2009 年立法总结——未来的亮点和挑战




2009 年俄勒冈州立法会议以一些显着的胜利结束——通过保护儿童免受骚扰的安全学校立法、资助学校和增加退伍军人福利的预算、改善税收方面的税收公平以及所有反移民立法的失败仅举几例。  这些成功得到了支持 超过 50 名 ROP 成员始终如一地写信、打电话、发送电子邮件和传真,并给编辑写信,以确保我们的优先事项清晰明了。  谢谢你,罗伯斯! 



尽管取得了这些来之不易的胜利,但仍有许多需求未得到满足,面临着多重挑战。  While we appreciate these successes, we must continue to hold our state and our elected representatives accountable to the real needs and priorities of rural Oregonians.  我们继续呼吁我们的立法者展现出所需的骨气,尤其是在这些艰难的经济时期,尽一切努力满足人类需求、支持税收公平、保护公民自由和公民权利以及促进国内外和平。 

民主救助行动日:ROP 于 2009 年 3 月在塞勒姆的俄勒冈州议会大厦组织了民主救助行动日,与 5 个合作伙伴组织、PCUN/CAUSA、美国朋友服务委员会、跨文化组织中心、莱恩县社区联盟和俄勒冈行动。这一天汇集了来自该州各个角落的多语言、多种族和多文化的人群,要求在经济危机时期不要被银行和企业的需求所掩盖。

民主救助行动日平台的重点是停止部署俄勒冈州国民警卫队,停止对移民社区的攻击并保护所有工人,促进俄勒冈州的种族正义、公民权利和公民自由、全民医疗保健和经济正义。 114人参加了行动日,会见了80多位议员。对于许多参与者来说,这是他们第一次访问国会大厦,也是第一次与民选官员会面



.





税收公平: 面对几十年来最严重的经济衰退之一,立法者采取了大胆的措施来保护教育、医疗保健和公共安全等基本服务。  立法者没有增加已经在这场危机中苦苦挣扎的日常俄勒冈人的负担,而是明智地通过了两项关键法案,这些法案将提高税收公平性,并确保大公司和最富有的俄勒冈人承担他们应承担的责任。


立法机构通过的一揽子计划将使学校不必解雇更多教师,并确保老年人能够留在家中。  同时, 大公司最终将支付超过他们自 1931 年以来支付的 $10 最低所得税。

通过通过这些重要的税收公平法案,俄勒冈州立法者确保负担将由在经济中表现良好的人承担,而不是由已经受到最大伤害的家庭和脆弱的俄勒冈州人承担。

让守卫回家的运动: The Campaign to Keep Oregon's National Guard in Oregon kept consistent pressure on our State Reps and Senators as well as forced our elected officials to see the burden of the war on our communities – psychologically, economically, and through loss of life. HB 2556 指示该州部署国民警卫队进行联邦活动,只有在国会颁布有效的情况下。虽然最终竞选未能获得足够的支持以从委员会转移,但 ROP 成员在最后一次对布恩众议员施加压力时至关重要,要求其获得通过州议会所需的最后赞成票之一,同时也保持竞选以及在我们的代表和社区的雷达上结束伊拉克战争的更大号召。

俄勒冈州安全学校法案:库隆戈斯基州长在众议院和参议院的压倒性支持下签署了俄勒冈州安全学校法案。以下是 ROP 成员邦妮·卡梅伦 (Bonnie Cameron) 的报告,他代表 ROP 参加了签约仪式:

“上周五,ROP 为我提供了一个令人兴奋的机会。我和我的搭档德文 (Devon) 亲眼目睹了库隆戈斯基州长将《安全学校法》签署成为法律,为我们州的所有学生提供了更多保障。作为一名青少年教育者,残疾,我知道我们的许多学生都在我们的学校与骚扰和欺凌作斗争。2009 年 3 月,我能够参加在塞勒姆举行的俄勒冈州基本权利行动日,在那里我们听取了有关新立法的介绍,听到青年告诉他们讲述了他们在学校面临的困难的故事,参加了不同组织举办的研讨会,游说当地立法者并参加了支持这项立法的集会。我喜欢这项立法包括所有边缘化或少数族裔青年群体——LGBTQ 青年、学生有色人种和残疾学生。能够成为这一天的一部分,解决我心中的一个问题,真是太特别了。

我也活跃于我们当地的 PFLAG 小组在 Grants Pass 中。我们分会今年的兴趣之一是帮助当地的一所高中在同性恋异性恋联盟开始。在签约时,我能够与来自该州不同地区的人们建立联系,并获得有关如何使这项工作为我们工作的想法。对于我们州的所有年轻人来说,这是一次如此盛大的庆祝活动。谢谢你,ROP,让我们参与其中!”

联合纪念馆 22:  俄勒冈州参议院加入众议院投票 一致 支持众议院联合纪念 22 - 谴责 3 月 21 日仇恨犯罪 瞄准两个访问 Seaside 的男同性恋者,或 并敦促国会通过联邦仇恨犯罪立法。海岸和尤金的当地 ROP 领导人与我们在塞勒姆的来自俄勒冈州基本权利的盟友一起,在倡导这项立法方面发挥了重要作用。

下一步是什么?  我们必须继续捍卫我们的成果,同时努力实现我们正在努力创造的世界愿景。  最值得注意的是,我们预计税收公平立法将在来年的投票中受到质疑,并在 2010 年的特别立法会议上再次审议。  我们必须继续向塞勒姆和哥伦比亚特区的立法者传递公平和共同责任的信息,而且我们的朋友和邻居最终可能会决定我们在本届会议上取得的成果是否会持续下去。

简体中文

2009 Legislative Wrap Up – Highlights and Challenges Ahead




The 2009 Oregon Legislative Session concludes with some notable victories – passage of safe schools legislation that protects kids from harassment, a budget that funds schools and increases veterans benefits, improvements to tax fairness on the revenue front, and the failure of all anti-immigrant legislation to name a few.  These successes were supported by more than 50 ROP members who consistently wrote letters, made calls, sent emails and faxes, and wrote letters to the editor to keep our priorities clear and present.  Thank you, ROPers! 



Despite these hard won victories, many needs are still unmet and multiple challenges lie ahead.  While we appreciate these successes, we must continue to hold our state and our elected representatives accountable to the real needs and priorities of rural Oregonians.  We continue to call on our legislators to show the backbone required, especially in these tough economic times, to do what it takes to fund human needs, support tax fairness, protect civil liberties and civil rights, and advance peace at home and abroad. 

Democracy Bailout Day of Action: ROP organized a Democracy Bailout Day of Action at the Oregon State Capitol in Salem in March 2009 along with 5 partner organizations, PCUN/CAUSA, American Friends Service Committee, Center for Intercultural Organizing, Community Alliance of Lane County, and Oregon Action. The day brought together a multi-lingual, multi-racial and multicultural surge of people from all corners of the state to demand that the needs of the people not be overshadowed by the needs of banks and business in this time of economic crisis.

The Democracy Bailout Day of Action platform focused on stopping the deployment of the Oregon National Guard, stopping attacks on immigrant communities and protecting all workers, advancing racial justice, civil rights, and civil liberties in Oregon, healthcare for all, and economic justice. 114 people participated in the Day of Action and met with more than 80 legislators.  For many participants it was their first visit to the Capitol and first time ever meeting with an elected official



.





Tax Fairness: Facced with one of the worst recessions in decades, legislators took bold steps to protect essential services like education, healthcare, and public safety.  Instead of increasing the burden on everyday Oregonians—who are already struggling in this crisis—lawmakers wisely passed two crucial bills that will increase tax fairness and make sure that large corporations and the wealthiest Oregonians are carrying their share of the burden.


The package passed by the legislature will keep schools from having to lay off more teachers and make sure that seniors are able to stay in their homes.  At the same time, large corporations will finally be paying more than the $10 minimum income tax they’ve paid since 1931.

By passing these important tax fairness bills, Oregon lawmakers have made sure that the burden will be carried by those who are doing well in this economy, not the families and vulnerable Oregonians who are already hurting the most.

Campaign to Keep the Guard Home: The Campaign to Keep Oregon’s National Guard in Oregon kept consistent pressure on our State Reps and Senators as well as forced our elected officials to see the burden of the war on our communities – psychologically, economically, and through loss of life. HB 2556 directed the state to deploy the National Guard for federal activity only with a valid Congressional enactment. While ultimately the campaign failed to garner enough support to move from committee, ROP members were critical in the last surge of pressure on Representative Boone to get one of the final yes votes that were needed for it to pass the State House while also keeping this campaign and the larger call for an end to the war in Iraq on the radar of our representatives and communities.

Oregon Safe Schools Act: Governor Kulongoski signed the Oregon Safe Schools Act with overwhelming support from the House and Senate.  Here’s a report from ROP member, Bonnie Cameron, who represented ROP at the signing:

"Last Friday, ROP provided me with an exciting opportunity. My partner, Devon, and I were on hand to see Governor Kulongoski sign the Safe Schools Act into law, providing more safeguards for all students in our state. As an educator for youth with disabilities, I know that many of our students have struggled with harassment and bullying in our schools. In March of 2009, I was able to attend Basic Rights Oregon’s Day of Action in Salem where we listened to presentations about the new legislation, heard youth tell their stories about the difficulties they face in schools, attended workshops put on by different organizations, lobbied with local legislators and attended a rally in support of this legislation. I love that the legislation included all groups of marginalized or minority youth—LGBTQ youth, students of color and students with disabilities. It was so special to be able to be a part of this day, with an issue so close to my heart.

I’m also active in our local PFLAG group in Grants Pass. One of our chapter’s interests this year is to help a local high school start at Gay Straight Alliance. At the signing, I was able to connect with people from different parts of the state and get ideas about how to make this work for us. This was such a great celebration for all youth in our state. Thanks, ROP, for letting us be a part of it!"

House Joint Memorial 22:  The Oregon Senate joined the House in voting unanimously to support House Joint Memorial 22 – which condemns the March 21st hate crime targeting two gay men visiting Seaside, OR and urges Congress to pass federal hate crimes legislation.  Local ROP leaders on the Coast and in Eugene were instrumental in advocating for this legislation along with our allies in Salem from Basic Rights Oregon.

What’s Next?  We must continue to defend our gains while also pushing toward a vision of the world that we are trying to create.  Most notably, we expect that tax fairness legislation will be challenged at the ballot in the coming year and considered again in a Special Legislative Session in 2010.  We must continue to carry our message of fairness and shared responsibility not just to our legislators in Salem and DC but to our friends and neighbors who may ultimately end up deciding whether or not the gains we made this session will stick.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English