2023 年人类尊严奖获得者!

每年,在农村核心小组和战略会议上,ROP 都会向多个团体颁发“人类尊严奖”,以表彰和庆祝他们过去一年在社区中所做的强有力的组织工作。今年,我们于 5 月 20 日在奥尔巴尼举行核心小组会议,交换故事、建立社区并制定来年战略。我们将在即将举行的几个 ROPnet 中分享更多有关今年核心小组会议结果的信息,但首先,让我们庆祝今年人类尊严奖的获得者! 

2023 年人类尊严奖

奥尔巴尼和平寻求者

奥尔巴尼和平寻求者的成员站在人行道上,举着写着“哈尼和平”和“我们爱马卢尔”的标语。

奥尔巴尼和平寻求者 (APS) 自 2003 年开始组织街头抗议以促进和平以来,已在林恩县活跃了 20 年。 

APS 通过多年的活动和项目与当地高中和更广泛的社区进行了深入的接触。自 2009 年以来,该组织已向三名即将毕业的高年级学生颁发和平奖和奖学金,并向三所不同高中的学生、教职员工颁发和平缔造者奖。

二十年来,APS 一直是 ROP 人类尊严组织。他们参与并领导了许多 ROP 活动,从 2010 年主办党团会议,到分发 STAND 选举指南,并与邻居进行对话以支持自 2010 年以来的每次选举,再到去年主办“弥合分歧,捍卫尊严”展览。该乐队最近失去了两位深受喜爱的成员,莎伦·吉斯勒和唐·雷,他们去世了。他们是充满激情、奉献精神的组织者,我们将永远铭记他们。我们不可能记录 APS 所做的一切并继续组织起来,因此,如果您没有机会在今年的核心会议上了解他们,请务必在明年的核心会议上找到其中一位成员并找到说出他们所做的一切! 

CTUIR青年领导委员会

10 人身着盛装举起奖杯合影留念。

尤马蒂拉印第安人保留地联盟部落 (CTUIR) 青年领导委员会一直在领导一场突破并最终拆除蛇河下游四个水坝的运动,以保护鲑鱼种群。青年领导委员会的成员都是初中或高中学生,他们一直参加各种会议和集会,宣传他们的活动,并分享健康鲑鱼种群的文化和环境重要性。今年春天他们还前往华盛顿与立法者会面! 

除了拆除水坝的运动外,青年领导委员会还组织活动,提请人们注意保留地的心理健康以及吸毒和酗酒问题,清理当地公园,建立和加强与长者的关系,并确保他们可以通过保留地的课程学习他们的文化习俗,如串珠和烹饪。 青年委员会的努力最近登上了本月《Confederated Umatilla Journal》(CUJ) 的第 4 页,其中包括核心小组理事会获奖的照片! CTUIR青年领导委员会今年刚刚成为ROP成员,许多核心会议参与者都表示,与理事会成员讨论他们的组织是今年核心会议的一大亮点!如果您想了解更多有关青年领导委员会拆除蛇河下游四个水坝的强大运动的信息, 在change.org 上查看他们的请愿书

林恩本顿全国有色人种协进会

约 30 名全国有色人种协进会林恩·本顿 (Linn Benton) 成员穿着蓝色 T 恤在一棵大树下拍照留念

全国有色人种协进会林恩·本顿 成立于 1971 年,旨在实现全国有色人种协进会的使命,即确保所有人的政治、教育、社会和经济权利平等,并消除基于种族的歧视。

该分支机构设有多个委员会,包括政治行动、住房、健康和保健以及社区协调。全国有色人种协进会林恩·本顿 (Linn Benton) 还举办六月节和未来领袖联盟等年度活动,这是为 5 岁至 18 岁的黑人青年赋权、培训和投资的机会。该分会最近的一项组织胜利是呼吁当地 Fred Meyer 的歧视性做法,并成功迫使公司改变做法并投资于员工 DEI(多元化、公平和包容性)培训! 

在今年的核心会议上,许多人有机会与苏珊聊天,苏珊是该分支的成员,她帮助组织了“保护民主:公民巡回培训”,这是去年的一项免费公开活动,聚集了 80 多名社区成员,学习如何保护民主。全年加强民主! 您可以在此 ROPnet 中阅读有关 Civics Circuit Training 的更多信息,或者继续关注 Susan 的详细文章和指南,了解在您的社区举办类似活动会是什么样子! 

停止扫描

白色横幅上有黑色字母,全部大写写着“停止扫荡”。

Stop the Sweeps 是本顿县的一个组织,该组织于 2020 年冬天对科瓦利斯的一个无安置营地进行了一次特别残酷的扫荡(强行解散营地并移走个人及其财产)。

由于对那些因扫荡而流离失所的人缺乏支持感到震惊,一群人尽其所能帮助人们搬家并满足其他紧急需求。意识到他们需要与无家可归的邻居建立信任和关系,该小组开始在当地公园每周烹饪两次并提供餐食,并与他们为之做饭的人们一起吃饭和闲逛。他们将自己命名为“停止扫荡”,并继续为无家可归的社区成员提供定期膳食和资源。去年夏天,当极端气温导致没有庇护所的情况变得特别危险时,“停止清扫”组织每周都会提供凉爽的水、防晒霜和其他用品。该组织还与本顿县其他组织合作,向该市和 ODOT 施加压力,要求其暂停或结束扫荡。

中谷团结联盟

人们举起奖品合影留念。

谷中团结联盟于 2020 年成立,作为一个空间,在总统选举后权力不能顺利过渡的情况下,为当地民间社会的应对制定战略。选举和 1 月 6 日的事件之后,该组织决定继续扩大其范围,目标是改善林恩县和本顿县当地进步派和左翼运动团体之间的合作。团结联盟的愿景是建立一个代表广泛进步和左翼观点的强大社区;团结起来要求正义,改善社会条件,结束对所有人的压迫。

该小组每月举行一次会议,分享最新情况、号召行动、即将举行的活动和项目,并交换策略和资源。团结联盟一直是当地围绕 ICE 活动快速响应的重要枢纽,可以快速向受过快速响应培训和经验丰富的人员网络传达紧急信息。该团体还举办一年一度的团结博览会,每年春天,当地团体都会聚集在一起,进行一整天的创造力、戏剧和社区建设!

Acompañar

Acompañar 成员在包括玉米饼在内的一袋袋食物前摆姿势。

Acompañar 是林肯县的一个人类尊严组织,成立于 2018 年,旨在为危地马拉寻求庇护者提供预约服务。当新冠疫情爆发时,该组织将重点转向为这些社区成员提供食品和财政支持。

最近,Acompañar 一直与 阿科伊里斯文化中心是一个文化中心,专注于庆祝和支持当地拉丁裔和土著中美洲社区成员,为想要获得驾驶执照的人们组织一系列培训。对于社区中的许多人来说,西班牙语是他们的第二语言,仅次于土著语言,因此参加 DMV 测试存在很大的语言障碍。到目前为止,培训已成功帮助人们获得参加驾驶执照考试所需的技能和信心! Acompañar 和 Arcoíris 还一直在组织提高危地马拉当地土著社区对牙齿健康重要性的认识,他们刚刚完成了一本牙齿健康着色书的制作和印刷!如果您有兴趣获取该书的 pdf 版本,请联系 sidra@rop.org 我们可以帮助您与 Acompañar 联系! 

我们对这些人类尊严团体和全州其他所有团体的组织感到非常鼓舞,他们正在领导俄勒冈州农村和小镇推进人类尊严和民主的运动! 

您的团队或社区中的其他人是否有想要分享的组织故事?这些故事是否会引起疑问或让您渴望开展新的活动?请联系 Sidra 让我们知道 sidra@rop.org!请务必继续关注今年核心小组的更多精彩故事、策略和资源! 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

2023 Human Dignity Award Winners!

Each year at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, ROP gives Human Dignity Awards to several groups to lift up and celebrate the powerful organizing they have done over the past year in their communities. This year, we gathered for the Caucus on May 20th in Albany to swap stories, build community, and strategize for the coming year. We’ll be sharing much more about what came out of this year’s Caucus in several upcoming ROPnets, but first, let’s celebrate this year’s Human Dignity Award winners! 

2023 Human Dignity Awards

Albany Peace Seekers

Members of Albany Peace Seekers stand on a sidewalk holding signs that read "Peace in Harney" and "We love Malheur."

Albany Peace Seekers (APS) have been active in Linn County for 20 years, starting in 2003 when they began organizing street protests to promote peace. 

APS has been deeply engaged with local high schools and the broader community through many years-long campaigns and projects. Since 2009, the group has given Peace Awards and scholarships to three graduating seniors and Peacemaker Awards to students, faculty, and staff at three different high schools.

APS has been an ROP human dignity group for two decades. They have participated and taken the lead in many ROP campaigns, from hosting the Caucus in 2010, to distributing STAND election guides and having conversations with neighbors in support of democracy every election since 2010, to hosting the Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity exhibit this past year. The group recently lost two beloved members, Sharron Geesler and Don Ray, who passed away. They were passionate, dedicated organizers who will always be remembered. We couldn’t possibly capture all that APS has done and continues to organize around, so if you didn’t get a chance to catch up with them at this year’s Caucus, make sure to find one of the members at next year’s Caucus and find out all that they’re up to! 

CTUIR Youth Leadership Council

10 people pose for a photo in regalia lifting up their award.

The Confederated Tribes of Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Youth Leadership Council has been leading a campaign to breach and eventually remove the lower four Snake River Dams to protect salmon populations. Members of the Youth Leadership Council, who are all in Middle or High School, have been traveling to conferences and convenings to spread the word about their campaign and share about the cultural and environmental importance of healthy salmon populations. This spring they also traveled to DC to meet with legislators! 

In addition to their campaign to remove the dams, the Youth Leadership Council is organizing to draw attention to mental health and drug and alcohol use on the reservation, to clean up local parks, to build and strengthen relationships with elders, and to make sure they can learn their cultural practices like beading and cooking through classes on the reservation. The Youth Council’s efforts were recently featured on page 4 of this month’s Confederated Umatilla Journal (CUJ), which includes a photo of the council at the Caucus receiving their award! CTUIR Youth Leadership Council just became a member of ROP this year, and so many Caucus participants have shared that talking with the council members about their organizing was a highlight of this year’s Caucus! If you want to learn more about the Youth Leadership Council’s powerful campaign to remove the four lower Snake River Dams, check out their petition here on change.org

Linn Benton NAACP

About 30 members of the Linn Benton NAACP pose for a photo wearing blue t-shirts under a large tree

The Linn Benton NAACP was founded in 1971 to pursue the mission of the NAACP, which is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.

The branch has several committees, including political action, housing, health and wellness, and community coordination. The Linn Benton NAACP also hosts annual events like Juneteenth and a League of Future Leaders, which is an opportunity to empower, train, and invest in Black youth between the ages of 5 and 18. One recent organizing victory by the branch was to call out a local Fred Meyer for discriminatory practices and successfully pressure the company to change their practices and invest in DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) trainings for their employees! 

At this year’s Caucus, many folks got a chance to chat with Susan, a member of the branch who helped organize Protecting Democracy: Civics Circuit Training, a free and public event last year that brought together more than 80 community members to learn how to protect and strengthen democracy year-round! You can read more about the Civics Circuit Training in this ROPnet, or stay tuned for a detailed write-up and guide from Susan about what it could look like to host a similar event in your community! 

Stop the Sweeps

A white banner with black letters reads "Stop the sweeps" in all caps.

Stop the Sweeps is a Benton County group that came together around a particularly brutal sweep of an unhoused camp (a forced disbanding of an encampment and the removal of individuals and their property) in Corvallis in the winter of 2020.

Alarmed by the lack of support for those being uprooted by the sweeps, a group of people did what they could to help folks move and meet other immediate needs. Realizing they needed to build trust and relationships with their unhoused neighbors, the group began cooking and serving twice-weekly meals in a local park, and eating and hanging out with the folks they were making food for. They named themselves Stop the Sweeps, and have been continuing to provide regular meals and supply resources for houseless community members. Last summer, when extreme temperatures made for particularly dangerous conditions without shelter, Stop the Sweeps did weekly cooler drops of water, sunscreen, and other supplies. The group has also been collaborating with other Benton County groups to put pressure on the city and ODOT to pause or put an end to sweeps.

Mid-Valley Solidarity Coalition

People pose for a photo lifting up their award.

The Mid-Valley Solidarity Coalition came together in 2020 as a space to strategize about a local civil society response if there was not a smooth transition of power after the presidential election. After the election and the events of January 6th, the group decided to continue and broaden its scope, with the goal of improving collaboration between local progressive and left movement groups in Linn and Benton Counties. The Solidarity Coalition has a vision of a powerful community representing a broad range of progressive and leftist perspectives; standing together to demand justice, improve social conditions, and bring an end to the oppression of all people.

The group meets monthly to share, updates, calls to action, upcoming events and projects, and swap strategies and resources. The Solidarity Coalition has been an important hub for local rapid response around ICE activity and can quickly communicate urgent messages out to a network of folks who are trained and experienced in rapid response. The group also hosts an annual solidarity fair, an event that brings local groups together each spring for a full day of creativity, theater, and community-building!

Acompañar

Members of Acompañar pose in front of bags of food that include tortillas.

Acompañar is a human dignity group in Lincoln County that was founded in 2018 to provide rides to appointments for Guatemalan asylum seekers. When the COVID pandemic hit, the group shifted focus to providing food and financial support to these community members.

Recently, Acompañar has been working closely with Arcoíris Cultural, a cultural center focused on celebrating and supporting local Latinx and indigenous Mesoamerican community members, to organize a series of trainings for folks wanting to obtain their driver’s license. For many in the community, Spanish is their second language, after their indigenous language, so there are significant language barriers to taking the DMV test. So far, the trainings have been successful in helping folks gain the skills and confidence they need to take driver’s license permit tests! Acompañar and Arcoíris have also been organizing to raise awareness about the importance of dental health in the local indigenous Guatemalan community, and they just finished creating and printing a dental health coloring book! If you’re interested in getting the pdf version of the book, reach out to sidra@rop.org and we can get you connected with Acompañar! 

We are so inspired by the organizing of these human dignity groups and all the rest across the state that are leading the movement to advance human dignity and democracy in rural and small-town Oregon! 

Do you have an organizing story from your group or another in your community that you’d like to share? Do any of these stories bring up questions or make you eager to take on a new campaign? Let us know by reaching out to Sidra at sidra@rop.org! And be sure to stay tuned for more exciting stories, strategies, and resources coming out of this year’s Caucus! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English