بناء البدائل من خلال الموارد الريفية

لقد مر ما يقرب من شهرين منذ هذا العام المؤتمر الريفي وجلسة الإستراتيجية، لكن كلمات المتحدث الرئيسي لدينا ، ميريديث مارتن - مواتس ، ما زالت تتردد في عملنا. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين لم يتمكنوا من الانضمام إلينا في Cottage Grove في الأول من يونيو ولأولئك الذين يرغبون في الاستماع مرة أخرى ، يمكنك شاهد خطاب ميريديث الرئيسي هنا أو اقرأها أدناه. هذه لقطة:
"أعتقد حقًا أن هذا عمل مقدس. وأعتقد أن هذا ليس مجرد عمل مقدس عند وقوع كارثة ولكن في الأشهر والسنوات التي تلي ذلك. سيكون من السهل السماح للقسم بالتسلل مرة أخرى. في بعض الأحيان يكون من الضروري تسمية القسمة. سيكون من السهل العودة إلى التدفق العام والتفكير في مصطلحات ثنائية - كما لو كان الخياران الوحيدان لدينا هما الصراخ في وجه جيراننا أو مجرد إبقاء رؤوسنا منخفضة والتظاهر بأن كل شيء على ما يرام. لا ، طريقنا الثالث هو البناء ، البناء ، البناء. بدائل البناء. بناء القوة للعمل من خلال الأشياء الصعبة بدون صوامع. هذا صعب جدا. ونحن نستطيع فعلها." 
كيف تعكس كلمات ميريديث العمل الذي تقوم به مجموعتك في هذه اللحظة؟ كيف تتواصل مجموعتك ، وتقوي شبكة حركاتنا ، وتبني القوة؟ ما هي الخطط التي تمتلكها مجموعتك لمقابلة أشخاص جدد وإدخالهم في عملك؟ مراسلتنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني emma@rop.org. نحن نحب دائما أن نسمع منك!

 

أنا متحمس للغاية ويشرفني أن أكون هنا. اسمي ميريديث. أود أن أشكر جيس وسيدني وراشيل وجوليا وإليوت وسيمون ، وعائلتي الرائعة ، بريان ، وطاقم منزل ماكيلروي - كاري وليزا وكات وميليسا وبرونو وغيرهم الكثير. من المهم دائمًا جعل الويب مرئيًا. هذا ما سينقذنا.

علمت من صديقي العزيز توفارا أنه كلما وصلت إلى مكان ما ، يجب أن تتضمن المقدمات من هم شعبك. من أين أنت؟ من أنت مسؤول أمام؟ لذلك جئت من وسط أركنساس. لقد نشأت في بلدة نهرية يبلغ عدد سكانها حوالي 3000 شخص عندما كنت أكبر ولكن الآن يبلغ عددهم حوالي 4500. نحن نعيش عبر النهر والمقاطعة من مدينة أكبر ، واحدة من أكبر المدن في الولاية ، روسلفيل ، والتي يبلغ عدد سكانها حوالي 26000. مجتمعي مزيج من المناطق الريفية والحضرية إلى حد ما. لأول مرة في ذاكرة أي شخص ، بالكاد يمكنك العبور بين هاتين المدينتين بسبب الفيضانات القياسية. كان من الصعب حقًا المغادرة. ومع ذلك ، فإن مشاهدة بلدتي وهي تستعد للفيضان قد غيّر قليلاً ما أردت أن أقوله لكم اليوم ، وهو ما لن يكون حديثًا رسميًا ، بل على الأرجح ، دعوة للعمل ... أو ربما لمعظم أنت ، دعوة للعمل المستمر.

عادةً ما أقضي الكثير من الوقت في كتابة هذه المحادثات ، لكن الطوفان لم يترك لي سوى القليل من الوقت وأنا مشتتة أكثر من المعتاد. أو بالأحرى ، ربما أكون أكثر صدقًا بشأن تشتتي.

إذن من أنا المسؤول؟ أنا مسؤول أمام مسقط رأسي. إلى McElroy House حيث أعمل مع منظمين آخرين ؛ أنا مسؤول أمام أهل الكنيسة الريفية والمزارعين ؛ أنا مسؤول أمام المنظمين السود في ليتل روك ؛ أنا مسؤول أمام مجتمعات المهاجرين في بلدتنا الصغيرة ؛ أنا مسؤول أمام الأشخاص البيض الذين يريدون طريقًا للمضي قدمًا من حيث حب جيراننا لأنفسنا ولكنهم يتعلمون - كما نتعلم جميعًا - كما نمضي. أنا مسؤول أمام أطفالي وأصدقائهم ... الجيل القادم الذي يتعين عليه إيجاد طريقة في الفوضى التي أحدثناها. وأنا مسؤول أمام أسلافي ، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين أيدوا تفوق البيض كمزارعين مستأجرين. كيف أنا مسؤول أمامهم؟ يمكنني كتابة قصة جديدة. لكن أولاً يجب أن أعرفهم. أنا مسؤول أمام yarrow. الى الحدائق للسلاحف والقيوط. والجدول خلف منزلي.

وأنا أتحدث ، أريدكم جميعًا أن تسألوا أنفسكم: من أنت مسؤول أمامه؟

إنه شعور سريالي أن أكون هنا. تم بناء النجاحات المبكرة لمنزل McElroy على سرقة فكرة محادثة غرفة المعيشة من شرطة عمان السلطانية. لطالما سألنا ، "ماذا يتوقع أطفالنا منا؟"
ما هو منزل مسيلروي؟ 
أولاً ، إنها مساحة مادية. 720 قدم مربع ، منزل بسيط. لدينا حدائق كبيرة في الأمام نقوم بتوسيعها كل عام. هذا العام لدينا التوت! لدينا دائما طن من اليارو!

كان منزل أجدادي لويد وغولدا ماكلروي. كان هناك في الأصل من ميسوري وأركنساس أوزاركس لكنهم انتقلوا إلى قيعان الأنهار المنخفضة ليصبحوا مزارعين مستأجرين. تلك القيعان تحت الماء الآن. لقد كان وجودًا صعبًا حقًا هناك. كانت الملاريا سيئة للغاية ولم يتمكن الكثير من الناس من تحقيقها. انتقل أجدادي في نهاية المطاف إلى بلدة حيث ذهب جدي للعمل لدى جانيت ديفيس كيتشنز ، والتي أصبحت فيما بعد تايسون.

جاءت فكرة كيفية استخدام هذه المساحة من مايكل مورو ، مبتكر ومدير مركز التراث الأمريكي الأفريقي الغربي في راسلفيل ، كنتاكي. أخذ مايكل المباني المتداعية وحولها إلى مراكز مجتمعية ، وقام بتدريس تاريخ المجتمع والوقوف في وجه التفوق الأبيض من خلال البحث في التاريخ الذي أوضح ماضي البلدة في امتلاك العبيد. لقد تعلمت من مايكل أن أرى الموارد حيث رأى الآخرون عجزًا. لذا في هذه الأيام ، يعتبر منزل McElroy ، كما قال كاري ، أحد منظمينا الرئيسيين ، "بداية وعملية".

بيان مهمتنا يذهب على النحو التالي: McElroy House هو بداية ورحلة. مساحة شجاعة لكشف العنصرية وكراهية الأجانب والتعصب الأعمى. لنسج مجتمع بلدة صغيرة عادل ولطيف. نحقق ذلك من خلال التلاقي عبر الاختلافات وممارسة إنسانيتنا ، من خلال مهارات البستنة والصياغة والجدة. نحن تقودنا النساء ، ونضفي هالة على العمل الجذري بين الأجيال. انضم إلينا في سعينا المتواضع لزرع بذور حب الذات وتقبل الذات والشفاء للجميع.
ماذا نفعل؟
لدينا حدائق فراشة ونحل وزهور. نستضيف ليالي الحرفة ومحادثات غرفة المعيشة. لدينا مكتبة مجانية صغيرة. نحن نقدم موارد مساعدة المجتمع. نحن فضاء مقدس علماني إلى حد ما. نستضيف مجموعات الدعم والاجتماعات مع Arkansas United ، وهي مجموعة لحقوق المهاجرين ، ونوفر مكانًا للناس للالتقاء عبر الاختلافات. بكلمات كثيرة ، إنه مكان لا نؤذي فيه بعضنا البعض عن قصد. نأمل أن يكون مكانًا صغيرًا يتموج ؛ مكان يساعدنا في فحص ما هو ممكن باستمرار.
بعض الأشياء التي نتعلمها أثناء قيامنا بتنمية McElroy House:
كنت أتمنى أن تكون هذه قائمة واضحة ومقيدة بقوس جميل. لكن الكثير من الأشياء تدور في رأسي وأفكاري في مسقط رأسي. هذه أفكار فوضوية ولكن تم الحصول عليها بشق الأنفس:
  1. هذا عمل فوضوي. إن الخدمات اللوجستية لحياة المدن الصغيرة هي مثل شبكات العنكبوت الكبيرة. أحيانًا يكون جميلًا وكل شيء مترابط بطريقة سحرية. ثم في بعض الأحيان تحاول فقط أن تمشي على طول وأنت تفعل الشيء الذي تريده في الظلام والشيء التالي الذي تعرفه أنك دخلت في شبكة ضخمة وهي عالقة بك وهو أمر مخيف ورهيب وأنت تصرخ. أنت تركض لكنها عالقة في جلدك ، إلخ.
  2. الحيلة هي المفتاح في هذه الأوقات. نحن بحاجة إلى أن نكون جيدًا في تخطيط الموارد. ما هي الموارد في مجتمعك ، خاصة الأشياء التي قد لا تبدو كموارد على السطح؟ يتحدث صديقي سام دائمًا عن أن أحد أروع أجزاء المجتمع الريفي هو أن متجر الإطارات هو المكان الذي تستأجر فيه الأفلام وتدفع فاتورة المياه ، وهناك سيدة في الخلف يمكنها إجراء تعديلات على الملابس. باختصار ، نحن واسعي الحيلة. نحن نعلم بالفعل كيفية القيام بذلك. نحتاج فقط إلى توسيع وتوضيح كيف ولماذا نفعل ذلك. ونحن بحاجة إلى تنمية هذه المهارة. إنه سحر ويجب أن نعلم الآخرين كيفية القيام به أيضًا.
  3. يجب أن نتحرك بسرعة تقديم الرعاية. نحن بحاجة إلى التفكير فيما يتعلق بالولادة ، والموت ، وما إلى ذلك. لقد استغرق منزل McElroy سنوات ... حرفيا ما يقرب من عقد للوصول إلى هنا. لقد ولد الأطفال ، وقام الناس برعاية أفراد الأسرة المسنين ؛ كل شخص في لوحتنا هو مقدم رعاية من نوع ما. إذا فكرنا يومًا ما في أن رعاية طفل أو شخص يحتاج إلينا هي صرف انتباهنا عن عملنا ، فما هو عملنا بالضبط؟ لقد قمت بإجراء اختبار عباد غير لفظي منذ فترة حول من سأعمل معه. إذا رفضت وجود الأطفال في الجوار ، فأنا أعلم أننا ربما لسنا في نفس الصفحة. الطريقة الوحيدة التي سنتحرك بها بشأن قضايا العدالة أو المناخ هي إذا نظرنا إلى الأطفال في أعيننا. هذا ليس فكرة مجردة. ليس هناك مجال لقطع الناس. ماذا يتوقع الأطفال منا؟
  4. يجب أن نبني تسامحنا مع الانزعاج. لا يمكننا أن نعيش في مجتمعات يتفق فيها الجميع على كل شيء. هذا صحيح بشكل خاص في المجتمعات الريفية. لكن هناك رأي غير شعبي على اليسار مفاده أن الأيام الأخيرة التي أمضيتها في مشاهدة فيضان يحاول ابتلاع مدينتي جعلتني أشعر بالتأثر الشديد لأقول: علينا حتى أن نجد طرقًا للعمل مع الأشخاص الذين نختلف معهم بشكل كبير. هذا ليس بالأمر السهل ، لذا ابحث عن الأدوات التي تساعدك على القيام بذلك.
  5. ابحث عن جوهر روحانيتك. بالنسبة لي ، هذا يعني البستنة والصلاة / التأمل والسجال. أحب أن أصلي وأن ألكم الناس في وجوههم. لكن عليك قضاء بعض الوقت الفعلي في اكتشاف ما تحتاج إلى القيام به حتى تتمكن من الظهور دون الحاجة إلى الدخول إلى غرفة بالاتفاق الكامل مع الجميع. لذا يمكنك الظهور والتصرف حتى عندما يكون هناك أشخاص تشعر أنهم يمثلون مشكلة عميقة. تحتاج إلى القيام بذلك حتى تتمكن من الظهور جاهزًا للعمل. أنا لا أطلب من الناس التخلي عن قيمهم. أطلب منك أن تعيشها بعمق أكبر. لا أحد يمكن التخلص منه؟ اثبت ذلك.
  6. نحن بحاجة للوصول إلى الأساسيات. اسأل الناس ، هل يمكنك أن تحترم إنسانية جارك وحقه في الوجود؟ رائع! سنبدأ من هناك. وابدأ الآن. لا تنتظر حتى تحدث كارثة أو شيء آخر. اعثر على طريقة للتحدث عن الأشياء الصعبة مع عدم طرد الأشخاص. أعلم أنه في منطقتي إذا رميت شخصًا ما بعيدًا ، فهناك فعليًا منظم متعصب أبيض ينتظر مصادقته وإعطاء معنى لحياته.
  7. دعنا نعود إلى شبكة العنكبوت. إن فوضى الحياة الريفية والبلدات الصغيرة أمر ضروري إذا أردنا خلق عالم أكثر عدلاً. نعلم جميعًا ما يعنيه الارتباط بالجميع أو مواعدتهم أو معرفة كل قصصهم العائلية. العيش مع هذا التعقيد هو ما نفعله في المدن الصغيرة. على سبيل المثال ، من حيث أتيت ، نعلم جميعًا أو يرتبطون بشخص تم القبض عليه في عصابة مخدرات بيضاء. قد نشعر بالخجل أو نريد الاختباء. يشعر الناس في المناطق الحضرية أنه يمكنهم الهروب من هذا. لكن خمن ماذا ؟! هذا هو التاريخ الأمريكي. اعتاد البيض في المناطق الريفية الصغيرة على إخبارنا بأننا نؤيد أنظمة غير عادلة ، وبالتأكيد ، اختارت بعض عائلاتنا إدامة ذلك. لكننا لسنا عائلاتنا. يمكننا ويجب علينا اتخاذ قرارات مختلفة ونقوم بذلك باستخدام هذه القصص التي تدفعنا إلى شيء أفضل. يمكننا بناء شيء مختلف.
  8. أعتقد أن الأجداد والروحانيات هما مفتاح الحفاظ على أنفسنا. لقد قيل هذا كثيرًا مؤخرًا ، لكن هل نعرف حقًا كيف نفعل ذلك؟ كيف نمارسها حقًا؟ كما تعلم ، عادةً ما أقيس كلماتي بعناية. لكنني سأكون حقيقيًا معكم جميعًا. إنه شهر مايو في أركنساس ، لذا توجد السلاحف في كل مكان. أثناء مشاهدة ارتفاع هذه المياه ، أشعر بصدق بأنني مدعو لأخبركم بشيء ما اليوم. نحن بحاجة إلى بعضنا البعض. وعلينا أن نفكر في هذا الآن. فى الحال. بناء شبكات من الموارد والنظر إلى هذا على أنه عمل مقدس. نحن بحاجة إلى خلق مساحات نكرم فيها القداسة في بعضنا البعض لأن هذه هي الطريقة التي سنعيش بها. نحن بحاجة إلى التفكير في HYPER LOCAL. يمكن أن يقطعك الفيضان عن كل شيء. الريف يعرف بالفعل كيفية القيام بذلك ، أليس كذلك؟ نحن بحاجة إلى مشاركة ما نعرفه. ونحن بحاجة إلى تجاوز مجرد الذكاء واللوجستيات. نحن بحاجة إلى مشاركة أعمق الأشياء. علينا أن نحفر في ماضينا بدلاً من الهروب منها والمضي قدمًا بوضوح. أعتقد حقًا أن هذا عمل مقدس.

وأعتقد أن هذا ليس مجرد عمل مقدس عندما تكون هناك كارثة ولكن بعد شهور وسنوات. سيكون من السهل السماح للقسم بالتسلل مرة أخرى. في بعض الأحيان يكون من الضروري تسمية القسمة. سيكون من السهل العودة إلى التدفق العام والتفكير في مصطلحات ثنائية - كما لو كان الخياران الوحيدان لدينا هما الصراخ في وجه جيراننا أو مجرد إبقاء رؤوسنا منخفضة والتظاهر بأن كل شيء على ما يرام.

لا ، طريقنا الثالث هو البناء ، البناء ، البناء. بدائل البناء. بناء القوة للعمل من خلال الأشياء الصعبة بدون صوامع. هذا صعب جدا. ونحن نستطيع فعلها. 

ميريديث مارتن مواتس ، الشريك المؤسس لشركة McElroy House
مشروع التنظيم الريفي - المؤتمر الريفي وجلسة الإستراتيجية
السبت 1 يونيو 2019
سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Building Alternatives through Rural Resourcefulness

Almost two months have passed since this year’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, but the words of our keynote speaker, Meredith Martin-Moats, are still echoing through our work. For those that weren’t able to join us in Cottage Grove on June 1st and for those who want to listen again, you can watch Meredith’s keynote speech here or read it below. Here’s a snapshot:
“I truly believe this is sacred work. And I believe this is not just sacred work when there is a disaster but in the months and years afterward. It’ll be easy to let the division creep back in. Sometimes the division is necessary to name. It’ll be easy to want to go back to the general flow and think in binary terms–as if our only two options are screaming at our neighbors or just keeping our heads down and pretending everything is ok. No, our third way is building, building, building. Building alternatives. Building up the strength to work through the hard stuff without silos. This is very hard. And….we can do it.” 
How do Meredith’s words reflect the work that your group is doing in this moment? How is your group reaching out, strengthening the web of our movements, and building strength? What plans does your group have to meet new people and bring them into your work? Email us are emma@rop.org. We always love to hear from you!

 

I am so excited and honored to be here. My name is Meredith. I want to thank Jess, Sydney, Rachel, Julia, Elliot and Simon, my wonderful family, Bryan, the McElroy House crew–Cary, Lisa, Kat, Melissa, Bruno, and so many others. It’s always important to make the web visible. It is what will save us.

I learned from my dear friend Tufara that whenever you come into a space, introductions should include who your people are. Where are you from? Who are you accountable to? So I come from central Arkansas; I grew up in a river town of about 3,000 when I was growing up but now it’s about 4,500. We live across the river and the county from a larger town, one of the largest in the state, Russellville, which is about 26,000. My community is a hybrid of rural and somewhat urban. For the first time in anyone’s memory, you can barely cross between these two towns due to record flooding. It was really hard to leave. Watching my town gear up for the flood, however, has slightly altered what I wanted to say to y’all today which isn’t going to be a formal talk but rather, I hope, a call to action…or probably for most of you, a call to sustained action.

I usually spend a lot of time writing these talks out, but the flood left me with little time and I’m more scattered than usual. Or rather, probably, I’m being more honest about my scatteredness.

So who am I accountable to? I’m accountable to my hometown; to the McElroy House where I work with other organizers; I’m accountable to rural church folks and farmers; I’m accountable to black organizers in Little Rock; I am accountable to immigrant communities in our small town; I am accountable to white people who want a way forward in terms of loving our neighbors as ourselves but are learning—as we all are—as we go. I am accountable to my children and their friends…the next generation who have to find a way in the mess we made. And I am accountable to my ancestors, including those who upheld white supremacy as tenant farmers. How am I accountable to them? I can write a new story. But first I have to know theirs. I’m accountable to yarrow; to gardens; to turtles and coyotes; and the creek behind my house.

As I am talking, I want you all to be asking yourselves: Who are you accountable to?

It feels surreal to be here. The McElroy house’s early successes were built on stealing the living room conversation idea from ROP. We have always asked, “what will our children expect of us?”
What is the McElroy House? 
First, it is a physical space. A 720ish square foot, simple house. We have big gardens out front that we expand every year. This year we have berries! We always have tons of yarrow!

It was the home of Lloyd and Golda McElroy, my grandparents. There were originally from the Missouri and Arkansas Ozarks but moved to the low lying river bottoms to become tenant farmers. Those bottoms are underwater right now. It was a really hard existence there. Malaria was really bad and lots of people didn’t make it. My grandparents eventually moved to a town where my grandfather went to work for Janet Davis Kitchens, which would later become Tyson.

The idea of how to use this space came from Michael Morrow, creator and director of the West Kentucky African American Heritage Center in Russellville, KY. Michael took dilapidated buildings and turned them into community centers, teaching the community’s history and standing up to white supremacy by researching history which made clear the town’s slave-owning past. I learned from Michael to see resources where others saw deficits. So these days the McElroy House is, as one of our main organizers Cary said, “A beginning and a process.”

Our mission statement goes like this: McElroy House is a beginning and a journey. A brave space to unravel racism, xenophobia, and bigotry. To weave together a just and kind small-town community. We accomplish this by coming together across differences and practicing our humanity, through gardening, crafting, and granny skills. We are women-led, lending a nurturing aura to our intergenerational rootwork. Join us in our humble quest to plant seeds of self-love, self-acceptance, and healing for all.
What do we do?
We have butterfly and bee and flower gardens. We host craft nights and living room talks. We have a little free library. We provide community aid resources. We are a somewhat secular sacred space. We host support groups and meetings with Arkansas United, an immigrants rights group, and we provide a place for people to come together across differences. In so many words, it is a place where we don’t hurt one another on purpose. We hope it is a small place that ripples; a place that helps us continually examine what is possible.
Some things we are learning as we grow the McElroy House:
I had hoped to really have this be a clear list, tied up with a nice bow. But a lot of things are running through my head with my thoughts on my hometown. These are messy thoughts but hard-earned:
  1. This is messy work. The logistics of small-town life are like big spider webs. Sometimes it’s beautiful and everything is magically interconnected. And then sometimes you’re just trying to walk along doing your thing in the dark and the next thing you know you walked into a huge web and it’s stuck to you and it’s scary and icky and you scream. You run but it’s stuck to your skin, etc.
  2. Resourcefulness is key in these times. We need to get good at resource mapping. What are the resources in your community, especially the things that might not look like resources on the surface? My friend Sam always talks about how one of the coolest parts of a rural community is that the tire shop is also where you rent movies and pay your water bill and there’s a lady there in the back who can do alterations on clothing. In short, we’re resourceful. We already know how to do this. We just need to extend and articulate HOW and WHY we do it. And we need to grow this skill. It is magic and we must teach others how to do it, too.
  3. We must move at the speed of caregiving. We need to think in terms of birthing, death, etc. The McElroy House has taken YEARS…literally almost a decade to get here. Babies have been born, people have cared for aging family members; everyone who is on our board is a caregiver of some kind. If we ever, ever, ever think caring for a baby or a person who needs us is a distraction from our work then what IS our work exactly? I made a nonverbal litmus test a while back about who I’ll work with. If you balk at kids being around, I know we’re probably not on the same page. The only way we’re gonna move on issues of justice or climate is if we LOOK KIDS IN THE EYES. This is not an abstraction; there is no room for cutting people down. What will the kids expect of us?
  4. We must build up our tolerance to discomfort. We can not exist in communities where everyone agrees on everything. This is especially true in rural communities. But here is an unpopular opinion on the left that my recent days spent watching a flood try to swallow my town has left me feeling very moved to say: We have to even find ways to work with people with whom we disagree majorly. This isn’t easy, so find tools to help you do it.
  5. Find your core of spirituality. For me, this means gardening, prayer/meditation, and sparring. I like to pray and also punch people in the face. But you have to take some real time figuring out what YOU need to do so you can show up without needing to enter into a room in full agreement with everyone. So you can show up and act EVEN when there are folks who you feel are deeply problematic. You need to do this so you can show up ready to work. I’m not asking people to let go of their values. I’m asking you to live them out more deeply. No one is disposable? Prove it.
  6. We need to get to the basics. Ask folks, can you honor your neighbor’s humanity and their right to exist? Cool! We’ll start there. And start now. Don’t wait until a disaster or another thing happens. Find a way to talk about the hard stuff while also not throwing people out. I know in my region if you throw someone away there is literally a white supremacist organizer waiting to befriend them and give their life meaning.
  7. Let’s circle back to the spider web. The messiness of rural and small-town life is essential if we want to create a more just world. We all know what it’s like to be related to everyone or having dated them or knowing all their family stories. Living with this complication is what we do in small towns. For example, back where I come from we all know or are related to someone who got arrested in a white supremacist drug ring. We may feel shame or want to hide. People in more urban areas feel like they can run from this. But guess what?! That’s American history. Rural small-town white people are used to being told that we uphold unjust systems and, most certainly, some of our families chose to perpetuate that. But we are not our families. We can and must make different decisions and we do it with these stories fueling us on to something better. We can build something different.
  8. I believe ancestors and spirituality are key to sustaining ourselves. This has been said a lot lately, but do we really know how to do that? How do we really practice it? You know, I usually measure my words carefully. But I’m gonna be real with y’all. It’s May in Arkansas so there are turtles everywhere. In watching those waters rise I honestly feel called to tell y’all something today. WE NEED EACH OTHER. And we have to think about this NOW. RIGHT NOW.  Build networks of resources and see this as sacred work. We need to create spaces where we honor the sacredness in each other because that is how we will survive. We need to think HYPER LOCAL. A flood can cut you off from everything. Rural already knows how to do this, right? We need to share what we know. And we need to move beyond just smarts and logistics. We need to share the deepest stuff. We have to dig into our pasts rather than run from them and move forward with clarity. I truly believe this is sacred work.

And I believe this is not just sacred work when there is a disaster but months and years afterward. It’ll be easy to let the division creep back in. Sometimes the division is necessary to name. It’ll be easy to want to go back to the general flow and think in binary terms–as if our only two options are screaming at our neighbors or just keeping our heads down and pretending everything is ok.

No, our third way is building, building, building. Building alternatives. Building up the strength to work through the hard stuff without silos. This is very hard. And….we can do it. 

Meredith Martin-Moats, McElroy House co-founder
Rural Organizing Project – Rural Caucus & Strategy Session Keynote
Saturday, June 1, 2019
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English