支持繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的 2022 年法案

蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图 由我们的社区从为生存而战到真正繁荣发展所需的优先事项组成。该路线图来自与俄勒冈州农村地区人类尊严团体的数百次对话,讨论了我们社区最需要什么,因为 COVID-19 大流行和不稳定的经济暴露了我们社区几十年来一直在扩大的社会安全网的巨大差距。现在我们必须将这些优先事项带到立法会议上! 查看路线图 请参阅下文,了解俄勒冈州立法机构根据四个路线图类别中的每一个正在考虑的法案。想进一步挖掘?我们很想听听您的想法!联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或电子邮件 monicap@rop.org 取得联系。

我们都是必不可少的

  • 俄勒冈州托儿服务包的托儿服务e (HB 4005) 如果获得通过,这将制定一项法律,增加就业相关日托 (ERDC) 补贴支付给托儿服务提供者的每个孩子的金额,从而为父母带来更公平的费率。这也将增加使用 ERDC 的父母的购买力。它还将暂停要求家庭供应商使用自动喷水灭火系统的规则,直到 2024 年。

健康的人创造健康的社区

  • 农场工人加班 (HB 4002) 自这些劳工政策于 1938 年生效以来,农场工人一直被排除在最低工资保护和加班费之外。自 1938 年以来,有色人种已占农场工人的大多数,这种明显的种族主义排除在加班费之外的做法继续具有广泛的影响不仅影响有色人种社区,而且影响整个俄勒冈州的经济。如果获得通过,这将制定一项法律,将所有农业工人每周工作 40 小时后的加班费逐步提高到正常工资的 1.5 倍。无论他们是按小时支付还是按件计酬,农场工人都将符合资格,并且将像其他所有行业的加班费一样强制执行。 

安全和热情的社区

  • 普遍法律代表 (SB 1543) 每个人都应该得到足够的法律代表,但社区成员经常被驱逐出境并与家人分开,仅仅是因为他们请不起移民律师。如果获得通过,Universal Legal Representation 将通过使用协作代表、基于社区的律师和客户授权来扩大法律服务。该计划将灵活应对预期的合法化计划、大规模突袭、寻求庇护者的突然涌入或移民系统的任何其他变化。
  • 转变正义法案 (SB 1510) 如果获得通过,这将制定一项法律,将我们的公共安全系统转变为为无家可归者或精神健康危机的人提供帮助的法律,并将优先考虑康复而不是惩罚。它将限制执法部门不必要的拦截和逮捕,消除缓刑或监狱后监督寻求重建生活的人的障碍,并在有色人种社区投入资源。
  • 股权投资法 (SB 1579) 创建股权投资基金,利用现有的大麻税收将 $50M 分配给俄勒冈州商业公司,该基金将向支持企业家精神、劳动力发展以及黑人获得房屋和土地所有权的文化响应型社区组织提供赠款,土著和拉丁裔社区。
  • 国库透明度法案 (HB 4115) 通过投资化石燃料公司,俄勒冈州财政部正在冒着俄勒冈州金融未来的风险并支持气候危机。我们知道这会使我们处于危险之中,但我们无法知道风险有多大。如果获得通过,该法案将确保财政部对其投资所涉及的气候相关风险保持透明。

连接我们的声音

  • 宽带治理、可用性和均衡效用 (HB4092) 凭借美国救援计划法案和基础设施投资和就业法案直接向各州分配宽带资金,俄勒冈州有望获得超过 $2 亿美元,以解决宽带基础设施方面的差距并减少接入障碍。该法案将使俄勒冈宽带办公室为未来的工作做好准备,包括:创建宽带战略框架;探索如何建立宽带补贴基金;并建立一个基金,使图书馆能够获得联邦投资资金。
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

2022 Bills that Back a Thriving Rural Oregon

The Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon is made up of the priorities our communities need to move from fighting for survival to truly thriving. The Roadmap came out of hundreds of conversations with human dignity groups across rural Oregon about what our communities need most as the COVID-19 pandemic and unstable economy lay bare the big gaps in our communities’ social safety nets that have been widening for decades. Now we must bring these priorities to the legislative session! Check out the Roadmap and see below for bills being considered in the Oregon State Legislature under each of the four Roadmap categories. Want to dig in further? We’d love to hear your thoughts! Reach out to your friendly ROP organizer or email monicap@rop.org to get in touch.

We Are All Essential

  • Child Care For Oregon Child Care Package (HB 4005) If passed, this would create a law that would increase the amount of money that the Employment Related Day Care (ERDC) subsidies pay per child to child care providers, leading to more equitable rates for parents. This will also increase purchasing power for parents who utilize ERDC. It would also suspend the rule that requires sprinkler systems for in-home providers until 2024.

Healthy People Make Healthy Communities

  • Farmworker Overtime (HB 4002) Farmworkers have been excluded from minimum wage protections and overtime pay since these labor policies went into effect in 1938. Since 1938, people of color have made up the majority of farm laborers, and this explicitly racist exclusion from overtime pay continues to have wide reaching effects on not just communities of color but also the entire Oregon economy. If passed, this would create a law that would phase-in overtime pay to 1.5 times the regular pay rate for all agricultural workers after they work 40 hours in a week. Farmworkers would qualify regardless of whether they are paid hourly or on a piece-rate, and would be enforced just like overtime pay for every other industry. 

Safe and Welcoming Communities

  • Universal Legal Representation (SB 1543) Everyone deserves adequate legal representation, but community members are routinely deported and separated from their families simply because they can’t afford an immigration lawyer. If passed, Universal Legal Representation would expand legal services through the use of collaborative representation, community-based lawyering and client empowerment. The program would be flexible and responsive to anticipated legalization programs, massive raids, a sudden influx of asylum seekers, or any other changes in the immigration system.
  • Transforming Justice Bill (SB 1510) If passed, this would create a law that would transform our public safety system into one that provides help to people experiencing houselessness or mental health crises, and it would prioritize rehabilitation over punishment. It would limit unnecessary stops and arrests by law enforcement, remove barriers for people on probation or post-prison supervision seeking to rebuild their lives, and invest resources in communities of color.
  • Equity Investment Act (SB 1579) Creates the Equity Investment Fund, which allocates $50M using existing cannabis tax revenue, to Business Oregon, which will provide grants to culturally-responsive, community-based organizations that support entrepreneurship, workforce development, and paths to home and land ownership for Black, Indigenous and Latinx communities.
  • Treasury Transparency Bill (HB 4115) By investing in fossil fuel corporations, the Oregon State Treasury is risking Oregon’s financial future and supporting the climate crisis. We know this puts us at risk, but we have no way of knowing by how much. If passed, this bill would ensure the Treasury is transparent about the climate-related risk involved in their investments.

Connecting our Voices

  • Broadband Governance, Availability and Equity (HB4092) With American Rescue Plan Act dollars, and the Infrastructure Investments and Jobs Act allocating broadband funding directly to states, Oregon is poised to receive more than $200 million to address gaps in broadband infrastructure and reduce barriers to access. This bill would prepare the Oregon Broadband Office for the work ahead including: creating a broadband strategic framework; exploring how to create a broadband subsidy fund; and establishing a fund to enable libraries to capture federal investment monies.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English