دليل الوقوف (2014)

مرحبًا بك في دليل الناخبين ولأصوات المدن الصغيرة

يشترك معظمنا في أحلام مشتركة مع جيراننا. نريد وظائف لائقة تسمح لنا بوضع الطعام على المائدة وأخذ إجازة عرضية. نريد أن نعرف أن مدارسنا تعمل جاهدة لتعليم أطفالنا. نريد خدمات يمكننا الاعتماد عليها في حالات الطوارئ الطبيعية. نحن ندرك أن الناس قد يحتاجون إلى المساعدة للتغلب على العواصف الاقتصادية. نريد أن تتمكن عائلاتنا من العيش بأمان وبدون خوف. هذه قيم مشتركة.

نحن لا نتفق دائمًا على كيفية بناء هذه المجتمعات الآمنة والعملية والمحافظة عليها. حسنا. فكرة الديمقراطية هي أن نناقش الخيارات ونجعل أصواتنا مسموعة. من خلال الانتخابات ، يمكننا إخبار قادتنا السياسيين بأولوياتنا وسن القوانين التي تبني مجتمعًا أكثر عقلانية. يجب أن تعني الديمقراطية أننا نحن الشعب نملك الحكومة. من واجبنا المشاركة في الانتخابات حتى يتمكن الجميع من المساعدة في اتخاذ القرار بدلاً من إعطاء المناصب لأصحاب العطاءات الأعلى.

هذا العام جميع ممثلي ولايتنا وممثلينا الاتحاديين جاهزون للانتخاب. وهناك العديد من أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ وعضو مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي أيضًا على ورقة الاقتراع. سنختار الحاكم. مثل أي صاحب عمل ، نحتاج إلى إجراء مراجعة جادة للوظيفة! بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، سيتم التصويت على سبعة إجراءات اقتراع. بعضها سيغير وجه الدولة. ما هي الإجراءات التي تعتبر إصلاحات مفيدة وأي منها تمثل مصالح خاصة ضيقة وتغذي التمييز والكراهية؟

الإعلانات السياسية الرائعة تفسد علب البريد الخاصة بنا. هذا الدليل البسيط مختلف. يتم دفع ثمنها وإنتاجها وكتابتها للأشخاص العاديين في بلدة صغيرة في ولاية أوريغون. ربما لا توجد مقاطعة في الولاية لم تساهم في هذا الدليل من خلال مجموعة المجتمع المحلي. ولم نتفق جميعًا على كل شيء! ما نشاركه هو الالتزام بالديمقراطية الشاملة والتوصيات بشأن اتخاذ أفضل الخيارات للمدينة الصغيرة وريف أوريغون في الاقتراع هذا العام. نأمل أن يساعد.

تفتح كل دورة انتخابية نقاشات حول الإحباطات والتطلعات ، لكن هذه الانتخابات تبدو أكثر أهمية من معظمها. تضيف الأزمة الإنسانية على الحدود ، ونظام الهجرة المعطل ، وأزمة الطاقة التي تلوح في الأفق ، والصعوبات الاقتصادية للعديد من العائلات الريفية ، إلحاحية العديد من القرارات المحلية لهذه الانتخابات. لنبدأ الحديث عن المجتمعات التي نريدها ونجعل هذه الانتخابات تدفع البلاد وأوريغون إلى الأمام.

يشتكي بعض الناس من الشعور بالعجز بأن شخصًا واحدًا أو صوتًا واحدًا لا يستطيع تغيير الأشياء. أظهر أفراد مثل إدوارد سنودن وتشيلسي مانينغ أنه من الممكن لشخص واحد أن يحدث فرقًا. ليس على الجميع أن يفعلوا ما فعلوه ، لكن الإدلاء بصوت هو إحدى الطرق التي يمكننا من خلالها التأثير. في بعض الأحيان ، يمكن تحديد الانتخابات الحاسمة من خلال عدد قليل من الأصوات ، خاصة في مجتمعات المدن الصغيرة. تخيل التأثير إذا اجتمع جميع الناخبين الذين يشعرون بالعجز وانخرطوا.

دعونا نفعل أكثر من الأمل في التغيير. لنبدأ في صنعها الآن.

2014- دليل حامل شرطة عمان السلطانية باللغة الإنجليزية

2014- ROP Stand Guide Espanol

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Stand Guide (2014)

WELCOME TO A VOTER GUIDE BY AND FOR SMALL TOWN VOTERS

Most of us share common dreams with our neighbors. We want decent jobs that allow us to put food on the table and to take the occasional vacation. We want to know that our schools are working hard to educate our children. We want services we can depend on in natural emergencies. We recognize that people may need help to weather economic storms. We want our families to be able to live safely and without fear. These are shared values.

We do not always agree on how to build and maintain these safe and functional communities. That’s okay. The idea of democracy is that we get to debate options and make our voices heard. Through elections, we can tell our political leaders what our priorities are and create laws that build a more sensible society. Democracy should mean that We The People own the government. It is our duty to participate in elections so that everyone can lend a hand in decision-making instead of giving offices to the highest bidders.

This year all of our State and Federal Representatives are up for election. Many of our State Senators and one US Senator are also on the ballot. We will choose a Governor. Like any employer, we need to do a serious job review! In addition, seven ballot measures will be voted on. Some of these will change the face of the state. Which measures are useful reforms and which ones represent narrow special interests and fuel discrimination and hate?

Slick political ads clutter our mailboxes. This simple guide is different. It is paid for, produced by, and written for regular folks in small town Oregon. There is probably not a county in the state that has not contributed to this guide through a local community group. And we didn’t all agree on everything! What we do share is a commitment to inclusive democracy and recommendations on making the best choices for small town and rural Oregon at the ballot this year. We hope it helps.

Every election cycle opens up conversations about frustrations and yearnings, but this election seems more important than most. A humanitarian crisis at the border, a broken immigration system, a looming energy crisis, and economic hardship for many rural families add urgency to the many local decisions of this election. Let’s start talking about the communities we want and make this election move the country and Oregon forward.

Some people complain of a feeling of helplessness that one person or one vote can’t change things. Individuals like Edward Snowden and Chelsea Manning have shown that it is possible for one person to make a difference.  Not everyone has to do what they did, but casting a vote is one way that we can have an impact. Sometimes critical elections can be decided by just a handful of votes, especially in small town communities. Imagine the impact if all the voters who feel helpless came together and got engaged.

Let’s do more than hope for change. Let’s start making it now.

2014- ROP Stand Guide English

2014- ROP Stand Guide Espanol

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English