2012 – 2013 年 ROP 董事会

欢迎来到 ROP 董事会 2012-2013 年名单!运行农村组织项目需要心血、激情和精神,今年我们董事会的名单包含所有这些,甚至更多! 

继续阅读以了解更多关于我们的 3 位凯西/凯西斯的信息,她曾前往华盛顿会见华登众议员的办公室,并帮助俄勒冈州的居住者填补了华登众议员的办公室。

ROP 成员组将在今年的董事会名单上投票 5 月 12 日农村核心小组和战略会议.如果您还没有收到我们周末伍德本活动的登记表, 下载表格 今天就去做吧!请加入我们的年度核心小组。

2012-2013 ROP 板岩
在偶数年,偶数席位可供投票。 

地区席位
区域 1:Rennie Ferris – 纽波特
区域 2:Yesenia Sanchez – 圣海伦斯
区域 3:史蒂夫米利根 - 蒙茅斯
地区 4:Cathy Rion-胡德河
地区 5:弗兰克罗阿 - 乌马蒂拉和莫罗县
区域 6:Kathy Paterno – Powell Butte 和俄勒冈州中部
地区 7:帕特里克·弗罗曼(Patrick Vroman)——克拉马斯县和俄勒冈东南部

一般会员席位
位置 8:罗莎莉佩德罗萨 - 特纳
位置 9:Cathy Howell-Salem
位置 10:玛格丽特·鲍尔 - 普林维尔
位置 11:比尔·惠特克-拉格兰德
位置 12:Arlene Amaya-克拉马斯县
位置 13:

Arlene Amaya-克拉马斯县
Arlene Amaya 于 2011 年秋季在 Occupy Klamath Falls 会议上参与了 ROP。然后她代表 ROP 参加了华盛顿特区占领的劳工代表团,然后加入了拉丁裔咨询委员会,并帮助规划了 ROP 的第二届年度农村拉丁裔领导务虚会。她的智慧和对社会变革的热情闪耀着光芒。她谈到小镇组织“我很欣赏克拉马斯瀑布,因为我们处理可以在当地完成的事情。对我来说,这更现实——我们可能无法一次彻底检修整个系统,但我们可以通过有效和战略性的方式做出改变。”她目前正在攻读教师学位,希望有一天能回到她父母来自的萨尔瓦多农村,为那些寻求教育的人提供教育机会。

比尔·惠特克-拉格兰德
我们自己的 Mad as Hell Doctor,社会工作博士,也就是说,比尔 50 多年来一直是社会正义的拥护者。作为俄亥俄州的福利权利组织者,他共同创立了怀俄明州 WIC 联盟、缅因州粮食安全联盟和爱达荷州不同信仰饥饿联盟,比尔对更美好世界的信念使他从大学课堂走到了社区激励学生和其他组织者将他们的热情付诸行动。比尔目前在农村组织项目的董事会中代表俄勒冈农村行动,并与他的妻子谢丽尔住在俄勒冈州拉格兰德。

凯茜豪威尔-塞勒姆
Cathy Howell 刚刚从 AFL-CIO 退休,她自 1997 年以来一直担任现场组织者和领导力发展协调员。在加入 AFL-CIO 之前,她在俄勒冈州和美国南部担任社区和问题组织者 20 多年。她在宾夕法尼亚州西部的一个贵格会州立炼油厂小镇长大,现在住在马里恩县的塞勒姆。她热衷于社会和经济正义并组织人们为公平而战,并期待在退休后花时间在马里恩县建立和加强人类尊严组织。

Cathy Rion-胡德河
Cathy Rion 将她对正义的热情与她的信仰结合在一起。她担任位于俄勒冈州胡德河的中哥伦比亚 UU 奖学金的半职顾问部长,并与她的搭档希瑟·斯塔尔牧师住在俄勒冈州本德。 2011 年,她在夏洛特的大会上担任青年牧师和崇拜协调员。凯茜的背景是在加利福尼亚州与青年一起为种族正义组织社区。凯茜为她的事工带来了对正义、建立关系和反种族主义的热情,以及对音乐、巧克力和笑声的热爱。 

Frank Roa-莫罗县和尤马蒂拉县
由于年轻时面临残疾,弗兰克决定回到俄勒冈州东部小镇伊里根(人口为 1,702 人)的农村根源和家庭。这是回家的好时机。作为美国贫困和农村地区的 HIV 阳性拉丁裔男同性恋者,他知道如果他想要服务,他将需要建立这些服务。这成为了 Umatilla Morrow Alternatives 的开始——一个由愿景转变的组织,很快就出现在该地区最大报纸的头版。

凯西·帕特诺-鲍威尔·巴特
在过去的三年里,凯西和她 42 岁的丈夫菲尔住在克鲁克县的鲍威尔巴特。他们为俄勒冈州中部的正义与和平而共同努力,并且是克鲁克县重振人类尊严组织人类尊严倡导者的创始领导者之一。凯西的政治觉醒发生在 9/11 之后,当时“GW 要求我们振作起来去购物,然后继续操纵我们国家的悲伤成为战争的原因。他把我变成了一个激进分子——一个愤怒的奶奶!”凯西是俄勒冈州中部七人党的成员,因拒绝离开国会议员格雷格沃尔登的办公室而被捕,直到他在人民战争市政厅的 Co$t 之后听取了他的选民的证词。多年来,凯西一直在履行这一责任,去年她帮助协调了“占领国会第 2 区”。

玛格丽特·鲍尔-普林维尔
玛格丽特·鲍尔 (Margret Ball) 所做的每一件事都带着她的真挚和幽默。她是俄勒冈州普林维尔的长期居民。虽然她可能会向你声称她不喜欢与人交谈,但实际上玛格丽特带头组织了当地小组的“欢迎旅行车”——在 2010 年初,她不遗余力地联系并拜访了小组的每一位成员,以了解他们关心的问题,他们在这场经济危机中的表现如何,并重新将他们与当地的人类尊严团体联系起来。如果您是会议或活动中的新人,Margret 会在那里欢迎您并邀请您加入。这不仅适用于人们,而且她收藏的 13 只猫代表了她希望确保每个人都有家的愿望——无论是用于组织和社区建设,或者只是一个放置毛茸茸头的地方。

帕特里克·弗罗曼-克拉马斯瀑布
ROP 第一次见到帕特里克,当时他刚刚参加克拉马斯盆地和平论坛,挑战伊拉克战争。从那以后,帕特里克在他的家乡为自己赢得了名声,帮助推出了克拉马斯盆地 Lambdas 和克拉马斯 PFLAG(男女同性恋者的父母、朋友和家人),并一直寻求机会在整个社区建立关系以加强他们的地方组织正义。

雷尼·费里斯-纽波特
是什么促使园艺师在林肯县从一份工作赶到另一份工作中,让客户搁置,以便他可以开车 6 小时往返参加俄勒冈州立银行的听证会,或者亲自将战争成本市政厅 DVD 交付给他的代表?激情——雷尼用心引领。一个强壮的男人,拥有一个劳动者的大手,这是一次罕见的会议,他不会通过眼泪来表达自己的观点,他的观点总是将问题之间的点联系起来,并支持最远离正义的人。雷尼确实不辜负他作为“林肯县过度投入的志愿者”的签名!

罗莎莉·佩德罗萨-特纳
当你见到罗莎莉时,很有可能她会自豪地穿着她工会 SEIU 503 的紫色和黄色,她在董事会任职,自 1990 年以来一直是每份合同的谈判代表。罗莎莉将她对民主的热情融入她与同事一起组织工作,并通过她对移民公平和全球正义的大力支持向公众开放,这使她从特纳的农村家庭到委内瑞拉和哥伦比亚成为公平贸易代表。用她自己的话来说,罗莎莉“找到了前所未有的方法来接触她的邻居,并围绕问题组织起来,而不仅仅是聚会,这样我们就可以开始让人们看到我们所面临的极端情况。”

史蒂夫·米利根-蒙茅斯
史蒂夫大约 20 年前通过德克萨斯州和加利福尼亚州来到俄勒冈州,一路寻找机会组织民主和正义。史蒂夫目前在蒙茅斯市安家,他从 2003 年到 2010 年在那里担任市议员,目前正在竞选县专员。史蒂夫曾在数据库管理和印刷行业工作,拥有一家天然食品店,并制造草药。史蒂夫现在要回学校去拿会计证书。他致力于在不同社区成员之间寻找共同点,并寻找机会建立更强大的当地经济。他活跃于 ROP 人类尊严组织 Polk Café Commons。

Yesenia Sanchez-哥伦比亚县
Yesenia 有两个她一生的挚爱:唱歌和组织,但尚未将它们付诸实践。她是墨西哥移民的女儿,当她听说 2009 年哥伦比亚县通过了 5-190 措施并成为拉丁裔 Unidos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor 的主席时,她参与了当地组织。通过 LUFM 和 March for Dignity,她了解了 ROP 的工作,并决定与拉丁裔社区合作和组织是她的热情所在。从那以后她就一直参与其中。在俄勒冈大学 El Movimiento Estudiantil Chican@de Aztlan (MEChA) 组织一个奇卡诺/拉丁裔学生组织,与青年和她的民族研究专业合作,无疑为她的社会正义愿景奠定了背景。她相信组织社会正义和关心你的社区之间存在联系,它是关心他人和在世界上做好事的同义词。

简体中文

2012 – 2013 ROP Board of Directors

Welcome to the ROP Board of Directors Slate for 2012-2013!  It takes heart, passion and spirit to run the Rural Organizing Project and this year’s slate for our Board of Directors has all of that and more! 

Read on to find out more about our 3 Cathy/ Kathys, who’s traveled to DC to meet with Rep. Walden’s office and who’s helped fill Rep. Walden’s office with occupiers back here in Oregon.

ROP member groups will vote on this year’s board slate at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on May 12th. If you haven’t gotten your registration form in for our weekend of activities in Woodburn, download a form and do it today!  Please join us at the annual caucus.

2012-2013 ROP Board Slate
In even number years, even number seats are up for vote. 
 


Regional Seats
Region 1: Rennie Ferris – Newport
Region 2: Yesenia Sanchez – St. Helens
Region 3: Steve Milligan – Monmouth

Region 4: Cathy Rion- Hood River
Region 5: Frank Roa- Umatilla & Morrow Counties
Region 6: Kathy Paterno – Powell Butte & Central Oregon

Region 7: Patrick Vroman – Klamath County and SE Oregon


At-Large Seats

Position 8: Rosalie Pedroza – Turner

Position 9: Cathy Howell- Salem

Position 10: Margret Ball- Prineville

Position 11: Bill Whitaker- La Grande
Position 12: Arlene Amaya- Klamath County
Position 13:

Arlene Amaya- Klamath County
Arlene Amaya got involved with ROP at an Occupy Klamath Falls meeting in the fall of 2011.  She then represented ROP on a labor delegation to Washington DC Occupy, then joined the Latino Advisory Committee and helped to plan ROP’s 2nd annual Rural Latino Leadership Retreat.  Her smarts and passion for social change shine through.  She says about small-town organizing “I appreciate Klamath Falls because we tackle things that can be accomplished locally. To me it’s more realistic – we probably can’t overhaul the entire system at once, but we can make changes by being effective and strategic.”  She is currently pursuing a teaching degree and hopes to go back to rural El Salvador one day, where her parents came from, to give the opportunity of education to those who seek it.

Bill Whitaker- La Grande

Our very own Mad as Hell Doctor, of Social Work, that is, Bill has been a champion of social justice for over 50 years. As a welfare rights organizer in Ohio to co-founding the Wyoming Coalition for WIC, the Maine Coalition For Food Security, and the Idaho Interfaith Coalition on Hunger, Bill’s belief in a better world has led him from the university classroom to the community where he inspires students and fellow organizers alike to put their passion into action. Bill currently represents Oregon Rural Action on the board of Rural Organizing Project and resides with his wife Cheryl in La Grande, Oregon.

Cathy Howell- Salem
Cathy Howell just retired from the AFL-CIO where she has been a field organizer and leadership development coordinator since 1997.  Before joining the AFL-CIO she spent over 20 years as a community and issue organizer in Oregon and in the southern USA.  She grew up in a small Quaker State Refinery town in western Pennsylvania, and now lives in Salem in Marion County.  She is passionate about social and economic justice and organizing people to fight for fairness and is looking forward to spending time post-retirement building and strengthening the human dignity organizing in Marion County.

Cathy Rion- Hood River
Cathy Rion combines her passion for justice with her faith.  She serves as half-time Consulting Minister to the Mid-Columbia UU Fellowship in Hood River, OR, and lives in Bend, OR with her partner, the Rev. Heather Starr.  She was the Young Adult Chaplain and Worship Coordinator at General Assembly in Charlotte in 2011.  Cathy’s background is in community organizing for racial justice with youth in California. Cathy brings a passion for justice, relationship-building, and anti-racism to her ministry, as well as a love of music, chocolate, and laughter. 

Frank Roa- Morrow & Umatilla Counties

Frank decided to return to his rural roots and family in the small Eastern Oregon town of Irrigon (population 1,702) as he faced disability at a young age. It was a good time to go home. As an HIV positive Latino, gay male in poor and rural America, he knew that if he wanted services, he was going to need to set them up. This became the start of Umatilla Morrow Alternatives – a vision turned organization that was soon featured in the front page of the areas largest paper.

Kathy Paterno- Powell Butte

Kathy has lived in Powell Butte, Crook County for the last three decades with her husband of 42 years, Phil. They work together for justice and peace in Central Oregon and are among the founding leadership for the Human Dignity Advocates, Crook County’s revitalized human dignity group. Kathy’s political awakening happened after 9/11 when “GW asked us to cheer up and go shopping, and then went on to manipulate our nation’s sorrow into a cause for war. He turned me into an activist – a raging granny!” Kathy was a member of the Central Oregon Seven, arrested for refusing to leave Congressman Greg Walden’s office until he listened to the testimony of his constituents following the People’s Co$t of War Townhall.  Kathy has continued this accountability over the years and this past year she helped coordinate “Occupy Congressional District 2.”

Margret Ball- Prineville
Margret Ball brings her heart and humor to every thing she does. She is a longtime resident of Prineville, Oregon. While she might claim to you that she doesn’t like talking to people, Margret actually spearheaded her local group’s “Welcome Wagon” effort- tirelessly contacting and visiting every single member of the group in early 2010 to find out what issues they cared about, how they are doing in this economic crisis and re-connecting them to their local human dignity group. If you are new to the room at a meeting or event, Margret is right there welcoming you and inviting you in. This is true not only for people, but her collection of 13 cats represents her desire to make sure everyone has a home- whether for organizing and community building or just a place to lay your furry head.

Patrick Vroman- Klamath Falls
The ROP first met Patrick when he was just getting his activist feet wet with the Klamath Basin Peace Forum, challenging the war in Iraq. Since then Patrick has made a name for himself in his home county, helping to launch the Klamath Basin Lambdas and the Klamath PFLAG (Parents, Friends & Family of Lesbian and Gays), and always seeking opportunities to build relationships across the community to strengthen their local organizing for justice.

Rennie Ferris- Newport

What motivates a landscaper, rushing from job to job in Lincoln County, to put customers on hold so that he can drive 6 hours round trip to participate in hearings for the Oregon State Bank or hand deliver a Cost of War Town Hall dvd to his representative?  Passion – Rennie leads with his heart. A brawny man, with the huge hands of a laborer, it is a rare meeting where he doesn’t make his point through tears and his points always connect the dots between issues and hold up the person furthest removed from justice.  Rennie truly does live up to his signature as the “overcommitted volunteer from Lincoln County”!

Rosalie Pedroza- Turner

When you meet Rosalie, odds are that she’ll be proudly wearing the purple and yellow of her union, SEIU 503, where she serves on the board and has been a bargaining delegate in every contract since 1990. Rosalie brings her passion for democracy into the workplace where she organizes with her fellow workers and out into the public through her strong support for immigration fairness and global justice which has led her from rural home in Turner to Venezuela and Columbia as a fair trade delegate. In her own words, Rosalie has “found ways to reach out to her neighbors as never before, and organize around issues, not just parties, so we can begin to open people’s eyes to the extremes we are facing.”

Steve Milligan- Monmouth

Steve came to Oregon nearly 20 years ago by way of Texas and California seeking opportunities all along the way to organize for democracy and justice.  Steve currently makes his home in the City of Monmouth, where he served as a City Councilor from 2003 through 2010 and is presently running for County Commissioner. Steve has worked in database management and in the printing industry, owned a natural food store, and manufactured herbal remedies. Steve is now going back to school to get an accounting certificate.  He is dedicated to finding common ground among diverse community members, and looking for opportunities to build a stronger local economy. He is active with ROP human dignity group Polk Café Commons.

Yesenia Sanchez- Columbia County
Yesenia has two loves of her life: singing and organizing, but hasn’t put them in practice together yet. She is the daughter of Mexican immigrants who got involved with local organizing when she heard that measure 5-190 had passed in Columbia County in 2009 and became President of Latinos Unidos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor. With LUFM and the March for Dignity she learned about ROP’s work and decided that working with and organizing with Latino communities was her passion. She’s been involved ever since. Organizing at the University of Oregon in el Movimiento Estudiantil Chican@ de Aztlan (MEChA) a Chicano/Latino student organization, working with youth and her major in Ethnic Studies definitely set the background for her vision of social justice. She believes there is a link between organizing for social justice and caring for your community and that it is synonymous to caring for others and doing good in the world.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English