Section IV: Who Are the Patriot Leaders?

National movement leaders

  • Ammon Bundy: Son of Cliven Bundy and part of the 2014 Bundy Ranch standoff, he led the takeover of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge in 2016.
  • Cliven Bundy: Nevada rancher who refused to pay his grazing fees for use of federal land. His ranch was the site of a 2014 standoff with federal agents.
  • Robert “LaVoy” Finicum: Arizona rancher who was one of the leaders in the armed occupation of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge. Killed by law enforcement in January 2016.
  • Fred Kelly Grant: Boise lawyer who is the leading advocate of the Hard Right reading of “coordination.” Former president of the American Stewards of Liberty.
  • Ken Ivory: Leading advocate of transferring federal lands to the states. Utah state representative, former leader of the American Lands Council, and currently with the Koch Brothers-funded Federalism in Action.
  • Richard Mack: Former Arizona county sheriff and Patriot movement celebrity since the 1990s. Board member of the Oath Keepers, Coalition of Western States member, and founder of Constitutional Sheriffs and Peace Officers Association.
  • Elmer Stewart Rhodes: Former aide to then-US Representative Ron Paul, founder of the Oath Keepers, and lawyer who was disbarred by the Montana Supreme Court.
  • Jon Ritzheimer:Arizona Islamophobic organizer, former Oath Keeper, and current Three Percenter. One of the celebrities of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge occupation.
  • Mike Vanderboegh: Alabama Maoist-turned-militia leader who co-founded the Three Percenters in 2008. Called for the overthrow of the Oregon governor over gun control laws at a May 2015 rally attended by various elected officials. Died in August 2016.

Idaho movement leaders

  • Brooke Agresta: Leading member of the 3% of Idaho. Spoke at the January 2, 2016 march in Burns.
  • Brandon Curtiss: Founder of the 3% of Idaho and one of the founders of the Pacific Patriots Network. Helped organize the march in Burns, Oregon on January 2, 2016, and later established the “buffer zone” in Burns.

Oregon movement leaders

  • Rick Barclay and George Backes: Owners of the Sugar Pine Mine in Josephine County; instigators of the armed camps established to oppose their obligation to respond to Bureau of Land Management paperwork.
  • Gil Gilbertson: Former “Constitutional Sheriff” of Josephine County, Oregon. Currently an Oath Keeper and Sovereign Citizen-style “Continental Marshal.”
  • Tom McKirgan: Former Southern Oregon Oath Keeper coordinator, now the Zone 4 leader of the Oregon III%.
  • Glenn Palmer: “Constitutional Sheriff” of Grant County, Oregon, and formerly in CSPOA leadership. Met with members of the Malheur occupation while it was ongoing.
  • Brandon Rapolla: Community Preparedness Team Coordinator for Oregon Oath Keepers, leader of Oregon Tactical, co-founder of Pacific Patriots Network, and part of the Sugar Pine Mine and Bundy Ranch conflicts.
  • Joseph Rice: Coordinator of the Oath Keepers of Josephine County (now the Citizen Patriots of Josephine County) and co-founder of the Pacific Patriots Network. Part of the “buffer zone” action in Burns.
  • Jeff Roberts: Vice president of the Oregon III%. Says he went to Ruby Ridge with Bo Gritz in 1993 when he was 15-years old.
  • BJ Soper: Leader of the Central Oregon Constitutional Guard, co-founder of the Pacific Patriots Network, and co-organizer of the January 2, 2016 march in Burns, which the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge occupation came out of.

Local leaders seeking or in local office:

  • Bill Harvey: Baker County Commission Chair. Friend of Ken Ivory and proponent of coordination.
  • Dennis Linthicum: Former Klamath County Commissioner and Republican nominee for Oregon state senate in the November 2016 election.
  • Mary Starrett: Yamhill County Commissioner and former national official in the theocratic Constitution Party.
  • Ken Taylor: Former chair of the Central Oregon Patriots, co-coordinator of the Central Oregon Oath Keepers (submitted resignation in August 2016), former chair of the Crook County Republican Party, and both treasurer and budget chairman for the Oregon Republican Party (until he submitted his resignation in July 2016). Promoted the Ammon Bundy-formed Harney County Committee of Safety.

Other figures worthy of note:

  • Michael Emry and Becky Hudson: Run The Voice of Idaho and The Voice of Grant County. Emry said he was an “embedded” journalist at Malheur National Wildlife Refuge occupation with the 3% of Idaho, and was later arrested for having a stolen machine gun with obliterated serial numbers.
  • Dwight and Stephen Hammond: Burns family members whose case was the catalyst for the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge occupation. This father and son were arrested for two fires on federal land, sentenced under the mandatory minimums set by the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996, and are currently serving the remainder of their five-year sentences.
Next Page: Glossary