2010 年 6 月 KTA:我尖叫,你尖叫……

我们都为……社会变革而尖叫! (和冰淇淋!)为什么要开展这项活动? ROP 经常强调 Human Dignity Group 成功的三个关键:1. 忠诚的、有名的领导团队,2. 有效的沟通系统,以及 3. 战略行动计划。但是本月,我们希望关注三个不同但至关重要的要素,这些要素 [...]

阅读更多


2010 年 4 月 KTA:USSF – 从奥尔巴尼到底特律的运动大楼

“所有有远见的人、思想家、推动者和信徒都应该开始做好准备,立即前往底特律。” 

— Maureen Taylor,美国社会论坛底特律协调员

什么是活动?  运动建筑!  为了改变世界,我们需要人们团结起来,要求并做出改变的协调运动。  这场运动必须比我们现在所拥有的运动更强大、更具战略性和更好的网络化。  幸运的是,今年春季和夏季,在俄勒冈州农村和全国范围内开展更强大的运动的机会比比皆是。 

阅读更多

2010 年核心小组议程

ROP 2010
农村核心小组和战略会议

民主经济的家乡战略

星期六,4 月 10 日,俄勒冈州奥尔巴尼
8:00 – 5:00


8:00    注册和早餐 - 早点来赶上匆忙,在潜入一天之前享用一杯热咖啡!
9:00    欢迎来自 ROP 和来自 Project South 的 Stephanie Guilloud 的主题演讲,特别关注俄勒冈州运动与当地领导人。
10:30    为 2010 年及以后制定愿景
11:30  午餐和开放空间讨论
12:40    ROP 更新、与董事会见面、2010 年人类尊严奖等等!
1:00  地方民主经济圆桌会议
1:45    家乡战略会议 1  (见下面的车间说明)
3:20    家乡战略会议 2  (见下面的车间说明)
4:45    收尾和合影
5:00    再见!
 
家乡战略会议

第一节 (1:45 – 3:05)

关于种族正义的对话:跨种族和文化进行组织
主持人和演讲者:Stephanie Guilloud - Project South
本次会议将开启关于我们如何在俄勒冈州农村面貌不断变化和 ROP 基础不断扩大的情况下跨种族和文化进行组织的对话。 Stephanie 将分享她在佐治亚州南部项目和 2007 年亚特兰大美国社会论坛上进行长期跨文化组织的经验教训。  

建立自力更生的社区作为一种组织策略
Mike Edera – West County Council for Human Dignity, Randi & Aaron Embree – Macleay Grange 和 Jared Gardner – 一神论普遍主义经济正义行动委员会。
经济危机鼓励(或有时迫使)我们在建立替代经济体系的同时重新思考消费。当我们插入我们的包容性、人类尊严和民主的核心价值观时,我们如何重建我们的社区,使其更具弹性和相互依存?本次研讨会将探讨这些主题,我们将研究一个具体模型:共同安全俱乐部,作为满足人们需求和推动运动的一种策略。


公正地创造就业机会:农村 OR 的经验教训
Rich Rohde – 俄勒冈行动(杰克逊公司),Ellie Pope – 哥伦比亚县公民维护人类尊严组织,Al DeVita – 劳工联盟,以及 Lynn Feekin – 劳工教育和研究中心
本次研讨会是与组织者的对话,他们率先在社区中创造绿色就业机会,并设法将正义和公平纳入有关经济发展“新前沿”的对话中。


止赎防御:从教育到直接行动
Nancie Kroeber – Good Grief America 和其他当地团体
该研讨会提供了与在自己社区率先开展止赎防御工作的人的对话。了解围绕止赎和驱逐危机组织起来的许多切入点——早在通知被钉在门上之前就开始了——并为你自己的社区制定策略。

第二场(3:20 – 4:40)

我们是一个热情的社区:农村媒体中心 2010
由农村组织项目推动
在我们致力于创建公正和人道的全面移民改革的过程中,我们需要为将移民从外来者转变为邻居奠定基础。通过我们当地的报纸,我们每个月都会在数千人的餐桌上看到我们关于移民价值的欢迎信息。加入这个研讨会,制定关于使用媒体进行移民正义和建立友好社区的战略。


食品正义:发展我们的运动和养活我们的社区的战略
Harry MacCormack – Sun Bow Farms, Tera Couchman Wick – Village Gardens & Nella Parks – Oregon Rural Action
食物有潜力加强社区,扩大我们的运动,并成为经济和社会正义的强大力量。智能社区使用食物来满足基本的社区需求,同时塑造和发展新的社区风格、资源使用、财富和就业创造以及经济。本次研讨会将询问食品正义远见者小组,他们如何从根本上建立运动!

转移我们的钱:把我们的钱放在我们的价值所在
Barb Dudley – 俄勒冈州立银行集团、Charlotte Hart-St Helens Credit Union、Tony Stang- OR Credit Union Association
Move Our Money 运动已经在 ROPers、我们的社区和全国各地举行。随着俄勒冈州最近的立法提高了信用合作社的公共资金上限并组织了俄勒冈州立银行,支持更多地方民主银行机构的机会越来越多。本次会议将介绍全州范围内组织和探索家乡策略的最新情况,以保持我们在俄勒冈州的资金流通。
 

超越了解您的权利:“保护社区”和阻止驱逐出境的新策略
Shizuko Hashimoto – PCASC & Stephen Manning – 移民律师
“安全社区”是将地方执法部门与 ICE(移民和海关执法部门)结合起来以执行联邦移民法的计划和非正式协议之一。结果?种族定性增加,对移民家庭和当地社区造成严重后果。本次会议将探讨可用于反击这种危险配对的本地和全州策略。它超越了了解您的权利!

阅读更多


2010 年 2 月厨房餐桌激进主义

ROP 的农村核心小组和战略会议:4 月 10 日星期六在奥尔巴尼举行

什么是活动? 4 月 10 日星期六,来自全州的农村和小镇领导将齐聚一堂,共同制定战略、建立联系和组织。 ROP 的年度农村核心小组和战略会议将于上午 8:30 至下午 5 点在奥尔巴尼举行。本月的厨房餐桌活动将决定谁将在今年的核心小组中代表您的团体和社区。

今年的核心小组将重点关注 民主经济的家乡战略.我们将研究适用于俄勒冈州农村和小镇的战略,这些战略不仅可以满足我们社区的当前需求,而且可以为以人为本和可持续的经济建立长期运动。加入来自全州的同行,就以下主题进行对话:转移我们的资金、本地银行业务和创建俄勒冈州银行;移民改革的前景如何;组织安全的粮食系统来养活我们的社区并促进当地的可持续性; LGBTQ 为更安全的社区而组织;以及更多。

阅读更多

简体中文

Oct 2010 KTA: Personalizing this Electoral Moment

Voter Courtesy Call Script: Word, PDF Sample Group Flyer Insert for Voter Guide:                 Page 1 (HDG description): Word,  PDF                 Page 2 (County Cost of War Stats): Word,  PDF Sample Email Script: Word, PDF ROP groups and members have a long history of personalizing voter engagement- making it not a machined exercise in voter turnout, […]

Read More

Sep 2010 KTA: STAND Guides are Coming!

Why this Activity? The 2010 election in Oregon is going to be all about turnout. The ballot measures are fewer and predominantly less contentious this year. This means that our eyes and interests this election cycle fall primarily on the candidates running for office. And the outcomes of these races will be determined by just how […]

Read More



June 2010 KTA: I Scream, You Scream…

We all scream for… Social Change!  (and Ice Cream!)   WHY THIS ACTIVITY?   ROP often highlights the three keys to a Human Dignity Group’s success: 1. a committed, named leadership team, 2. effective communication systems, and 3. a strategic action plan.  But this month, we want to focus on three different, yet critical elements that […]

Read More

May 2010 KTA: Move Our Money: Putting Oregon on the Map

Overview of Oregon State Bank Overview of Public Funds and Credit Unions Southern Oregon Local Banking Brochure Why this Activity?  Over the last year, ROPers have been considering who holds our money and just what those banking institutions stand for.  What we’ve learned is that many of us already bank with local institutions – institutions that […]

Read More

April 2010 KTA: USSF – Movement Building from Albany to Detroit

"It’s imperative that all of the visionaries, the thinkers, the movers, the believers should start getting yourself ready and on your way to Detroit right now.” 

— Maureen Taylor, US Social Forum Detroit Co-Coordinator

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?  Movement building!  To change the world, we need a coordinated movement of people joining together and demanding and making change.  This movement has got to be stronger, more strategic, and better networked than what we’ve got now.  Fortunately, this spring and summer, opportunities abound for building a stronger movement – here in rural Oregon and nationally. 

Read More

2010 Caucus Agenda

ROP’s 2010
Rural Caucus & Strategy Session

Hometown Strategies for Democratic Economies

Saturday, April 10th in Albany, Oregon
8:00 – 5:00


8:00    Registration and Breakfast – Come early to beat the rush and enjoy a hot cup of joe before diving into the day!
9:00    Welcome from ROP & Keynote Address from Stephanie Guilloud of Project South with special Spotlight on the Oregon Movement with local leaders.
10:30    Creating a Vision for 2010 and Beyond
11:30  Lunch and Open Space Discussions
12:40    ROP Update, Meet the Board, 2010 Human Dignity Awards, and more!
1:00  Panel on Local Democratic Economy Roundtables
1:45    Hometown Strategies Sessions 1  (see workshop descriptions below)
3:20    Hometown Strategies Sessions 2  (see workshop descriptions below)
4:45    Closeout & Group Photo
5:00    Good bye!
 
Hometown Strategy Sessions

Session One (1:45 – 3:05)

Conversations on Racial Justice: Organizing Across Race and Culture
Facilitator and Presentor: Stephanie Guilloud – Project South
This session will open the dialogue on how we organize across race and culture amid the changing face of rural Oregon and the broadening base of ROP. Stephanie will share lessons from her experiences doing long term cross-cultural organizing with Georgia’s Project South and the 2007 US Social Forum in Atlanta.  

Building Self Reliant Communities as an Organizing Strategy
Mike Edera – West County Council for Human Dignity, Randi & Aaron Embree – Macleay Grange, & Jared Gardner –Unitarian Universalist Economic Justice Action Committee.
The economic crisis has encouraged (or sometimes forced) us to rethink consumption while we build alternative economic systems. How can we rebuild our communities to be more resilient and also interdependent as we insert our core values of inclusivity, human dignity, and democracy? This workshop will explore these themes as we look at one concrete model: the Common Security Club, as a strategy to meet people’s needs and build the movement.


Creating Jobs with Justice: Lessons from Rural OR
Rich Rohde – Oregon Action (Jackson Co), Ellie Pope – Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity, Al DeVita – Laborers Union, and Lynn Feekin – Labor Education and Research Center
This workshop is a conversation with organizers who are pioneering the effort to create green jobs in their communities and finding ways to include justice and equity in conversations about this ‘new frontier’ of economic development.


Foreclosures Defense: From Education to Direct Action
Nancie Kroeber – Good Grief America and other local groups
This workshop offers a dialogue with those who are spearheading foreclosure defense work in their own neighborhoods. Learn about the many points of entry for organizing around the foreclosure and eviction crisis – starting long before the notice is ever nailed to the door – and take away strategies for your own community.

Session Two (3:20 – 4:40)

We are a Welcoming Community: Rural Media Center 2010
Facilitated by the Rural Organizing Project
In our commitment to create just and humane comprehensive immigration reform, we need to lay groundwork that transforms immigrants from outsiders to neighbors.  Through our local papers, we will get our welcoming messages about the value of immigrants onto the kitchen table of thousands of people each month. Join this workshop to strategize about using media for immigration justice and to build welcoming communities.


Food justice: Strategies to Grow our Movement and Feed our Communities
Harry MacCormack – Sun Bow Farms, Tera Couchman Wick – Village Gardens & Nella Parks- Oregon Rural Action
Food has the potential to strengthen communities, expand our movement, and serve as powerful force for economic and social justice. Smart communities use food to meet basic community needs, while modeling and growing a new style of neighborhood, use of resources, of wealth and job creation, and of economy. This workshop will ask a panel of food justice visionaries how they are building a movement from the roots up!

Move our Money: Putting our Money Where our Values Are
Barb Dudley – Oregon State Bank group, Charlotte Hart- St Helens Credit Union, Tony Stang- Credit Union Association of OR
The Move Our Money campaign has taken hold among ROPers, our communities and across the country. With the recent of Oregon legislation that increases the cap on public funds in credit unions and organizing for an Oregon State Bank, there are increasing opportunities to support more local, democratic banking institutions. This session will give an update on the statewide organizing and explore hometown strategies to keep our money in circulation in Oregon.
 

Beyond Know Your Rights: "Secure Communities" & New Strategies for Stopping Deportations
Shizuko Hashimoto – PCASC & Stephen Manning – Immigration Attorney
"Secure Communities" is one of the programs and informal agreements that pair local law enforcement with ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) to enforce federal immigration laws.  The result? Increased racial profiling with serious consequences for immigrant families and local communities.  This session will explore local and statewide strategies available to fight back against this dangerous pairing.  It’s going beyond Know Your Rights!

Read More

March 2010 KTA: Rural Media Center

  Rama Carty was one of 70 immigrants that joined a hunger strike at the Port Isabel Detention Center [in Texas].  Mr. Carty said of his time in detention, “I witnessed the destruction of American families in a clearly inhumane process.  That’s what led us to go on a hunger strike.  We had no other […]

Read More

Feb 2010 Kitchen Table Activism

ROP’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session: Saturday, April 10th in Albany

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY? On Saturday, April 10th rural and small town leadership from across the state will be gathering for a day of strategizing, networking, and organizing.  ROP’s annual Rural Caucus and Strategy Session will be from 8:30am- 5pm in Albany.  This month’s Kitchen Table Activism is to decide who will represent your group and community at this year’s Caucus.

This year’s Caucus will focus on Hometown Strategies for a Democratic Economy. We’ll look at strategies that work in rural and small town Oregon that not only address the current needs of our communities, but build a long-term movement for an economy that is people-centered and sustainable. Join your peers from around the state for conversations on topics such as: moving our money, local banking and creating an Oregon state bank; what’s ahead for immigration reform; organizing secure food systems to feed our communities and promote local sustainability; LGBTQ organizing for safer communities; and much more.

Read More

English