مجموعة أرشيفية

مخططات متنوعة مع ملصقات No On 9
المخططات التي أنشأها مؤسس شرطة عمان السلطانية مارسي ويسترلينج ، 1994-1999

لمن تُروى حكاياته وكيف يتم تأطيرها؟ من الذي يمكنه الوصول إلى الأدلة المتعلقة بالماضي والتحكم فيها؟ من يتم رفع مجتمعاتهم وإضفاء الطابع الرومانسي عليها ، ومن يتم تقديمهم كبش فداء وتحريف؟ هذه أسئلة حول القوة ، والطرق التي تشوه السجل التاريخي ، وكيف تشكل الروايات التي نتعلمها عن من نحن ومن أين أتينا.

في شرطة عمان السلطانية ، كنا نؤمن دائمًا بقدرة سكان الريف على بناء القوة معًا لإخبار قصصهم الخاصة ، وهذا هو سبب إطلاقنا لبرنامج أرشيفية طويل الأجل لضمان بقاء القصص المنظمة الريفية في ولاية أوريغون متاحة لعقود قادمة. نحن نعلم أن القصص التي تحملها مجموعتنا - قصص الابتكارات التكتيكية والاستراتيجيات البصيرة والانتصارات الملهمة - لا تقدر بثمن للمنظمين الحاليين الذين يتطلعون إلى التعرف على تاريخ منطقتهم وما يتطلبه الأمر لتغييرها. نعتقد أن التعرف على أخطاء الحركات الماضية يجعلنا أكثر عرضة للمساءلة أمام أولئك الذين نسعى للتضامن معهم. وقد رأينا كيف أن رفع الروايات حول بناء القوة الريفية التقدمية أمر حاسم لمواجهة محاولة اليمين لفصل الحضر عن الريف في خدمة الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن.

مهتم؟

نود أن نتواصل معك! تحقق من الخيارات أدناه لترى كيف يمكنك أن تدخل في عمل أرشفة شرطة عمان السلطانية:

احتجاج ضد الحرب ، سكابوس ، أو
المتظاهرون المناهضون للحرب في سكابوس ، كاليفورنيا. 1992
متظاهرون امام مبنى سالم الكابيتول
المنظمون الريفيون يجتمعون في مبنى سالم كابيتول خلال تجمع شرطة عمان السلطانية ، 2003

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأي من الخيارات المذكورة أعلاه أو تبحث عن معلومات أخرى حول برنامج أرشيف شرطة عمان السلطانية ، يرجى الاتصال بأمين الأرشيف كيت لدينا عبر البريد الإلكتروني على kate@rop.org أو عبر الهاتف على 541-649-1169.

العربية

Archival Collection

assorted planners with No On 9 stickers
Planners created by ROP founder Marcy Westerling, 1994-1999

Whose stories get told, and how are they framed? Who has access to and control over evidence about the past? Whose communities are lifted up and romanticized, and whose are scapegoated and misrepresented? These are questions about power, the ways it warps the historical record, and how it shapes the narratives we learn about who we are and where we come from.

At ROP, we have always believed in rural people building power together to tell their own stories, which is why we are launching a long-term archival program to ensure rural Oregon’s organizing stories remain accessible for decades to come. We know that the stories our collection holds—stories of tactical innovations, prescient strategies, and inspiring victories—are absolutely invaluable to current organizers looking to learn about the history of their area and what it will take to change it. We believe learning about the mistakes of past movements makes us more accountable to those we seek to stand in solidarity with. And we have seen how lifting up narratives about rural progressive power-building is crucial to counteracting the Right’s attempt to divide urban from rural in service of maintaining the status quo.

Interested?

We would love to connect with you! Check out the options below to see how you can plug into ROP’s archival work:

antiwar protest, Scappose, OR
Antiwar protestors in Scappoose, ca. 1992
protestors in front of Salem capitol building
Rural organizers gather at the Salem capitol building during the ROP caucus, 2003

If you are interested in any of the options listed above or are seeking other information about ROP’s archives program, please contact our archivist Kate by email at kate@rop.org or by phone at 541-649-1169.

English