尔克斯·奥乔亚 (Armando Marquez Ochoa),他在萨尔瓦多的城市和农村基地社区工作了 20 多年......现在,我在这里的承诺吸引了最后,是时候收拾我的新工具,回到我自己的奋斗和我自己的社区了。

组织是我的使命,这是我余生要做的事情。我不认为这是一条简单的道路,因为它跨越了反对种族主义、战争、阶级暴力、不人道的移民法和贸易政策的斗争,并朝着有组织、人道和具有社会意识的人口的愿景迈进。但是,尽管我们国家存在错误信息和孤立的障碍,但每天都有一些小胜利是基于清晰的分析、目标和对他人的人性的意识。真正的改变来自于建立基于社区和活动的长期关系。这是我想参与的组织。

回顾我在 ROP 的最后 6 ½ 年,我想起了许多我会珍惜的美好回忆。与许多人共享客厅、公共汽车、图书馆和街道。农村核心小组和战略会议。游行、论坛,我们声称我们的社区非常有价值的方式,声称我们的邻居值得尊严和尊重。我们如何相互斗争,为我们所有的声音腾出空间,承认并克服我们继承的种族主义、性别歧视、恐同症和阶级主义。

这并不总是那么容易。但它一直是值得的。我的感激之情如此巨大,我几乎不知道从哪里开始。

感谢你们一直照顾我,见证我自己的蜕变和成长。感谢那些让我努力照顾你的人,为你创造空间,让你成为最好的自己。感谢那些睁大眼睛来从事这项工作的人,并且以某种方式设法让您的心保持开放。感谢那些曾经是我的导师和英雄的人。感谢那些原谅我错误的人。

获得了这样的荣誉。

名字和面孔浮现在我的脑海中,你们中的许多人!我的心在膨胀!我特别要感谢我过去几年的同事,Cara、Jess、Keyla、Sarah、Amy、Kari、Rosa 和 Sam。还要感谢我身边的强大领导者:Yesenia、Frank、Jorge、Dancer、Greg、Lionila、Sally、Mari、Ramon、Andrea、Lorena。此列表可能长达数页!我从你们那里学到了很多东西,并且发现你们每个人都有很多值得相信的地方。感谢你们每个人作为组织者和领导者的表现。感谢您对我的陪伴和耐心,让我努力克服自己的粗糙边缘,拓宽思路,找到自己的长处。感谢您的庆祝活动、辛勤工作、漫长的工作时间和公路旅行。我喜欢和你一起学习。

Marcy,我们的创始人,我们在 ROP 中取得的任何成功都是“站在巨人的肩膀上”——你是我们的巨人。感谢您强大的视野、敏锐的思维、建模如何应对复杂性、艰难的反馈以及您打开的大门。没有你,我不会成为现在的我。

还有一个不可避免的问题,我接下来要做什么?我很高兴接受了 Enlace International 的职位,这是一个与美国、墨西哥和中美洲的低工资工人合作的组织。是的,我会继续组织!我将在私人监狱撤资运动和 Enlace 培训学院之间分配时间。通过监禁我们所爱的人赚取数十亿美元的私人监狱行业是我们必须杀死的巨人,以确保我们的社区安全和家人团聚。作为培训学院的毕业生,我很高兴能够参与将 Enlace 工具带到可以使用它们来建立更强大的运动并赢得胜利的团体的一部分。在我继续奋斗的过程中,我希望与你们中的许多人再次相遇。

现在,当我告别 ROP 办公室、我的同事、我们的董事会、拉丁裔顾问委员会、全州 50 个人类尊严团体、顾问和盟友时……我知道这不是真正的告别,而是“回头见。”我们将联系。

我和我的女儿 Esperanza 在俄勒冈州中部进行 ROP 公路旅行(照片:Greg Delgado)

阿曼达·阿吉拉尔·小腿

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

A bittersweet farewell

October 28th, 2014

Dear ROPnetters:

In spring of 2008, I sat at my computer in San Salvador, El Salvador, and poured my passion into an application to become an organizer at the Rural Organizing Project.

… my conscience told me that I had to find a different organizing model, based on slow gains over the long term and not on the immediacy of all or nothing campaigns. I decided to leave the US to look for work with the best role model I have: my uncle, Armando Marquez Ochoa, who has been working with urban and rural base communities in El Salvador for over 20 years…Now as my commitment here draws to a close, the time has come for me to pack up my new tools and return to my own struggle, and to my own community.

Organizing is my calling, it is what I will be doing for the rest of my life. I don’t see this as a simple path, as it crosses struggles against racism, war, class violence, inhumane immigration law and trade policies, and moves towards the vision of an organized, humane and socially aware population. But despite the barriers in our country of misinformation and isolation, there are small victories every day that are based in clear analysis, goals, and in a consciousness of the humanity of others. Real change comes from creating long term relationships based first on communities and second on campaigns. This is the organizing that I want to be a part of.

Reflecting on my last 6 ½ years at ROP brings up so many images, sweet memories that I will cherish. Sharing living rooms, buses, libraries, and the streets with so many of you. The Rural Caucus and Strategy Session. The marches, the forums, the way we have claimed our communities as deeply valuable, claimed our neighbors as deserving dignity and respect. How we have struggled with each other, to make space for all of our voices and to acknowledge and overcome our inheritance of racism, sexism, homophobia, and classism.

It has not always been easy. But it has always been worthwhile. My gratitude is so enormous I hardly know where to begin.

Thank you to those of you who have taken care of me, and witnessed my own transformation and growth. Thank you to those who have let me try to take care of you, and create space for you to be your best self. Thank you to those who come to this work with your eyes wide open and somehow manage to keep your heart open as well. Thank you to those who have been my mentors and heroes. Thank you to those of you who have forgiven my mistakes.

It has been such an honor.

Names and faces float through my mind, so many of you! My heart swells! I especially want to thank my coworkers of the past years, Cara, Jess, Keyla, Sarah, Amy, Kari, Rosa and Sam. Also thank you to the powerful leaders I have been surrounded by: Yesenia, Frank, Jorge, Dancer, Greg, Lionila, Sally, Mari, Ramon, Andrea, Lorena. This list could be pages long! I have learned an enormous amount from you and find so much to believe in in each one of you. Thank you for the way each of you shine as organizers and leaders. Thank you for your companionship and patience with me as I work to round my rough edges, broaden my thinking, and find my strengths. Thank you for the celebrations, the hard work, the long hours, the road trips. I have loved learning with you.

Marcy, our founder, anything that we have succeeded at in ROP has been “on the shoulders of giants” – you are our giant. Thank you for your powerful vision, the sharp thinking, for modeling how to weather complexity, the tough feedback and for the doors you have opened. I would not be who I am without you.

And the inevitable question, what will I do next? I’m excited to have accepted a position at Enlace International, an organization that works with low-wage workers in the US, Mexico, and Central America. Yes, I will continue organizing! I will split my time between the Private Prison Divestment Campaign, and the Enlace Training Institute. The private prison industry that makes billions of dollars off of incarcerating our loved ones is the Goliath we have to slay to keep our communities safe and families together. As a graduate of the Training Institute, I’m excited to be part of taking the Enlace tools to groups that can use them to build stronger movements, and win victories, for justice. I hope to cross paths again with many of you as I continue in the struggle.

And for now, as I say farewell to the ROP office, to my coworkers, and to our board, Latino Advisory Board, 50 Human Dignity Groups and advisors and allies around the state… I know it’s not a true goodbye, but rather a “see you later.” We will be in touch.

Me & my daughter Esperanza on a ROP road trip in Central Oregon (Photo: Greg Delgado)

Amanda Aguilar Shank

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English