庆祝农村抵抗与正义


在我们又一年结束之际,我们邀请您庆祝我们在过去一年中共同取得的所有成就。我们在下面分享了俄勒冈州农村地区的成功快照。感谢所有使这项工作成为可能的勇敢的农村人类尊严领导人。访问我们的网页进行年终捐赠,并了解有关如何支持农村社区组织的更多信息。
2016 年,农村组织项目跨越了国界和国界,以建立我们的人类尊严运动。当俄勒冈州因占领 Malheur 避难所而成为全国关注的焦点时,我们在当地和全国范围内组织了响应。我们在州外与国家合作伙伴合作,为全国各地的农村组织者制作工具。我们跨越县界,支持抵抗在俄勒冈州其他农村社区扩大民兵和“爱国者”运动。我们跨越了种族正义的障碍,支持了俄勒冈州关于种族正义的全州农村对话。我们期待在 2017 年在俄勒冈州农村建立更多的抵抗和正义能力。

在本地和全国范围内组织

全州社区纷纷行动起来支持哈尼县:约翰·戴、伯恩斯、本德、斯卡普斯
俄勒冈州农村地区对占领 Malheur 国家野生动物保护区作出回应
俄勒冈州农村地区在 1 月份马勒国家野生动物保护区被占领期间成为全国讨论的主题。尽管当地人热情地恳求不要打扰他们的社区,但来自全国各地的准军事人员和所谓的爱国者团体还是来到了哈尼县。在大部分占领期间,ROP 员工和志愿者都在现场,与当地组织者会面并为其提供资源,并与我们的全州网络共享信息。 ROP 不仅为无数报道占领的记者提供了资源,而且还开发了一个讨论指南和行动工具包,其中包括为种族正义而露面 (SURJ),供全国各团体使用。我们还呼吁在全州范围内开展一天的行动,俄勒冈州(以及全国!)的数十个社区都参与其中,并支持在哈尼县法院台阶上组织了 350 人的集会,社区成员声称:我们是我们自己的声音!

积极的全州组织

激烈反对
ROP 与政治研究协会合作,撰写并发布了武装起来:俄勒冈爱国者运动指南,这是一个激进的资源工具包,可深入探索俄勒冈州所谓的爱国者运动。 Up in Arms 展示了俄勒冈州农村多年来为重建社区而进行的成功运动和干预的组织专业知识、工具和成功故事。立即在 www.rop.org/up-in-arms/ 订购

超越烧伤:俄勒冈州日益壮大的爱国者运动
随着爱国者运动将目光投向哈尼县以外的俄勒冈州农村社区,ROP 加紧支持已经在讨论威胁的社区。超过 850 人参加了这次重要的全州巡演,参与关于爱国者运动对其社区的影响以及居民如何围绕社区未满足的需求进行组织以抢占寻求利用其弱点的外部利益的公开讨论。

关于种族正义的对话

超过 550 名俄勒冈州农村人参加了“为什么俄勒冈州没有更多黑人?:隐藏的历史”,这是一个由 Walidah Imarsha 在 Cave Junction、Cottage Grove、Monmouth、La Grande、Prineville 和 Prineville 社区领导的对话项目斯卡普斯。 65 到 200 多人的人群出现在探索影响我们社区的种族排斥法的遗产,并集思广益如何在他们的社区中组织种族正义。

ROP 在俄勒冈州的小镇和农村为人类尊严和正义建立运动力量。我们支持全州 50 多个团体组成的网络,这些团体组织社区以实现自决,为公平和民主采取行动。

我们通过集体行动将领导人和团体联系起来,以促进包容性民主,为种族和经济正义组织起来,并为 LGBTQ 权利和移民公平站在一起。我们有 24 年的组织历史,致力于将俄勒冈州的乡村和小镇变成一个所有人都可以充分、有尊严和安全地生活的地方。

我们网络中的 50 多个人类尊严团体正在全州范围内开展长期的农村正义运动。 2016 年当地组织的一些亮点:

格兰特县在 1 月下旬成为头条新闻,当时有 70 多人聚集在一起抗议马尔赫尔国家野生动物保护区占领者的会议。这些抗议者组成了格兰特县积极行动,他们一贯的组织建立了一个当地人的基础,他们团结起来,从给编辑的信件到示威游行,动辄反对准军事组织和所谓的爱国者组织的反民主策略,到教育活动。

在总统选举结果公布后,俄勒冈东部的种族正义再次承诺在联合县推进种族正义的愿景。他们组织了一场声援 Stand Rock 的活动,并启动了建设热情社区的战略。他们的邻里对话正在建立一个致力于在俄勒冈州东部实现公平和公平愿景的人网络。

当民兵和所谓的爱国者团体在他们的县活跃起来时,贝克县的地方领导人成立了狭长社区联盟 (PCA)。 PCA 的成员和盟友成功地与数百名选民进行了沟通,揭露了正在竞选当地办公室的所谓爱国者团体领导人。

约瑟芬县的农村反种族主义组织 (ROAR) 举行了烛光守夜活动,以纪念 8 月因警察暴力而丧生的黑人。他们立即在 Facebook 上遭到强烈反对,包括暴力威胁。由誓言守护者组织的 50 名尖叫抗议者使用扩音器将守夜人称为恐怖分子,但超过 75 名社区成员出席了守夜活动,并坚持自己的立场。他们被强烈反对以证明约瑟芬县不会成为一个仇恨和种族主义言论得不到回应的地方。 ROAR 组织了一支志愿维和队来缓和局势,守夜活动不间断地进行。当地组织者带领人群说出今年因警察暴力而丧生的每一个黑人生命的名字,每 20 个名字就停下来说“你没有被遗忘”和“黑人生命很重要”。活动结束时,人群承诺对抗种族主义和不公正现象,并采取行动使社区成为更宜居的地方。

我们很荣幸将这些团体纳入我们的网络:

贝克
贝克县人类尊严人士
狭长社区联盟
一心想
积极争取和平与正义,第一联合卫理公会
民主与社会主义通讯委员会
科瓦利斯为种族正义现身
俄勒冈社区权利联盟
和平退伍军人第 132 章,莱纳斯鲍林分会
本顿+林恩
科瓦利斯愤怒的奶奶
种族平等社区行动
克拉克马斯
桥接文化
克拉索普
哥伦比亚太平洋社会正义联盟
哥伦比亚
哥伦比亚县人类尊严联盟
库斯
库斯县的人权倡导者
骗子
人类尊严倡导者
德舒特
建立共同点
俄勒冈州中部的正义工作
第一长老会和平与正义团队
和平与社会正义团队 – 三一圣公会
PFLAG 俄勒冈中部
道格拉斯
占领罗斯堡 喂食“堡”
授予
格兰特县积极行动
哈尼+格兰特
蓝圣人事工
胡德河
建立社区联系
哥伦比亚河和平奖学金
杰克逊
和平与正义公民
莲花崛起项目
和平之家
流氓气候
杰斐逊
Front Porch Group 杰斐逊县
约瑟芬
授予通行证 PFLAG
反对种族主义的农村组织
克拉马斯
和平读书会
克拉马斯独立公权力

内陆之声
车道
社区权利莱恩县
斯普林菲尔德-尤金 SURJ
莱恩县社区联盟 / 斯普林菲尔德平等和尊重联盟
妇女行动新方向
黑莓派协会
占领小屋格罗夫
公民民主观察
林肯
全国妇女组织俄勒冈中部海岸分会
移民和信息响应小组
俄勒冈中央海岸的 PFLAG
林恩
奥尔巴尼和平寻求者
波尔克
波尔克人类平等社区
蒂拉穆克
爱的提拉穆克
联盟
和平正义的潮流
俄勒冈州农村行动
俄勒冈州东部的种族正义
瓦洛瓦
瓦洛瓦县和平与正义网络
瓦斯科
沃斯科县公民维护人类尊严
华盛顿
阿德兰特·穆赫雷斯
西县人类尊严委员会
山丘
Unidos 桥接社区

感谢俄勒冈州农村所有勇敢的人类尊严领袖,他们使这项工作成为可能。

这是一个强大而有影响力的 2017 年!

热情地,Cara、Jess、Grace 和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Celebrating Rural Resistance & Justice


As we close out another year, we invite you to celebrate all that we have accomplished together over the last year. We share a snapshot of successes across rural Oregon below. Thank you to all the courageous rural human dignity leaders that make this work possible. Visit our webpage to make a year-end donation and for more information on how to support organizing in rural communities.
In 2016, Rural Organizing Project reached across boundaries and borders to build our movement for human dignity. When Oregon landed in the national spotlight with the occupation of the Malheur Refuge, we organized locally and nationally in response. We reached outside our state to work with national partners to produce tools for rural organizers all over the country. We reached across county lines, supporting resistance to expansion of the militia and “Patriot” movement in other rural Oregon communities. And we reached across barriers to racial justice, supporting a state-wide rural conversation on racial justice in Oregon. We look forward to building more capacity for resistance and justice in rural Oregon in 2017.

Organizing Locally & Nationally

Communities all over the state jumped into action in support of Harney County: John Day, Burns, Bend, Scappoose
Rural Oregon responds to the occupation of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge
Rural Oregon was the subject of national conversation during the occupation of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge in January. Paramilitaries and so-called Patriot groups from across the country descended on Harney County despite the impassioned pleas by locals to please leave their community alone. ROP staff and volunteers were on the ground during most of the occupation, meeting with and resourcing local organizers, and sharing information with our statewide network. ROP not only resourced countless journalists who reported on the occupation, but developed a discussion guide and action toolkit with Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ) that was used by groups nationwide. We also called for a statewide day of action that dozens of communities across Oregon (and across the country!) participated in, and supported the organizing that led to a 350-person rally on the Harney County Courthouse steps where community members asserted: WE ARE OUR OWN VOICE!

Proactive Statewide Organizing

UP IN ARMS
ROP, in partnership with Political Research Associates, authored and released Up in Arms: A Guide to Oregon’s Patriot Movement, an activist resource toolkit that offers an in-depth exploration of Oregon’s so-called Patriot movement. Up in Arms features years of rural Oregonians’ organizing expertise, tools, and success stories from successful campaigns and interventions made to reclaim their communities. Order today at www.rop.org/up-in-arms/

Beyond Burns: the Growing Patriot Movement in Oregon
With the Patriot Movement eyeing rural Oregon communities beyond Harney County, ROP stepped up to support communities that were already discussing the threat. Over 850 people attended stops on this critical statewide tour, to participate in public discussions on the impact of the Patriot Movement in their communities and how residents can organize around unmet needs in their community to preempt outside interests looking to exploit their vulnerabilities.

Conversations on Racial Justice

More than 550 rural Oregonians participated in “Why Aren’t There More Black People In Oregon?: A Hidden History”, a conversation project led by Walidah Imarisha in the communities of Cave Junction, Cottage Grove, Monmouth, La Grande, Prineville, and Scappoose. Crowds of 65 to over 200 people showed up to explore the legacy of racially exclusionary laws that impact our communities to this day, and brainstormed how to organize for racial justice in their communities.

ROP builds movement power for human dignity and justice in small town and rural Oregon. We support a network of over 50 groups across the state who organize their communities for self-determination, taking action for fairness and democracy.

We connect leaders and groups through collective action to promote inclusive democracy, to organize for racial and economic justice, and stand together for LGBTQ rights and immigrant fairness. We have a 24-year history of organizing toward a vision of rural and small town Oregon becoming a place where all can live their lives fully, in dignity and safety.

Over 50 human dignity groups in our network are building the rural movement for justice for the long haul across our state. A few highlights from local organizing in 2016:

Grant County made headlines in late January when over 70 people gathered to protest a meeting featuring the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge occupiers. Those protesters formed Grant County Positive Action and their consistent organizing has built up a base of locals who are banding together to oppose the anti-democratic tactics of paramilitary and so-called Patriot groups at every turn, from letters to the editor, to demonstrations, to educational events.

Following the Presidential election results, Racial Justice Eastern Oregon recommitted themselves to advancing a vision of racial justice in Union County. They organized an event in solidarity with Standing Rock and have initiated strategies for building a welcoming community. Their neighbor-to-neighbor conversations are building a network of people committed to a vision of equity and fairness in eastern Oregon.

When militia and so-called Patriot groups became active in their county, local leaders in Baker County formed Panhandle Community Alliance (PCA). PCA’s members and allies successfully communicated with hundreds of voters to expose so-called Patriot group leaders who were running for local offices.

Josephine County’s Rural Organizing Against Racism (ROAR) held a candlelight vigil to remember the Black lives lost to police violence in August. They received immediate backlash over Facebook, including threats of violence. Fifty screaming protesters organized by the Oath Keepers used a bullhorn to call vigil attendees terrorists, but more than 75 community members showed up for the vigil, and stood their ground. They were galvanized by the backlash to demonstrate that Josephine County will not be a place where hateful and racist statements go unanswered. ROAR organized a volunteer peacekeeping team to de-escalate the situation and the vigil went on uninterrupted. Local organizers led the crowd in speaking the names of every Black life lost to police violence this year, stopping every 20 names to say “you are not forgotten” and “Black lives matter”. The event concluded with the crowd taking a pledge to confront racism and injustice and to take action to make the community a better place to live.

We are honored to include these groups in our network:

Baker
Baker County People for Human Dignity
Panhandle Community Alliance
Benton
Active for Peace & Justice, 1st United Methodist
Committees of Correspondence for Democracy & Socialism
Corvallis Showing Up for Racial Justice
Oregon Community Rights Coalition
Veterans for Peace Ch 132, Linus Pauling Chapter
Benton+Linn
Corvallis Raging Grannies
Community Action for Racial Equity
Clackamas
Bridging Cultures
Clatsop
Columbia Pacific Alliance for Social Justice
Columbia
Columbia County Coalition for Human Dignity
Coos
Human Rights Advocates of Coos County
Crook
Human Dignity Advocates
Deschutes
Building Common Ground
Central Oregon Jobs With Justice
Peace & Justice Team at First Presbyterian Church
Peace & Social Justice Team – Trinity Episcopal Church
PFLAG Central Oregon
Douglas
Occupy Roseburg Feed the ‘Burg
Grant
Grant County Positive Action
Harney+Grant
Blue Sage Ministries
Hood River
Building Community Connections
Columbia River Fellowship for Peace
Jackson
Citizens for Peace and Justice
Lotus Rising Project
Peace House
Rogue Climate
Jefferson
Front Porch Group Jefferson County
Josephine
Grants Pass PFLAG
Rural Organizing Against Racism
Klamath
Peace Reading Group
Klamath Independent Public Power
Lake
Outback Voices
Lane
Community Rights Lane County
Springfield-Eugene SURJ
Community Alliance of Lane County / Springfield Alliance for Equality and Respect
Womens Action for New Directions
Blackberry Pie Society
Occupy Cottage Grove
Citizens Democracy Watch
Lincoln
Central Oregon Coast Chapter of the National Organization for Women
Immigration & Information Response Team
PFLAG of the Oregon Central Coast
Linn
Albany Peace Seekers
Polk
Polk Community for Human Equality
Tillamook
Tillamook for Love
Union
CURRENTS of Justice for Peace
Oregon Rural Action
Racial Justice in Eastern Oregon
Wallowa
Peace & Justice Network of Wallowa county
Wasco
Wasco County Citizens for Human Dignity
Washington
Adelante Mujeres
West County Council For Human Dignity
Yamhill
Unidos Bridging Community

Thank you to all the courageous human dignity leaders across rural Oregon that make this work possible.

Here’s to a powerful and impactful 2017!

Warmly, Cara, Jess, Grace and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English