成功!俄勒冈州农村人为种族正义挺身而出!

2016 年 4 月 21 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters,

哇!在过去的两周里,超过 550 名俄勒冈州农村人参加了“为什么俄勒冈州没有更多的黑人?:隐藏的历史”,由瓦利达·伊马里沙 (Walidah Imarisha) 主持。

从 Cave Junction 到 Cottage Grove 到 Monmouth,再到 La Grande 到 Prineville 到 Scappoose,La Grande 有 65 到 200 多人的人群出现,以了解有关俄勒冈州隐藏历史的更多信息。我们一起探索了我们可以组织起来的方式,以解决影响我们社区的种族排斥法的遗留问题。我们为让这一切发生的每个社区的当地人类尊严团体和个人感到自豪!我们想向所有给朋友和家人打电话、帮助收拾全州图书馆、礼堂和教室的人大喊大叫。现在,这些社区成员正忙于计划后续会议,人们将重新开会讨论他们可以为促进种族正义而进行的组织!

ROP 很自豪能与 俄勒冈人文 使这次旅行取得成功!

查看下面全州的照片和故事!

想继续讨论俄勒冈州农村的种族正义吗? 加入我们的农村核心小组和战略会议 5 月 14 日在本德!这是 ROP 一年中最重要的一天;我们整个全州的农村组织者和社区领袖网络将聚集在一起分享故事和技能,建立关系和分析,并推进计划以加强俄勒冈州农村和小镇的民主和正义运动。

一切顺利,
摩根

洞穴路口

超过 85 人出现在巡演的第一站,其中大多数人停留的时间更长,以便在 Rogue Valley 的下一步进行对话。问题包括:您如何看待这段历史?您如何看待今天约瑟芬县的这段历史遗产?我们可以在当地做些什么来建立每个人都可以安全和有尊严地充分生活的社区?感谢约瑟芬县种族正义工作组和 Healthy U 组织如此受欢迎的活动!

小屋格罗夫

在 Cottage Grove 公共图书馆举行的活动只有站立的空间,共有 75 名参与者参加。在整整两个小时的时间里,居民们热情地参与了谈话项目。社区成员就莱恩县的种族排斥遗留问题提出了有见地的问题,并聚在一起集思广益,他们今天如何开始解决这段历史。

然而,当离开活动并前往他们的汽车时,一些项目参与者受到监视、骚扰和身体伤害的威胁。

这是农村组织项目和俄勒冈人文科学在我们关于俄勒冈州种族的工作中看到的一个令人担忧的趋势。破坏、威胁和恐吓行为已被用来使社区沉默并关闭公共对话。在这个政治两极分化的时刻,我们比以往任何时候都更加致力于创造空间,让人们尽管存在分歧,但可以聚在一起,就影响我们所有人生活的难题进行相互尊重、有意义的对话。农村组织项目和俄勒冈人文学院认为,将人们聚集在一起思考种族和权力等棘手问题是建立强大、安全和相互联系的社区的必要组成部分。

目前,在 Cottage Grove,当地领导人正在与社区成员合作,支持那些受到威胁的人并组织下一步行动。查看 俄勒冈州公共广播采访 ROP 关于 Cottage Grove 的威胁以及我们在全州看到的令人不安的趋势。

蒙茅斯

超过 75 名学生和社区居民在周六晚上抽出时间聚集在西俄勒冈大学的校园里。参加活动的人们询问了俄勒冈州宪法中种族排斥的遗留问题,以及歧视性贷款在有色人种居住的社区地区的作用。感谢 Polk Community for Human Equality、黑人学生会和 Western Compass 赞助此次活动!如果您住在波尔克县,我们邀请您参加 5 月 15 日星期日下午 4:30 在蒙茅斯基督教堂举行的关于下一步行动的对话。

拉格兰德

哇!超过 200 人挤满了东俄勒冈大学的一个大教室,数量之多以至于不得不带上更多的椅子!学生和社区成员探索了俄勒冈州前州长 Walter M. Pierce 的历史,包括他与 KKK 的关系以及他提倡的歧视性立法。学生们很快分享说,校园图书馆仍然以他的名字命名。非常感谢活动的所有赞助商,包括俄勒冈农村行动、和平正义的电流、东俄勒冈大学多元文化中心、黑人学生会、MESA、SCMA 和东俄勒冈种族正义。

普林维尔

65 名克鲁克县居民挤进了普林维尔图书馆,并直接参与了对话项目。讨论的一个重点是如何确保在地区学校教授俄勒冈州的种族排斥历史。 5 月 16 日星期一下午 5:30 在普林维尔图书馆由克鲁克县人类尊严倡导者赞助,居民很高兴能够在后续会议上继续进行对话。想听更多?您可以从中查看亮点 地方电视台!

斯卡普斯

巡演的最后一晚,超过 75 人挤进了 Scappoose 高中的礼堂。当地教师、学生和社区成员讨论了他们社区中种族排斥的遗留问题,并集思广益他们可以采取的行动。与他们一起参加 5 月 5 日星期四下午 6 点至 7 点 30 分在 Scappoose 公共图书馆会议室举行的后续会议。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Success! Rural Oregonians show up for racial justice!‏

April 21, 2016

Dear ROPnetters,

Wow! Over the last two weeks, more than 550 rural Oregonians showed up for “Why Aren’t There More Black People In Oregon?: A Hidden History,” presented by Walidah Imarisha.

From Cave Junction to Cottage Grove to Monmouth, and then La Grande to Prineville to Scappoose, crowds of 65 to over 200 people in La Grande showed up to learn more about Oregon’s hidden history. Together we explored ways we can organize to address the legacy of racially exclusionary laws that impact our communities to this day. We are so proud of the local human dignity groups and individuals in each community who made it all happen! We’d like to give a huge shout-out everyone who made phone calls to friends and family, helping pack libraries, auditoriums, and classrooms across the state. Right now, those same community members are busy planning follow-up meetings where folks will reconvene to discuss the organizing they can do to advance racial justice!

ROP is so proud to partner with Oregon Humanities to make this tour a success!

Check out photos and stories from the across the state below!

Want to keep the conversation about racial justice in rural Oregon going? Join us for the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on May 14 in Bend! It’s the biggest day of the year for ROP; our entire statewide network of rural organizers and community leaders will come together to share stories and skills, build relationships and analysis, and advance plans to strengthen the movement for democracy and justice in rural and small-town Oregon.

All the best,
Morgan

Cave Junction

Over 85 people showed up for the first tour stop, most of whom stayed longer to have a conversation rooted in next steps in the Rogue Valley. Questions included: how do you relate to this history? How do you see the legacy of this history today in Josephine County? What can we do locally to build communities where everyone can live fully with safety and dignity? Kudos to the Josephine County Racial Justice Working Group and Healthy U for organizing such a well-attended event!

Cottage Grove

The event at the Cottage Grove Public Library was standing room only, bringing together seventy-five participants. For the full two hours, residents enthusiastically participated in the conversation project. Community members asked insightful questions about the legacy of racial exclusion in Lane County and came together to brainstorm how they could begin to address that history today.

However, when leaving the event and heading to their cars, several program participants were surveilled, harassed, and threatened with physical harm.

This is an alarming trend both Rural Organizing Project and Oregon Humanities are seeing in our work about race across Oregon. Disruptions, threats, and acts of intimidation have been used to silence communities and shut down public conversation. And in this moment of great political polarization, we have become more committed than ever to creating spaces where people can come together despite their differences and engage in respectful, meaningful conversations about the difficult issues affecting all of our lives. The Rural Organizing Project and Oregon Humanities believe that bringing people together to think through tough issues like race and power is a necessary part of building strong, safe, and connected communities.

Right now in Cottage Grove, local leaders are working with community members to support those who were threatened and to organize next steps. Check out the Oregon Public Broadcasting interview with ROP about the threats in Cottage Grove and the disturbing trends we are seeing across the state.

Monmouth

Over 75 students and community residents took time out of their Saturday night to come together on Western Oregon University’s campus. The folks who attended the event asked questions about the legacy of racial exclusion in Oregon’s Constitution and the role of discriminatory lending in areas of their community where people of color have lived. Thank you to Polk Community for Human Equality, Black Student Union, and Western Compass for sponsoring the event! If you live in Polk County, you’re invited to attend a conversation about next steps on Sunday, May 15, 4:30 pm at Christ Church in Monmouth.

La Grande

Wow! Over 200 people packed a large classroom at Eastern Oregon University, so many that more chairs had to be brought in! Students and community members explored the history of Oregon’s former Governor Walter M. Pierce, including his ties to the KKK and his promotion of discriminatory legislation. Students were quick to share that the campus library still bears his name. A big thank you to all of the event’s sponsors, including Oregon Rural Action, C.U.R.R.E.N.T.S. of Justice for Peace, Eastern Oregon University Multicultural Center, Black Student Union, MESA, SCMA, and Eastern Oregon Racial Justice.

Prineville

65 Crook County residents packed into the Prineville Library and jumped right into the conversation project. A big focus of the discussion was on how to make sure Oregon’s history of racial exclusion is taught in area schools. Residents are excited to keep the conversation going at the follow-up meeting, sponsored by the Human Dignity Advocates of Crook County on Monday, May 16 at 5:30 pm at the Prineville Library. Want to hear more? You can check out the highlights from this local television broadcast!

Scappoose

The last night of the tour, over 75 people packed into the Scappoose High School auditorium. Local teachers, students, and community members discussed the legacy of racial exclusion in their community and brainstormed actions they could take moving forward. Join them at the follow-up meeting on Thursday, May 5 from 6-7:30 pm at the Scappoose Public Library meeting room.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English