الفائزون بجائزة الكرامة الإنسانية لعام 2023!

في كل عام في جلسة التجمع الريفي والاستراتيجية ، تمنح شرطة عمان السلطانية جوائز الكرامة الإنسانية للعديد من المجموعات للارتقاء والاحتفال بالتنظيم القوي الذي قاموا به خلال العام الماضي في مجتمعاتهم. هذا العام ، اجتمعنا في المؤتمر الحزبي يوم 20 مايو في ألباني لتبادل القصص ، وبناء المجتمع ، ووضع الإستراتيجيات للعام المقبل. سنقوم بمشاركة المزيد حول ما تمخض عنه المؤتمر الوزاري لهذا العام في العديد من شبكات ROPnets القادمة ، ولكن أولاً ، دعونا نحتفل بالفائزين بجائزة كرامة الإنسان لهذا العام! 

2023 جوائز الكرامة الإنسانية

طالبي السلام ألباني

يقف أعضاء منظمة "طالبي السلام في ألباني" على الرصيف حاملين لافتات كتب عليها "السلام في هارني" و "نحب مالهير".

نشط ألباني للسلام (APS) في مقاطعة لين لمدة 20 عامًا ، بدءًا من عام 2003 عندما بدأوا في تنظيم احتجاجات في الشوارع لتعزيز السلام. 

شاركت APS بعمق مع المدارس الثانوية المحلية والمجتمع الأوسع من خلال العديد من الحملات والمشاريع التي استمرت لسنوات. منذ عام 2009 ، قدمت المجموعة جوائز السلام والمنح الدراسية لثلاثة من كبار السن المتخرجين وجوائز صانع السلام للطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين في ثلاث مدارس ثانوية مختلفة.

كانت APS مجموعة كرامة إنسانية تابعة لشرطة عمان السلطانية على مدى عقدين من الزمن. لقد شاركوا وأخذوا زمام المبادرة في العديد من حملات شرطة عمان السلطانية ، من استضافة التجمع في عام 2010 ، إلى توزيع أدلة انتخابات STAND وإجراء محادثات مع الجيران لدعم الديمقراطية في كل انتخابات منذ عام 2010 ، إلى استضافة معرض سد الانقسامات والدفاع عن الكرامة في العام الماضي . فقدت المجموعة مؤخرًا عضوين محبوبين ، شارون جيسلر ودون راي ، اللذان وافيا المنية. لقد كانوا منظمين شغوفين ومتفانين وسيظل ذكرهم دائمًا. لم نتمكن من التقاط كل ما فعلته وكالة الأنباء الجزائرية وما زالت تنظم حولها ، لذا إذا لم تتح لك فرصة اللحاق بهم في المؤتمر التجمعي لهذا العام ، فتأكد من العثور على أحد الأعضاء في المؤتمر العام المقبل والعثور على من كل ما يخططون له! 

مجلس قيادة الشباب CTUIR

10 أشخاص يقفون لالتقاط صورة في حفل رسمي يرفعون جائزتهم.

يقود مجلس القيادة الشبابية للقبائل الكونفدرالية في محمية أوماتيلا الهندية (CTUIR) حملة لخرق سدود نهر الأفعى الأربعة السفلية وإزالتها في نهاية المطاف لحماية تجمعات السلمون. يسافر أعضاء مجلس القيادة الشبابية ، وجميعهم في المدرسة الإعدادية أو الثانوية ، لحضور المؤتمرات والاجتماعات لنشر الكلمة حول حملتهم وتبادل المعلومات حول الأهمية الثقافية والبيئية لمجموعات السلمون الصحية. سافروا هذا الربيع أيضًا إلى العاصمة للقاء المشرعين! 

بالإضافة إلى حملتهم لإزالة السدود ، ينظم مجلس قيادة الشباب للفت الانتباه إلى الصحة العقلية وتعاطي المخدرات والكحول في المحمية ، وتنظيف الحدائق المحلية ، وبناء العلاقات مع كبار السن وتعزيزها ، والتأكد من أنهم يمكنهم تعلم ممارساتهم الثقافية مثل الديكور والطبخ من خلال دروس في المحمية. ظهرت جهود مجلس الشباب مؤخرًا على الصفحة 4 من مجلة كونفدرالية أوماتيلا (CUJ) لهذا الشهر، والتي تتضمن صورة للمجلس في التجمع وهم يستلمون جائزتهم! أصبح مجلس قيادة الشباب CTUIR عضوًا في ROP هذا العام ، وقد شارك العديد من المشاركين في التجمع أن التحدث مع أعضاء المجلس حول تنظيمهم كان من أبرز الأحداث في التجمع لهذا العام! إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد عن الحملة القوية لمجلس قيادة الشباب لإزالة سدود نهر الأفعى السفلية الأربعة ، تحقق من عريضتهم هنا على موقع change.org

لين بينتون NAACP

حوالي 30 عضوًا من Linn Benton NAACP يقفون لالتقاط صورة وهم يرتدون قمصانًا زرقاء تحت شجرة كبيرة

لين بينتون NAACP تأسست في 1971 لمتابعة مهمة NAACP ، وهي ضمان المساواة السياسية والتعليمية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية في الحقوق لجميع الأشخاص والقضاء على التمييز على أساس العرق.

وللفرع عدة لجان منها العمل السياسي ، والإسكان ، والصحة والعافية ، والتنسيق المجتمعي. يستضيف Linn Benton NAACP أيضًا أحداثًا سنوية مثل Juneteenth و League of Future Leaders ، وهي فرصة لتمكين الشباب السود الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 5 و 18 عامًا وتدريبهم والاستثمار فيهم. فريد ماير المحلي بسبب الممارسات التمييزية والضغط بنجاح على الشركة لتغيير ممارساتها والاستثمار في تدريبات DEI (التنوع والإنصاف والشمول) لموظفيها! 

في مؤتمر هذا العام ، حصل العديد من الأشخاص على فرصة للدردشة مع سوزان ، وهي عضو في الفرع الذي ساعد في تنظيم حماية الديمقراطية: تدريب حلبة المدنية ، وهو حدث مجاني وعام العام الماضي جمع أكثر من 80 فردًا من أفراد المجتمع لتعلم كيفية الحماية. وتقوية الديمقراطية على مدار العام! يمكنك قراءة المزيد عن تدريب دائرة المدنيات في شبكة ROPnet هذه، أو ترقبوا كتابًا تفصيليًا ودليلًا من سوزان حول ما يمكن أن يبدو عليه استضافة حدث مماثل في مجتمعك! 

أوقف عمليات المسح

لافتة بيضاء بحروف سوداء مكتوب عليها "أوقفوا الاحتلالات" بأحرف كبيرة.

Stop the Sweeps هي مجموعة مقاطعة بينتون التي اجتمعت حول عملية اكتساح وحشية بشكل خاص لمخيم غير مأوى (حل قسري لمخيم وإزالة الأفراد وممتلكاتهم) في كورفاليس في شتاء عام 2020.

بسبب الانزعاج من عدم وجود دعم لأولئك الذين اقتلعتهم عمليات التمشيط ، بذلت مجموعة من الناس ما في وسعهم لمساعدة الناس على التحرك وتلبية الاحتياجات الفورية الأخرى. أدركت المجموعة أنها بحاجة إلى بناء الثقة والعلاقات مع جيرانها غير المسكنين ، وبدأت في الطهي وتقديم وجبات مرتين في الأسبوع في حديقة محلية ، وتناول الطعام والتسكع مع الأشخاص الذين كانوا يصنعون الطعام من أجلهم. أطلقوا على أنفسهم اسم Stop the Sweeps ، واستمروا في تقديم وجبات منتظمة وموارد الإمداد لأفراد المجتمع الذين لا مأوى لهم. في الصيف الماضي ، عندما أدت درجات الحرارة القصوى إلى ظروف خطرة بشكل خاص دون مأوى ، قامت شركة Stop the Sweeps بعمل قطرات أسبوعية من الماء ، واقي من الشمس ، وإمدادات أخرى. تتعاون المجموعة أيضًا مع مجموعات مقاطعة بنتون الأخرى للضغط على المدينة و ODOT للتوقف مؤقتًا أو وضع حد لعمليات الكنس.

تحالف وسط الوادي التضامني

الناس يقفون لالتقاط صورة يرفعون جائزتهم.

اجتمع تحالف منتصف الوادي للتضامن في عام 2020 كمساحة لوضع إستراتيجيات حول استجابة المجتمع المدني المحلي إذا لم يكن هناك انتقال سلس للسلطة بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية. بعد الانتخابات وأحداث 6 يناير ، قررت المجموعة مواصلة وتوسيع نطاقها ، بهدف تحسين التعاون بين مجموعات الحركة التقدمية واليسارية المحلية في مقاطعتي لين وبنتون. تحالف التضامن لديه رؤية لمجتمع قوي يمثل مجموعة واسعة من وجهات النظر التقدمية واليسارية. الوقوف معا للمطالبة بالعدالة وتحسين الظروف الاجتماعية ووضع حد لاضطهاد كل الناس.

تجتمع المجموعة شهريًا للمشاركة والتحديثات والدعوات إلى العمل والأحداث والمشاريع القادمة واستراتيجيات ومبادلة الموارد. لقد كان تحالف التضامن مركزًا مهمًا للاستجابة المحلية السريعة حول نشاط شركة ICE ويمكنه توصيل الرسائل العاجلة بسرعة إلى شبكة من الأشخاص المدربين وذوي الخبرة في الاستجابة السريعة. تستضيف المجموعة أيضًا معرضًا سنويًا للتضامن ، وهو حدث يجمع المجموعات المحلية معًا كل ربيع ليوم كامل من الإبداع والمسرح وبناء المجتمع!

أكومبانار

يقف أعضاء Acompañar أمام أكياس الطعام التي تحتوي على خبز التورتيلا.

Acompañar هي مجموعة كرامة إنسانية في مقاطعة لينكولن تأسست عام 2018 لتوفير رحلات لمواعيد لطالبي اللجوء من غواتيمالا. عندما ضرب جائحة COVID ، حولت المجموعة تركيزها إلى توفير الغذاء والدعم المالي لأفراد المجتمع هؤلاء.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، يعمل Acompañar بشكل وثيق مع Arcoíris الثقافية، وهو مركز ثقافي يركز على الاحتفال بأعضاء مجتمع أمريكا اللاتينية وأمريكا اللاتينية الأصليين ودعمهم ، لتنظيم سلسلة من التدريبات للأشخاص الراغبين في الحصول على رخصة قيادتهم. بالنسبة للكثيرين في المجتمع ، اللغة الإسبانية هي لغتهم الثانية ، بعد لغتهم الأصلية ، لذلك توجد حواجز لغوية كبيرة أمام إجراء اختبار DMV. حتى الآن ، نجحت التدريبات في مساعدة الناس على اكتساب المهارات والثقة التي يحتاجونها لإجراء اختبارات رخصة القيادة! قام Acompañar و Arcoíris بالتنظيم أيضًا لرفع مستوى الوعي حول أهمية صحة الأسنان في المجتمع المحلي الغواتيمالي ، وقد انتهوا للتو من إنشاء وطباعة كتاب تلوين صحة الأسنان! إذا كنت مهتمًا بالحصول على نسخة pdf من الكتاب ، فتواصل مع sidra@rop.org ويمكننا توصيلك بـ Acompañar! 

نحن مستوحون جدًا من تنظيم مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية هذه وكل الآخرين في جميع أنحاء الولاية الذين يقودون الحركة لتعزيز الكرامة الإنسانية والديمقراطية في المناطق الريفية وبلدة أوريغون الصغيرة! 

هل لديك قصة منظمة من مجموعتك أو مجموعة أخرى في مجتمعك ترغب في مشاركتها؟ هل تثير أي من هذه القصص أسئلة أو تجعلك متشوقًا للقيام بحملة جديدة؟ أخبرنا عن طريق التواصل مع مركز السدرة على sidra@rop.org! وتأكد من ترقب المزيد من القصص والاستراتيجيات والموارد الأكثر إثارة التي ستصدر عن المؤتمر الانتخابي لهذا العام! 

العربية

2023 Human Dignity Award Winners!

Each year at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, ROP gives Human Dignity Awards to several groups to lift up and celebrate the powerful organizing they have done over the past year in their communities. This year, we gathered for the Caucus on May 20th in Albany to swap stories, build community, and strategize for the coming year. We’ll be sharing much more about what came out of this year’s Caucus in several upcoming ROPnets, but first, let’s celebrate this year’s Human Dignity Award winners! 

2023 Human Dignity Awards

Albany Peace Seekers

Members of Albany Peace Seekers stand on a sidewalk holding signs that read "Peace in Harney" and "We love Malheur."

Albany Peace Seekers (APS) have been active in Linn County for 20 years, starting in 2003 when they began organizing street protests to promote peace. 

APS has been deeply engaged with local high schools and the broader community through many years-long campaigns and projects. Since 2009, the group has given Peace Awards and scholarships to three graduating seniors and Peacemaker Awards to students, faculty, and staff at three different high schools.

APS has been an ROP human dignity group for two decades. They have participated and taken the lead in many ROP campaigns, from hosting the Caucus in 2010, to distributing STAND election guides and having conversations with neighbors in support of democracy every election since 2010, to hosting the Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity exhibit this past year. The group recently lost two beloved members, Sharron Geesler and Don Ray, who passed away. They were passionate, dedicated organizers who will always be remembered. We couldn’t possibly capture all that APS has done and continues to organize around, so if you didn’t get a chance to catch up with them at this year’s Caucus, make sure to find one of the members at next year’s Caucus and find out all that they’re up to! 

CTUIR Youth Leadership Council

10 people pose for a photo in regalia lifting up their award.

The Confederated Tribes of Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) Youth Leadership Council has been leading a campaign to breach and eventually remove the lower four Snake River Dams to protect salmon populations. Members of the Youth Leadership Council, who are all in Middle or High School, have been traveling to conferences and convenings to spread the word about their campaign and share about the cultural and environmental importance of healthy salmon populations. This spring they also traveled to DC to meet with legislators! 

In addition to their campaign to remove the dams, the Youth Leadership Council is organizing to draw attention to mental health and drug and alcohol use on the reservation, to clean up local parks, to build and strengthen relationships with elders, and to make sure they can learn their cultural practices like beading and cooking through classes on the reservation. The Youth Council’s efforts were recently featured on page 4 of this month’s Confederated Umatilla Journal (CUJ), which includes a photo of the council at the Caucus receiving their award! CTUIR Youth Leadership Council just became a member of ROP this year, and so many Caucus participants have shared that talking with the council members about their organizing was a highlight of this year’s Caucus! If you want to learn more about the Youth Leadership Council’s powerful campaign to remove the four lower Snake River Dams, check out their petition here on change.org

Linn Benton NAACP

About 30 members of the Linn Benton NAACP pose for a photo wearing blue t-shirts under a large tree

The Linn Benton NAACP was founded in 1971 to pursue the mission of the NAACP, which is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.

The branch has several committees, including political action, housing, health and wellness, and community coordination. The Linn Benton NAACP also hosts annual events like Juneteenth and a League of Future Leaders, which is an opportunity to empower, train, and invest in Black youth between the ages of 5 and 18. One recent organizing victory by the branch was to call out a local Fred Meyer for discriminatory practices and successfully pressure the company to change their practices and invest in DEI (Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion) trainings for their employees! 

At this year’s Caucus, many folks got a chance to chat with Susan, a member of the branch who helped organize Protecting Democracy: Civics Circuit Training, a free and public event last year that brought together more than 80 community members to learn how to protect and strengthen democracy year-round! You can read more about the Civics Circuit Training in this ROPnet, or stay tuned for a detailed write-up and guide from Susan about what it could look like to host a similar event in your community! 

Stop the Sweeps

A white banner with black letters reads "Stop the sweeps" in all caps.

Stop the Sweeps is a Benton County group that came together around a particularly brutal sweep of an unhoused camp (a forced disbanding of an encampment and the removal of individuals and their property) in Corvallis in the winter of 2020.

Alarmed by the lack of support for those being uprooted by the sweeps, a group of people did what they could to help folks move and meet other immediate needs. Realizing they needed to build trust and relationships with their unhoused neighbors, the group began cooking and serving twice-weekly meals in a local park, and eating and hanging out with the folks they were making food for. They named themselves Stop the Sweeps, and have been continuing to provide regular meals and supply resources for houseless community members. Last summer, when extreme temperatures made for particularly dangerous conditions without shelter, Stop the Sweeps did weekly cooler drops of water, sunscreen, and other supplies. The group has also been collaborating with other Benton County groups to put pressure on the city and ODOT to pause or put an end to sweeps.

Mid-Valley Solidarity Coalition

People pose for a photo lifting up their award.

The Mid-Valley Solidarity Coalition came together in 2020 as a space to strategize about a local civil society response if there was not a smooth transition of power after the presidential election. After the election and the events of January 6th, the group decided to continue and broaden its scope, with the goal of improving collaboration between local progressive and left movement groups in Linn and Benton Counties. The Solidarity Coalition has a vision of a powerful community representing a broad range of progressive and leftist perspectives; standing together to demand justice, improve social conditions, and bring an end to the oppression of all people.

The group meets monthly to share, updates, calls to action, upcoming events and projects, and swap strategies and resources. The Solidarity Coalition has been an important hub for local rapid response around ICE activity and can quickly communicate urgent messages out to a network of folks who are trained and experienced in rapid response. The group also hosts an annual solidarity fair, an event that brings local groups together each spring for a full day of creativity, theater, and community-building!

Acompañar

Members of Acompañar pose in front of bags of food that include tortillas.

Acompañar is a human dignity group in Lincoln County that was founded in 2018 to provide rides to appointments for Guatemalan asylum seekers. When the COVID pandemic hit, the group shifted focus to providing food and financial support to these community members.

Recently, Acompañar has been working closely with Arcoíris Cultural, a cultural center focused on celebrating and supporting local Latinx and indigenous Mesoamerican community members, to organize a series of trainings for folks wanting to obtain their driver’s license. For many in the community, Spanish is their second language, after their indigenous language, so there are significant language barriers to taking the DMV test. So far, the trainings have been successful in helping folks gain the skills and confidence they need to take driver’s license permit tests! Acompañar and Arcoíris have also been organizing to raise awareness about the importance of dental health in the local indigenous Guatemalan community, and they just finished creating and printing a dental health coloring book! If you’re interested in getting the pdf version of the book, reach out to sidra@rop.org and we can get you connected with Acompañar! 

We are so inspired by the organizing of these human dignity groups and all the rest across the state that are leading the movement to advance human dignity and democracy in rural and small-town Oregon! 

Do you have an organizing story from your group or another in your community that you’d like to share? Do any of these stories bring up questions or make you eager to take on a new campaign? Let us know by reaching out to Sidra at sidra@rop.org! And be sure to stay tuned for more exciting stories, strategies, and resources coming out of this year’s Caucus! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English